Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 11:19 am Post subject: |
| aimtrue wrote: | | mercuri wrote: |
Boy, u are friggin sarcastic I'd reckon. If I know something with great guarantee return would u think I would even consider imparting what I know to ppl who is as sardonic and ahem, well "informed" as u? kekeke, I bet since u are so well versed in all matter of investments even to the extend of having an award winning professor giving u personal peep talks, I think u are in "devine" mode eh? |
There is a difference between sarcasm and tongue-in-cheek. I'm sorry if you missed the humor. I hope others here will appreciate it.
Well, pardon my intention to share knowledge with you. I will shut the hell up, as you wish, and as you aren't seem to be open to discussion yourself.
Like I said, I'm simply sharing, I admit I am not Warren Buffett, and I will keep everything to myself.
| Quote: | And ya a word of advice, do not be a stickler for the norm, try have an open heart and listen, sometimes even when we don't agree, it doesn't mean that it's wrong and doesn't make monies. If everyone has the same approach in investment, would everyone make money? I doubt it. Tell this to Uncle lim last time when he wants to set up Genting, ppl think he was crazy, u decide!  |
I thought you are not giving advice.
And I have already stated, I respect other people's opinion, unlike you. Put your money where your mouth is. DO NOT DIVERSIFY. |
hey dude, u think what u say is tongue in cheek? U are as abrasive as it can get eh! Dun for one moment think what u have posted is humorous, truth is it's not; not even remotely!
U think ur advice of getting a good book is "advice"? It's loaded with sarcastic innuendos. Don't think that u are infallible in ur economic outlook, dude, fact is, u aren't. Oh btw, I know when to buy a book.
And yah, I wasn't contenting what u were saying about diversifying ur investment, matter of fact I agree with u somewhat, but similarity ends there. I was commenting about ur lack of finese and totally inappropriate sarcasm. I would suggest u read and understand first before jumping into conclusion eh? Btw, since when did I mention that I DO NOT DIVERSIFY? I seriously wonder if read the forum and understand properly, or in truth aimtrue is aimfalse?kekekeke,  |
aimtrue
Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 11:32 am Post subject: |
| mercuri wrote: |
U think ur advice of getting a good book is "advice"? It's loaded with sarcastic innuendos. Don't think that u are infallible in ur economic outlook, dude, fact is, u aren't. Oh btw, I know when to buy a book.
mercuri, I don't know what kind of sour puss you are. Banzai joked we should invest in beer, I joined in by saying we can invest in books also. What kind of traumatized life do you have that you can't understand this?
| Quote: |
And yah, I wasn't contenting what u were saying about diversifying ur investment, matter of fact I agree with u somewhat, but similarity ends there. I was commenting about ur lack of finese and totally inappropriate sarcasm. I would suggest u read and understand first before jumping into conclusion eh? Btw, since when did I mention that I DO NOT DIVERSIFY? I seriously wonder if read the forum and understand properly, or in truth aimtrue is aimfalse?kekekeke,  |
Urgh. Childish. Funny it should come from someone expousing on finesse. Now you are the Arbiter of Appropriate Sarcasm. I use sarcasm, humor or whatever the hell I want. Don't worry, I deleted my "advice" that you find so offensive already. |
Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 11:59 am Post subject: |
| Quote: | There is a difference between sarcasm and tongue-in-cheek. I'm sorry if you missed the humor. I hope others here will appreciate it.
| This is the original version without Banzai and his investment on Beers.
And this is ur edited version dude;
| Quote: | There is a difference between sarcasm and tongue-in-cheek. Banzai mentioned investing in beer. I'm sorry if you missed the humor. I hope others here will appreciate it.
As u can see, it definately rings a different tune. If it's the second version than it's acceptable.
| Quote: | mercuri, I don't know what kind of sour puss you are. Banzai joked we should invest in beer, I joined in by saying we can invest in books also. What kind of traumatized life do you have that you can't understand this?
And now I'm a sourpuss and a traumatized life? kekekeke
| Quote: | | Urgh. Childish. Funny it should come from someone expousing on finesse. Now you are the Arbiter of Appropriate Sarcasm. I use sarcasm, humor or whatever the hell I want. Don't worry, I deleted my "advice" that you find so offensive already |
Wow! I am now the undisputed sourpuss, traumatized life, childish and Arbiter of Appropriate Sarcasm. Hmm, not bad, At the end I reckon for someone so eloquent on paper as u are, it invariably project a certain aura of confidence in u eh? .
