Where to dump your money
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Malaysia Real Estate Forum Index -> Chit Chat Forum

PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2005 10:04 am    Post subject: Where to dump your money Reply with quote

Hi all

I was just talking to a group of friends the other day over beers and a question cropped up during the discussion. It's a really simple question but no one had a really good analysis of this. Just to re-surface the question:

- If you have a pile of money sitting around now, where would you sink your money into?

Since this is a real estate forum, i guess the answer would naturally be real estate. Given all the uncertainties about the market in the recent months, I am not entirely sure if this would still be the right answer at this point in time.

Any inputs?

PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2005 10:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

something safer with guaranteed returns? Wawasan Bonds? The market IMHO is pretty volatile nowadays. I reckon some would beg to differ, But for me, if I have loads of props I would cash out and hold on to it, as they always say, "cash is king"! Laughing

Wink

PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2005 2:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

...i think in the short 2 med term...............one shld start shifting 2 hold a higher degree of cash & equivalents vs property or share holdings......................................

as 4 properties.........................unless i am absolutely convinced its a sure-fire good deal..................i'll just stay with what i have..........mebbe lighten up a bit............................

PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2005 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

actually, i've given this a very hard thought and i somehow think that the investor should shove everything into FDs (shop for the best rate available) and keep that rolling on a year if it is worth it. About RM100k, to keep liquid on a monthly rolling FD just in case the right sure-fire property comes along and you need to pop in a 10% etc.

Repeat the same thing for year 2 etc until your money runs out.
rck

PostPosted: Mon Nov 07, 2005 11:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you ever considered Foreign Exchange FD's? I mean they give higher rates like 6% or so, since u are looking into FD's. Wonder if there are any conditions attached to it besides a minimum of 50k, but u did say a 'pile of cash' right?

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2005 10:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

NZ denominated deposits have the highest % but if the currency moves the wrong way, you could end up losing whatever interest you have earned. And yes, have thought of it but struck that out.
sky

PostPosted: Fri Nov 11, 2005 3:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well...banzai,it's really a nice question.actually i been survie for the question befor,different ppl different view.but 1 thing for sure is..all the way is juz keep the money value!am i right?

1word hav touch me, ' rather invest than safe'. y? becoz if u put it into bank,yes i agree bank also hav interest.but now day the inflasi is growing more faster than the bank interest n i think everybody also knw that the bank interest is decreasing from day 2day,right?so it's become a problem..

so,there's was 2best way 2 make a good investment,that's is invest to a mutual fund or to a PROPERTY!

i think that every1 also knw property value is there n definately increase every year becoz of population n habitat.it's juz mather on time.even puchong that no body would brought it 10 year's ago now day everybody searching for investment in there..becoz of the population..

so..this is my view.do u hav better view or any thing that u can 'fix' my post,there's r welcome coz it's benefit to every1,rite?^_^
goliath

PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2005 8:26 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

............GOOD question......................looks like FD's the best place to dump the money so far.......................anyone can suggest something better than this?

PostPosted: Sat Nov 12, 2005 10:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

been giving a lot of thoughts to REITs, shares, unit trusts etc lately. Think i'll buy some nominal amount and take it as a learning lesson Smile

PostPosted: Mon Nov 21, 2005 1:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Banzai wrote:
been giving a lot of thoughts to REITs, shares, unit trusts etc lately. Think i'll buy some nominal amount and take it as a learning lesson Smile

well keeping cash in FDs beats keeping it underneath ur pillows eh? But seriously I do think that nowadays the trend is such that many investors overgears and borrows huge amounts of money, either make or break mentality. Chances are with this climate, better to hold on with ur money. Invest in something safer with guaranteed returns. Perhaps we can discuss it in length over the 3rd gathering on the 10th? kekekeke Laughing
FF

PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 2:42 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How about gold? Gold price is going higher and higher, I won't be surprised if it hit 500 by end of the year.

PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 10:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mercuri wrote:

well keeping cash in FDs beats keeping it underneath ur pillows eh? But seriously I do think that nowadays the trend is such that many investors overgears and borrows huge amounts of money, either make or break mentality. Chances are with this climate, better to hold on with ur money. Invest in something safer with guaranteed returns. Perhaps we can discuss it in length over the 3rd gathering on the 10th? kekekeke Laughing

yes, invest in beer Smile today's star talks about interest rate rises. Surprisingly, inflation rate is so low huh? Laughing

PostPosted: Tue Nov 22, 2005 10:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Banzai wrote:
mercuri wrote:

yes, invest in beer Smile today's star talks about interest rate rises. Surprisingly, inflation rate is so low huh? Laughing

kekeke, beers on for the 10th! Wink

In this Bolehland, Nothing and I mean NOTHING surprises me. Rolling Eyes
aimtrue

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 7:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Forget it. This thread is not the appropriate audience. If anyone wants to discuss structured savings in Singapore and Malaysia, levels of diversification and potential investments besides real estate, feel free to PM me or go to the finance forums.

