When will the property market boom?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Malaysia Real Estate Forum Index -> Property Market Analysis
boomerkk

PostPosted: Tue Apr 03, 2007 6:28 am    Post subject: When will the property market boom? Reply with quote

Seems the property market is really lagging, KLSE is fundamentally superb, times are good, people have jobs and are making more and more money.

There seems to be no shortage of new developments, super-luxury condos sprouting around KLCC like wild mushrooms.

But statistics show a sluggish property market, fewer transactions and deals being made.

Is there an oversupply situation, too many new developments but take-up unable to catch up?
lando

PostPosted: Sat Apr 14, 2007 9:29 pm    Post subject: Re: When will the property market boom? Reply with quote

Hi boomerk, I wish i knew too. But i think that property is always the last to go down and the last to go up. As in, say a recession stocks are the first then at the end of the line will be property. Its kind of the same when things are picking up too i think.

For example just today, someone said that a condo unit that he bought for RM500k in 1997 when the prices were up is still somewhere around the same price today. But what he left out was that the price went down after the recession and is finally back to RM500k today. However, with time, inflation etc it probably still has some way to go before he gets the value of the RM500k he put in.

Seems the property market is really lagging, KLSE is fundamentally superb, times are good, people have jobs and are making more and more money.

Actually not everybody has money. I think the richer are getting richer as usual but those of us with salaries are getting the same. Cost of things are going up, people can't afford to service their installments, so many auction properties especially low to medium-cost properties etc, so not necessarily more money in the economy. So many people last year never got a single month bonus also.

But after all this said, the spillover effect should take place and everyone should get a piece of the cake. Then we should see property prices doing better. More people will be able to afford properties thus more volume of transactions and higher value of transactions. What more with the new policies Pak lah has putting is place for the property market. I have a good feeling the boom is just around the corner. What do you think?
ygun

PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2008 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is one anonymous research analyst told me it may be 4Q 2008.

But, it only affects area where the pricing already reaches at least RM1K psf, which is ridiculous high at this moment. I don't think it needs experts to figure out that everyday when u flip through the Star Classified, you can't help but notice more and more "To Let" on all the condos. A very simply supply over demand economic theory here.

Yes, it may be a burst, but rest assure.

As for the rest who bought a house or is going to buy, you don't need to worry about burst. It is like asking you whether it is good day to upgrade your PC. Of course, everyday is a good day to upgrade your PC! Property is becoming like a FMCG now! Especially now when the developers up the pricing to RM1.2K psf. Now, even thought it may be a burst, say it drops 50%, you still have a asking price at RM0.6K psf, which is also very high! This is the game that the developers are playing now. Gong Xi Fa Cai, all the developers.
mudtel

PostPosted: Sun May 25, 2008 2:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1.2k psf is so cheap man. Speculate to 4k psf lar. All they need to do is to deceive the public through the mass media by publishing a few uniquely high prices dubious transactions.

Even 4k psf is still cheap what..hahaha..lol these blood sucking developers. If the market collapse, the govt bails them out. If the market is good, they slaughter the public.

We are always at the losing end just to shelter our heads - big and small ones. Unless you have more than 1 property, you wont make any $$ from property.
megatron

PostPosted: Sun May 25, 2008 7:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mudtel wrote:
1.2k psf is so cheap man. Speculate to 4k psf lar. All they need to do is to deceive the public through the mass media by publishing a few uniquely high prices dubious transactions.

Even 4k psf is still cheap what..hahaha..lol these blood sucking developers. If the market collapse, the govt bails them out. If the market is good, they slaughter the public.

We are always at the losing end just to shelter our heads - big and small ones. Unless you have more than 1 property, you wont make any $$ from property.

Mudtel,

Not really, I would disagree with your phenomenon. IMHO, Price of properties is determined by willing buyer and willing seller. Purchase of properties for investment, always depend on location. Prime area fetch better return but you have to pay more price too.

It doesn't go by luck either. Many would rather pay more to invest a property at prime township compared to future up coming township where you have to... "WAIT.&..WAIT..&.WAIT"
Goneraz

PostPosted: Thu Jun 19, 2008 11:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

My Take is that the property market have been very stable in Malaysia because most property owner buy out of necessity. So even when the economy is bad house is the essential that will sustain itself. Unlike Singapore, Hong Kong or US where Most ppl buy property to invest or speculate. So when the economy crashes in this country the property price will crash just like the stock market. Although in Malaysia we do not experience such fluctuation in property value but there are more and more ppl who are buying property to invest. So i suspect that this time round we will see some drop in the value of property when recession hit. I am not saying that recession will definitely hit this part of the world but the is a high possibility. Its happening in the states. Property value in singapore is still very strong because it is being fuel by the influx of foreign worker. HK is correcting itself. I think when the recession hit we will see corrective action like lower interest rate by Bank Negara, thats probably a good time to start buying again. As it is, i think its folly to be investing in propety now unless u absolutely have to.

..promo.realestate.yahoo.com/home-prices-continue-sharp-descent.html
majidpucit123

PostPosted: Mon Jun 30, 2008 12:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Malaysian property market offers a good mid range investment opportunity to international investors seeking sensibly priced real estate with sustainable growth potential in residential sector. The constancy of the property market in Malaysia is based upon the steadiness of the country's economy which is currently expanding at a sustainable rate and benefiting from closer export ties with China as well as strong levels of foreign direct investment from the US, China and Japan.
Dubai Hotel
youbetcha1018

PostPosted: Thu Sep 25, 2008 9:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

majidpucit123 wrote:
The Malaysian property market offers a good mid range investment opportunity to international investors seeking sensibly priced real estate with sustainable growth potential in residential sector. The constancy of the [url=.://..ipbre.com/countryProfile/Malaysia/Market-Report/] property market in Malaysia[/url] is based upon the steadiness of the country's economy which is currently expanding at a sustainable rate and benefiting from closer export ties with China as well as strong levels of foreign direct investment from the US, China and Japan.

I agree. I can say that Malaysia's economy is doing great. There are so many investments in that country. This made their country a very competitive one and made investors richer.
World IR

PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2008 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

property market gonna slow down.... bottom will be for few years period

Sad Sad Sad
jv17

PostPosted: Fri Nov 07, 2008 10:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

well i think it will boom if you waited for the right time
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Malaysia Real Estate Forum Index -> Property Market Analysis All times are GMT + 8 Hours