Oh btw, we are just having a heated debatelah and not altercation dude, Dun need to get so fired up eh.  |
Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 12:26 pm Post subject: |
| aimtrue wrote: |
And I have already stated, I respect other people's opinion, unlike you. Put your money where your mouth is. DO NOT DIVERSIFY. |
...2 things..............................
1) i disagree......u dont respect other peoples opinion.........and if u think u do, u defintely dont reflect that in the forum....
and
2) all of us put our money where our mouth is...................i wonder how well diversified u reli think u r.............how many markets r u invested in??....u into metals?........how many asset classes r u in?......
or u think just having 10 different shares is diversification...........thot 2 u by your Momma or your 'revered' teacher.....
oh and btw, i'm not a hypocrite, i'll leave my reference 2 your Momma in here unedited.............unlike u, why take it out?.........u worried people might think u'r an as#hole |
winter
Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 12:40 pm Post subject: |
Hi all my dear mentors in this forum,
there is no need to get heated up in this forum. Every approach have its good and bad sides..it is ultimately who is more comfy with which approach that they will choose it in the end.
Just to share my views,diversfy investments is safer(nt necessary safe) becoz you dun put all your eggs' into one particular..I believe that is what most of the unit trusts and funds consists of..5%property,20%equity,10%construction and such..but are they doing well? some do and some don't. how about their returns? some high and some can even be negative. I guess we all understand that the safer the investment, the returns are more likely to be lower.
If we focus only on one investment vehicle,its definitely risky..but we have to make our judgement whether we wana dump all our money into,say one stock counter or even a property..we heard of people striking it rich and of coz on the other hand,people who went bankrupt. higher risk,higher returns..what is your risk profile? are you the adventurous type or are you the conservative investor?
there are no rite or wrong about your respective views.if you decided to diversify,it may be safer,despite the potentially higher costs(transaction costs for example),but for you,it can be a peace of mind and a good nite's sleep..why not? on the other hand,if you are focused on one single investment vehicle,this vehicle picks up speed and you get the thrill that you would never get on any other investments and you live a happy life..why not? you may nt necessary need to make money from it..even when u sell at the rite time preventing you from making a big lost can give you this thrill too.
back to the original question..if I have a big pile of money sitting around,what will I do with it?now..I really assume this is a really big pile of $1000 SGD notes..I will spend it..thats for sure.the question is,what will I spend it on?
I have a very good impression of Gold..personally,I love gold very much since I was young.I wouldn't say that I invested in gold,but its just happened that I bought some gold in Bangkok in prep of a wedding that did not occur..but fortunately,the gold stayed with me.When I bought it a year back,it was about 8000 baht per15.2gram, i think the price today is about 9400 baht.It was a good hedge against inflation and of good liquidity and resonable transactional costs..i did not expect it to become an investment.
I came to a conclusion that if I cannot afford to buy a house yet,I should buy gold..If I have a lot of $$$ like in this scenerio..I will buy a house to keep the gold I buy ..and of coz spend it on my friends and family after I determine that I have sufficient for myself.
we keep thinking of money and how to grow' it..sometimes we lost focus on why we are after the $ in the 1st place..Let me pose this question: What are we doing all these for? Isn't it 1st for ourselves,our families and our friends?
Altough I have not met any of you in this forum,but I believe we can all be friends...and the original question was..If you have a big pile of $$,what will you do with it..? ..so come on..lets get back to the question and share our dreams together rite here afterall...dare to dream..dare to win.
Sorry for being long winded...Cheers!  |
aimtrue
Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 1:44 pm Post subject: |
winter: yes, gold is at the highest it has been in 20 years. If you already bought in before this, that's great. Otherwise the potential vs. risk is greater now at the peak.
mercuri & nick1994: Yes, I agree with you that you are both as mature and well informed as you say you are. So it would be a pleasure to meet you at the next gathering if you do show up, and perhaps get your cards to find out about you and your businesses. (Maybe those are people-oriented businesses, yes?) And do let me know what else you would like me to 1) post, 2) re-post or 3) remove. It's no problem. |
Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 2:03 pm Post subject: |
| aimtrue wrote: |
mercuri & nick1994:So it would be a pleasure to meet you at the next gathering if you do show up, and perhaps get your cards to find out about you and your businesses. (Maybe they are people-oriented businesses, yes?) i] |
Cool aimtrue, you gonna join us for the next gathering?
That's great! The more the merrier!  |
aimtrue
Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 2:08 pm Post subject: |
Sure! I already talked to a forummer, PL, here over the phone.