Last edited by aimtrue on Wed Dec 14, 2005 11:08 am; edited 2 times in total
aimtrue

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

double post

Last edited by aimtrue on Tue Dec 13, 2005 7:37 pm; edited 1 time in total
aimtrue

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 7:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mercuri wrote:
Banzai wrote:

Hey man, if you know anything with great guaranted returns, let me know dude.

I do know of one, and let me generously and wholeheartedly share it with you with a low cost of entry and unlimited upside potential with no dependence on global trends:

Buy a good educational book.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

aimtrue wrote:
Banzai, since you are in Singapore you might have access to Twin Currency Deposits. Basically you can participate in both currency movements and fixed deposit rates in your target currency, with little risk.

In Malaysia, I think only Citibank offers this, but only for high net worth clients in their private banking division.

If not, I'm doing quite all right with fundsupermart.com. Excellent online transactions, although I don't like their historical pricing data availability. Plus, expected 2-3% interest for unused funds in their cash account.

As a student of Financial Economics (from my award winning Econs professor Prof. Becker), I would offer the following:

You must invest and diversify your portfolio.

So basically you can park your money anywhere and everywhere, as long as it is not all in one place. You know, go where the crowd does not go.

Thanks, Prof. Becker!

sum people say.............if u do your homework correctly, u shld not diversify..........the least u diversify , the better..............

diversification is 4 people who either 2 lazy 2 do their homework or ..............worse, conclude wrongly after doing their homework.....
aimtrue

PostPosted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 11:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sum people say.............if u do your homework correctly, u shld not diversify..........the least u diversify , the better..............

diversification is 4 people who either 2 lazy 2 do their homework or ..............worse, conclude wrongly after doing their homework.....

You're telling me, if you "do your homework", your returns will be guaranteed 100%? Wink If so, I bow to you, for surely you must have divine powers and you better than the MBAs, PhDs and US$500,000 a year Goldman Sachs analysts who still make losses.

Whoever told you that needs to be careful of what kind of careless "tips" he /she is giving because it might harm others.

It is said, don't put all your eggs in one basket. But if you dare go ahead and put your money where your post goes, don't diversify. Let me know how it goes for you.

Last edited by aimtrue on Wed Dec 14, 2005 11:12 am; edited 3 times in total
Y2K

PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 3:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

nick1994 wrote:

Actually, this statement is a bit weird. Diversification is for lazy people? I thot if too lazy to analyze, how to know where to diversify and invest? Lazy people tend to stick to familiar stuff.

I'm juz simplifying it, but my analogy is a guy who goes to the same wantan mee stall everyday coz he too lazy to try out the other wantan mee stalls in the other coffeeshop... regardless of how good/bad the current stall is?
aimtrue

PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 8:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Y2K: You are right, he won't know if he is getting the best wantan mee. And he better hope that wantan mee seller does not decide to move or retire. Maybe nick meant, he must be a master of wantan mees. He focuses on every variation of wantan mee (kolo mee, kon loh, with soup, halal version , Singaporean version with ketchup Very Happy ) so he will know every wanton mee seller in town.

I had to spend some time calculating and analyzing risk ratios, betas, regressions and graphs to come up with a diverse portfolio that have acceptable risk vs. potential return. The point of diversification is minimizing risk while maximizing return. The difficult part is quantifying risk. Where this is not possible through insufficient data or intangible factors, intelligent estimates through regression, extrapolation and comparison with similar vehicles are needed.

Simply, this means participating in several investments that when one goes down, the others might go up. On the top-most level: equity markets, real estate, structured savings, business. On lower down levels: different industries, markets, countries, risk profiles. Technical level: betas, PEs, etc. If your investments are not risk-minimized through a spread of different instruments that offer different risk factors, then it is not a diversified investment portfolio. Diversification is definitely not for lazy people.

But what do I know. I'm not Warren Buffett.

PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 9:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

aimtrue wrote:
mercuri wrote:
Banzai wrote:

Hey man, if you know anything with great guaranted returns, let me know dude.

I do know of one, and let me generously and wholeheartedly share it with you with a low cost of entry and unlimited upside potential with no dependence on global trends:

Buy a good educational book.

Boy, u are friggin sarcastic I'd reckon. Wink If I know something with great guarantee return would u think I would even consider imparting what I know to ppl who is as sardonic and ahem, well "informed" as u? kekeke, I bet since u are so well versed in all matter of investments even to the extend of having an award winning professor giving u personal peep talks, I think u are in "devine" mode eh? Laughing

I think awards are highly overrated, Pls do tell this to Uncle Lim, btw he hasn't even completed primary education, and he has all the "award" winning ppl working for him and, getting "hokkienised profanities" thrown to them. Fact is bro, try to be humble a bit and give other ppl's view a benefit of a doubt eh? Very Happy

And ya a word of advice, do not be a stickler for the norm, try have an open heart and listen, sometimes even when we don't agree, it doesn't mean that it's wrong and doesn't make monies. If everyone has the same approach in investment, would everyone make money? I doubt it. Tell this to Uncle lim last time when he wants to set up Genting, ppl think he was crazy, u decide! Laughing

PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 9:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

aimtrue wrote:
Y2K: You are right, he won't know if he is getting the best wantan mee. And he better hope that wantan mee seller does not decide to move or retire. Maybe nick meant, he must be a master of wantan mees. He focuses on every variation of wantan mee (kolo mee, kon loh, with soup, halal version , Singaporean version with ketchup Very Happy ) so he will know every wanton mee seller in town.

I had to spend some time calculating and analyzing risk ratios, betas, regressions and graphs to come up with a diverse portfolio that have acceptable risk vs. potential return. The point of diversification is minimizing risk while maximizing return. The difficult part is quantifying risk. Where this is not possible through insufficient data or intangible factors, intelligent estimates through regression, extrapolation and comparison with similar vehicles are needed.

Simply, this means participating in several investments that when one goes down, the others might go up. On the top-most level: equity markets, real estate, structured savings, business. On lower down levels: different industries, markets, countries, risk profiles. Technical level: betas, PEs, etc. If your investments are not risk-minimized through a spread of different instruments that offer different risk factors, then it is not a diversified investment portfolio. Diversification is definitely not for lazy people.

But what do I know. I'm not Warren Buffett.

yeah, i agree with u........................u'r no warren buffet.......... Laughing

PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 9:43 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Y2K wrote:
nick1994 wrote:

Actually, this statement is a bit weird. Diversification is for lazy people? I thot if too lazy to analyze, how to know where to diversify and invest? Lazy people tend to stick to familiar stuff.

I'm juz simplifying it, but my analogy is a guy who goes to the same wantan mee stall everyday coz he too lazy to try out the other wantan mee stalls in the other coffeeshop... regardless of how good/bad the current stall is?

nope.....................wrong analogy...............

the right analogy would b if u have done your work and found a coffeeshop that u like and the wantan mee is delicious and at an acceptable cost 2 u.............u will stick 2 one wantan mee shop......and not select 5 diff shops.......u onli select the best.....

now over time, u can find a better one, 2 which u stay with the better one.......not eat at 5 shops at the same time....

comprendo?
aimtrue

PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mercuri wrote:

Boy, u are friggin sarcastic I'd reckon. Wink If I know something with great guarantee return would u think I would even consider imparting what I know to ppl who is as sardonic and ahem, well "informed" as u? kekeke, I bet since u are so well versed in all matter of investments even to the extend of having an award winning professor giving u personal peep talks, I think u are in "devine" mode eh? Laughing

There is a difference between sarcasm and tongue-in-cheek. Banzai mentioned investing in beer. I'm sorry if you missed the humor. I hope others here will appreciate it.

Well, pardon my intention to share knowledge with you. I will shut the hell up, as you wish, and as you aren't seem to be open to discussion yourself.

Like I said, I'm simply sharing, I admit I am not Warren Buffett, and I will keep everything to myself.

And ya a word of advice, do not be a stickler for the norm, try have an open heart and listen, sometimes even when we don't agree, it doesn't mean that it's wrong and doesn't make monies. If everyone has the same approach in investment, would everyone make money? I doubt it. Tell this to Uncle lim last time when he wants to set up Genting, ppl think he was crazy, u decide! Laughing

I thought you are not giving advice.

And I have already stated, I respect other people's opinion, unlike you. Put your money where your mouth is. DO NOT DIVERSIFY.

Last edited by aimtrue on Wed Dec 14, 2005 11:04 am; edited 1 time in total
aimtrue

PostPosted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 11:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

*double
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Malaysia Real Estate Forum Index -> Chit Chat Forum All times are GMT + 8 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Page 1 of 9