Looks like I missed the last one this month. It would be great to find out more about mercuri and nick, see what they look like and discuss what investments they have made. |
Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 2:25 pm Post subject: |
| ...sure..............mebbe u can tell us how 'diversified' u r 2 ........................i'm sure i can learn a lot from u......... |
aimtrue
Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 2:42 pm Post subject: |
| I thought you were not interested in my meanderings at all because you have no regard for old college professors. I would be happy to discuss my theories and experiences in choosing investments, if you can tell me also how undiversified....... and hardworking........ you are...... at focusing.......... on......... sure-fire.............. investments. |
Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 2:53 pm Post subject: |
your professor........nah, not so much......but mebbe sum of your Momma's teachings 2 u.......would b of sum value......2 me, & world at large.........
well, i'll b more than happy 2 tell u what i invest in..........and how my 'undiversified' measures against your much trumpeted 'diversity'..........
dun worry...............i will explain slowly 2 u......in the way i type......i do cater 4 educating kids........ |
Y2K
Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:02 pm Post subject: |
| nick1994 wrote: | | Y2K wrote: | | nick1994 wrote: | | diversification is 4 people who either 2 lazy 2 do their homework or ..............worse, conclude wrongly after doing their homework..... |
Actually, this statement is a bit weird. Diversification is for lazy people? I thot if too lazy to analyze, how to know where to diversify and invest? Lazy people tend to stick to familiar stuff.
I'm juz simplifying it, but my analogy is a guy who goes to the same wantan mee stall everyday coz he too lazy to try out the other wantan mee stalls in the other coffeeshop... regardless of how good/bad the current stall is? |
nope.....................wrong analogy...............
the right analogy would b if u have done your work and found a coffeeshop that u like and the wantan mee is delicious and at an acceptable cost 2 u.............u will stick 2 one wantan mee shop......and not select 5 diff shops.......u onli select the best.....
now over time, u can find a better one, 2 which u stay with the better one.......not eat at 5 shops at the same time....
comprendo? |
Ah... we have different standards of laziness...
The lazy person in your analogy has worked hard in finding the best wantan mee stall and now can be lazy and enjoy the fruits of his labour.
The lazy person in my analogy is too lazy to find another wantan mee stall, regardless of how good this stall is, hence do not know nor care if this is the best.
Anyway, I'm off-topic.  |
Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 5:29 pm Post subject: |
think carefully, what u'r saying now supports my contention....
the point is this......if u have found the best, u stay with the best, theres no need 2 so called 'diversify' & reduce risk.....
u onli 'diversify' and continue 2 look if u havent settled on the optimum wantan mee..........if u have done your work, whats the point of diversifying?........
mebbe better change your story b4 your professor enamoured buddy up there goes green......... |
Y2K
Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 7:55 pm Post subject: |
Well nick, as I mentioned, we have different standards of laziness.
What I said is some people can be so lazy until they do not bother to find the best wantan mee. This is a sign of a lazy person.
If a person has done his work and found his best wantan mee, well to me, this person is not lazy. He has done his homework to find the best wantan mee and hence, he can afford to have a lazy lifestyle after that.
So when I read your initial statement, "diversification is 4 people who either 2 lazy 2 do their homework" I find it strange coz
1. In my definition of lazy, he don't WANT to look further.
2. In your definition of lazy, he don't NEED to look further.
Also, don't drag me into your disagreement with aimtrue, I am only discussing what a lazy person would do, not about diversification. |
Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 9:13 pm Post subject: |
...well Y2K, why shld it b strange......................and isnt the statement correct?..........................if u feel the need 2 diversify .....it must b coz u dun have a good analysis done of whats the best return 4 the lowest risk..........
..so, whats wrong with the statement ........................'diversification is 4 people who either 2 lazy 2 do their homework'...........coz if u work harder, u certainly shld invest specifically.....mebbe in v limited asset classes......... |
Y2K
Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 10:14 pm Post subject: |
When I read your statement, what came to mind was a lazy person who do not venture out of his comfort zone, e.g. a person who only buys homes in SS2 coz he lazy to search other places, e.g. won't even check out Damansara, Sunway, Puchong... So the statement was strange from this perspective.
From your perspective, the person already completed his homework and decided that Mont Kiara is the place for best returns. So your statement is not strange from this perspective.
Life is about perspectives... we juz started from a different perspective. |
goliath
Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 10:37 pm Post subject: |
......................funny that Warren Buffet was quoted when someone talk about diversification.....................bcoz he mentioned in his book and let me quote.........." Don't diversify. Put all your eggs in one basket and watch that basket closely. "..............someone should pick up that book.
Btw Winter...............if u r seriously into gold invt....................u should hold gold in other form rather than gold jewellery in the order below :-
1. Paper gold
2. Kilo Gold bar.
3. Gold bullion............pref more than an oz............the spread is better.
4. Gold in jewellery.............24K (999) or 22K (916)...........is the worst coz the jeweller will charge workmanship................and even if that was waive and if u trade ur piece back it will be at a 20% discount. .................but there is one advantage.....................u get to brandish them.
Last edited by goliath on Thu Dec 15, 2005 2:33 am; edited 1 time in total |
Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 10:45 pm Post subject: |
...2 yrs ago, was asked 2 join in investing in bullion....................but not familiar at all with the mechanics & vagaries of the gold market........so skipped............................................
regret.......................guess i was not 'diversified' enuf...........................  |
goliath
Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 11:09 pm Post subject: |
| Nick..............I think the gold price had either peak or at a level with higher downside risk than the upside.....................but it is believe by many experts that the gold price will hit USD 1K in next 5 years or so..................more so if there is a downturn or the fuel price hitting USD100...............key to inflation. |
Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 9:01 am Post subject: |
| goliath wrote: | ......................funny that Warren Buffet was quoted when someone talk about diversification.....................bcoz he mentioned in his book and let me quote.........." Don't diversify. Put all your eggs in one basket and watch that basket closely. "..............someone should pick up that book.
kekeke, funny that u should mention it. I might have it somewhere, let me check.  |
winter
Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 10:31 am Post subject: |
| goliath wrote: | :
Btw Winter...............if u r seriously into gold invt....................u should hold gold in other form rather than gold jewellery in the order below :-
1. Paper gold
2. Kilo Gold bar.
3. Gold bullion............pref more than an oz............the spread is better.
4. Gold in jewellery.............24K (999) or 22K (916)...........is the worst coz the jeweller will charge workmanship................and even if that was waive and if u trade ur piece back it will be at a 20% discount. .................but there is one advantage.....................u get to brandish them. |
Hi Goliath,
I was not seriously into gold investment,more like unknowingly got into it,learn about it and decided to put my attention on it. Thank you for your advice..I din know there are so many forms of gold other than gold bar. any advice on where to buy into paper gold or bullion?  |
philips
Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 12:05 pm Post subject: |
| nick1994 wrote: | | Y2K wrote: | | nick1994 wrote: | | diversification is 4 people who either 2 lazy 2 do their homework or ..............worse, conclude wrongly after doing their homework..... |
Actually, this statement is a bit weird. Diversification is for lazy people? I thot if too lazy to analyze, how to know where to diversify and invest? Lazy people tend to stick to familiar stuff.
I'm juz simplifying it, but my analogy is a guy who goes to the same wantan mee stall everyday coz he too lazy to try out the other wantan mee stalls in the other coffeeshop... regardless of how good/bad the current stall is? |
the right analogy would b if u have done your work and found a coffeeshop that u like and the wantan mee is delicious and at an acceptable cost 2 u.............u will stick 2 one wantan mee shop......and not select 5 diff shops.......u onli select the best.....
now over time, u can find a better one, 2 which u stay with the better one.......not eat at 5 shops at the same time....
comprendo? |
Can't help but laugh it out: Eat 1/5 bowl of wan tan mee from five shops kekeke... either you have a lot of time with your bird cage in hand hopping from one shop to another, or you are a pain in the neck hahaha! |
Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 2:35 pm Post subject: |
| philips wrote: | | nick1994 wrote: | | Y2K wrote: | | nick1994 wrote: | | diversification is 4 people who either 2 lazy 2 do their homework or ..............worse, conclude wrongly after doing their homework..... |
sum people would have u believe even 5 not enuf..........must eat at 10-15 shops at the same time........ask them why it makes sense.....
comprendo? |
Can't help but laugh it out: Eat 1/5 bowl of wan tan mee from five shops kekeke... either you have a lot of time with your bird cage in hand hopping from one shop to another, or you are a pain in the neck hahaha! |
winter
Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 3:37 pm Post subject: |
| nick1994 wrote: | | philips wrote: | | nick1994 wrote: | | Y2K wrote: | | nick1994 wrote: | | diversification is 4 people who either 2 lazy 2 do their homework or ..............worse, conclude wrongly after doing their homework..... |
hahaha..actually,it is human nature to be lazy..
I hope all of you are having fun..how about meet up for a bowl of wanton mee and talk over it instead;)
sum people would have u believe even 5 not enuf..........must eat at 10-15 shops at the same time........ask them why it makes sense.....
comprendo? |
winter
Posted: Thu Dec 15, 2005 3:42 pm Post subject: |
Sorry..I think the earlier msg too long..it din appear after the quotes.
I was saying I hope everyone is having fun and why not we all meet up for a bowl of wanton mee and talk over it peacefully together huh?  |
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum