Posted: Thu Nov 15, 2007 2:38 pm Post subject: |
| MMW wrote: |
So I pity the younger generation who still did not own a house.
AMIR |
yes....it wud be like Hong Kong or Tokyo some advance city, real estate price goes sky high. General ppl's salaries really cannot affort a home, ppl only rent a unit for whole life........
Somewhere like damansara, a double storey link hse now up to RM800K already, like KLCC, apartments price tag up to 1k persqft ( say 1000 sqft is RM 1 million) .....really shock..  _________________ 铁血丹心 |
jialat
Posted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 10:13 am Post subject: |
| i think most of the VP buyers are for own stay, not for investment....but cap gain is a bonus for them.... |
Posted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 12:17 pm Post subject: |
Bought VP as a future investment cause it is freehold. Don't intend to stay there because got another landed house. So it'll be rented. Sekejap renting sekejap stay laaa...
I'm working with private sector (not government servant) so no pension which i regraded as "a passive income". Therefore investment in real estate (VP) as part and parcel of my retirement plan . When I reach 56 (another 20 years), then I will sell VP. So instead of just relying on EPF (which according to EPF statistic 90% of the money will be gone within 10 years of withdrawal at age of 56 years) and unit trust, I have another "leg" to rely on.
So guys don't rush into selling. If you can afford it, take it as retirement investment. This is real estate in prime location (Bukit Jalil) and it is freehold (not lease hold!). In the future freehold is very very difficult to get especially in town area!! Even now it cost a bomb to get freehold property in town area. So VP value will surely rocketed.
AMIR |
jialat
Posted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 1:43 pm Post subject: |
| MMW wrote: | Hi all,
Bought VP as a future investment cause it is freehold. Don't intend to stay there because got another landed house. So it'll be rented. Sekejap renting sekejap stay laaa...
I'm working with private sector (not government servant) so no pension which i regraded as "a passive income". Therefore investment in real estate (VP) as part and parcel of my retirement plan . When I reach 56 (another 20 years), then I will sell VP. So instead of just relying on EPF (which according to EPF statistic 90% of the money will be gone within 10 years of withdrawal at age of 56 years) and unit trust, I have another "leg" to rely on.
So guys don't rush into selling. If you can afford it, take it as retirement investment. This is real estate in prime location (Bukit Jalil) and it is freehold (not lease hold!). In the future freehold is very very difficult to get especially in town area!! Even now it cost a bomb to get freehold property in town area. So VP value will surely rocketed.
AMIR |
ya, agreed with u, MMW.....u got the point, as a successful financial planner cannot just rely on the EPF. Use yr saving to againts inflation, u might find ur money are devalue every years....u may find u are poorer and poorer at the end...holding money without investment is stupid nowadays...
IMO, for rental strategy it wud not be so good in serdang area, may be u only can get RM800-1000 ngam ngam can cover yr installment and matainance fees and believed very hard to get "profit" after all. |

Posted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 2:14 pm Post subject: |
By historic standards, inflation remains higher, the bad news for savers is it is beginning to edge up....
The earlier of 2008, surely RE developer will increase their prices, petrol costs are rising and cost of living steeper every year. All these add up to push inflation steadily higher. And that affects the value of your savings, so it is worth considering how to protect them with your investment in property now looo....
Timing is an issue!  _________________ 铁血丹心 |
Posted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 4:07 pm Post subject: |
heard that with property developers developing so much so fast nowadays, the market could be heading for a slump next year (becos of so many properties available and not enough buyers) so any selling/renting next year would be at a loss! i just hope to break even on what i paid for villa pavilion. any advice? |
Posted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 4:33 pm Post subject: |
Well, Jialat and Nurjmo, I don't intend to rent out to get profit. It's hard to do that unless it's a fully furnish unit. Still, then you have to add the furnishing cost....
I have to pay to the HLB RM1033 per month. Put in the maintenance fee of RM135.59 (13 cent per sf) then I have to rent about RM1200 just to get a very minor profit.
So I pursue another strategy, that is to ensure that the unit is well rented year in year out. In other word fully utilised. So put in a very reasonable rent rate. Maybe about RM800 plus Kitchen Cabinet and plaster ceiling .
Although I still have to fork out RM400 per month but, hey looking at the bright side, I just have to pay RM400 per month to get the 1043sq ft freehold Apartment unit with condo facilities at Bukit Jalil! Furthermore the rent may go up after a few years
I intend to fully paid my unit within 10 years to maximise my ROI. The longer I have to settle the loan the more I have to pay the interest. In the end, if it takes too long to settle the loan, by the time I sell the unit, it may not even break even the TOTAL money that I have paid to get the unit. So a little bit of managing my finance is needed. I hope by the time I sell the unit in 20 years time it will be all profit.
AMIR |
Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 9:59 pm Post subject: |
some pics taken of villa pavilion today - didn't get to go inside, so only outside pics.
looks like outside work on the blocks is done
villa pavilion guard house - curious why there appears to be two of them
road (not tarred yet) leading to villa pavilion
progress on link road - looks promising - maybe 2 lanes??
Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 10:54 pm Post subject: |
| nurjmo wrote: | heard that with property developers developing so much so fast nowadays, the market could be heading for a slump next year (becos of so many properties available and not enough buyers) so any selling/renting next year would be at a loss! i just hope to break even on what i paid for villa pavilion. any advice? |
I think we should aim for more than break even. There are a few reasons for this. For one, Villa Pavilion looks like completing ahead of schedule, and for those of us early buyers, we absorbed the risk when the piling still haven't even started yet. So, there is a premium for this risk and shold be built in into the sub-sale selling price.
Second, the period of construction involves interest costs and again, the new buyer does not need to incur this (if they buy from us). So, that is another plus point which should reflect the selling price.
Thirdly, the link road, when it gets completed, is also another plus point. When we pump in our 10% down payment for the aparment, the link road was just a verbal promise in the brochure. Isnt that a risk that we took as initial purchasers?
Of course I think that the RM198,800 that someone is selling at iproperty.com seems a bit high considering that VP is not even completed yet, but then again, I believe all of us should expect something special from the value of our new home in VP. |
Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 11:55 pm Post subject: |
It's very simple in the end. If they wish, the potential buyers can always buy developer prices for Villa Park, or some other new apartment/condo in Serdang area, since they expect "developer" prices. But:
- They will have to wait 3 years
- Risk of non-completion
- Far away from link road
- They have to pay for interest costs during construction period (unless the developer has 0% plan)
- etc etc etc
Supply and demand.
I'm of course referring to the situation when VP has been completed with CFO and keys given. In our case, this is still not 100% so we are still dealing with the risk as we speak. Nothing is certain yet, but hopefully the developer will not fail us. |
Posted: Sun Nov 18, 2007 12:02 am Post subject: |
Hi nurjmo, were you there today? I was there around 12pm afternoon. Walk in both blocks (A and B). Block B seems to have faster completion compare to block A.
How long do you think we will be getting CF after getting our Keys and Vacant Possesion?? 3 months? |
Posted: Sun Nov 18, 2007 9:22 am Post subject: |
Hi eugene, yup, was there yesterday around 6-ish or so. Think block B would be faster than block A cos it was built first. Spoke to Ling @ Villa Park and he said that completion would be end of the year and CF would be early next year, VP after Chinese New Year.
Would like to verify this with all the sifu here - are we allowed to sell off properties under construction? What paperwork and legal stuff would be involved? And wouldn't you be able to get a higher price for the property after VP? Thank you in advance.  |
VPVP
Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 12:25 am Post subject: |
Overall, i'm very satisfy with the apartment configuration and the 'penthouse' view. But the drawback is the water leaking issue in future. Maybe the contractor will able to just paint off the watermark and worry it will re-emerge again. Any advise? 
Last edited by VPVP on Mon Nov 26, 2007 5:46 pm; edited 2 times in total |
Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 5:59 am Post subject: |
Hi vpvp,
Welcome to the forum. You got the unit next to mine.
Sorry can't advise much on whether you should screw the deposit or ignore the significance of the watermark. Being the unit directly below the water tank means that you would need to be extra diligent about this type of thing. Having said that, I think watermarks are a fairly common prob, even among other units (not just this development but others too).
If you choose to proceed with the purchase, there is an 18 month period where the developer has to rectify anything wrong with your unit so you could include this issue in your complaint (be sure to include pictures and clearly mark the problem spots you're referring to).
As to whether the developer rectifies problems properly, perhaps the best people to ask would be the villamas condo owners - they have a thread in the residence associations part of this forum. Another useful website for you to check is sri putramas site - .://..sriputramas.info/checklist/01_Intro.htm
Hope this helps. Good luck.  |
Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 12:52 pm Post subject: |
| VPVP wrote: | Went up the unit today and shocked to see few watermarks on master bedroom, second room, and kitchen . I even saw the leaking has propagated along the common walkway ceiling in front of my unit. |
Hi VPVP, welcome to the forum.
Did u mention this to developer? I guess, they will inspect & rectify the problems of all Block A units before they locked them up while waiting for CF. My opinion, all units might have the possibility of getting watermarks / leakage. Depends on luck. As i remember, there's a VP owner claimed that his mid-unit also had watermarks on the ceiling. Hope the developer will do their best on the workmanships  |
Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 1:18 pm Post subject: |
| watermarks at the ceiling?? |
jialat
Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 1:27 pm Post subject: |
| Musicgal wrote: | | VPVP wrote: | Went up the unit today and shocked to see few watermarks on master bedroom, second room, and kitchen . I even saw the leaking has propagated along the common walkway ceiling in front of my unit. |
Hi VPVP, welcome to the forum.
Did u mention this to developer? I guess, they will inspect & rectify the problems of all Block A units before they locked them up while waiting for CF. My opinion, all units might have the possibility of getting watermarks / leakage. Depends on luck. As i remember, there's a VP owner claimed that his mid-unit also had watermarks on the ceiling. Hope the developer will do their best on the workmanships  |
Normally the top floor owner has a higher risk with the leakage....
if unfortunetely u facing that problems after the defect period....u r the only one who bare all the fixing cost, coz the roof is belong to the top floor owner with "no arguements"......most of the apartments also got this statements, if u dun believe me u can ask around....
good luck to u VPVP....
so usually i suggest PLEASE DO NOT BUY the top unit if possible... |
jialat
Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 1:35 pm Post subject: |
VPVP...if i were u i wont buy it....  |
VPVP
Posted: Mon Nov 19, 2007 8:45 pm Post subject: |
Really thanks for the prompt advice really glad that the forumer here is so helpful...
BTW, asked the Kim Realty guy and they clarify that the top floor (penthouses) ceiling maintenance after the 18 months warranty will still be under the responsibility of the management. Justification is that the ceiling is also the floor for the tank which is a common area. Not sure whether this has been spelled out in other penthouses SPA?
Just for the tips of other penthouses owner, maybe can make a short trip up the the rooftop for a preliminary inspection (of course have to jog and sweat a bit lah). From my observation, there will be some low corner which is potential to trap water. And there are some gaps under the tanks and I'm not sure how the water will be drain off from there.
Last edited by VPVP on Mon Nov 26, 2007 5:48 pm; edited 1 time in total |
Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 10:24 am Post subject: |
Hi VPVP,
When i bought my unit (14th floor), the sales person also mentioned that anything above the ceiling will be bear by the management. Therefore, i've more confidence in buying the highest floor. In addition, the ceiling is concrete ceiling, which i hope it won't absorb too much direct sun heat. Also, 1 of the advantage of highest floor would be this unit won't have any piping @ the kitchen & toilets. Most important is they gave me the upgraded package with 5% discount..
| jialat wrote: | | Normally the top floor owner has a higher risk with the leakage.... | Hi jialat, may i know why the top floor has the higher risk with leakage? Any top floor owner willing to share with this? U guys making me worry now with my unit.  |
Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 10:57 am Post subject: |
Musicgal, i think you dont need to worry so much. Actually, all is depends on the works of the constructor.
I staying in top floor before and din found any problem for leakage water or...etc. |
jialat
Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 11:28 am Post subject: |
IMHO....i think it is depend on your LUCK....experience talk, leakage problem is a big issue for an apartment especially top floor coz the water tank just on yr top, u are the only one who are taking the high risk for water leakage and it is NO FUN at all........anyway we hope u r the exception....
im really hope the management said they will maintenance after the 18 months warranty is not just a sales talk...
Times is a good witness....VPVP, dun listen to me or any rumours, just make yr own observation and decision....anyway, its just my humble opinion and im not trying to hurt any one of u all.....
GOOD LUCK 
Last edited by jialat on Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:06 pm; edited 1 time in total |
Posted: Tue Nov 20, 2007 12:06 pm Post subject: |
hehehe...called VillaMas to 2x confirm about the ceiling thingy. Yes, the maintenance above the ceiling of all units @ the highest floor will be bear by the management even after 18 months warranty. Feel a bit relief
Any bad response from highest floor VillaMas owners on the workmanship? As i know from their forum, no major defect on other units.
Another issue, does anyone know, where will be the main garbage dump within our apartment compound? No indication on the floor plan. |
Posted: Thu Nov 22, 2007 11:46 am Post subject: |
Hi gals and guys,
Please check your windows and sliding doors. Make sure that they can close properly and can be locked. After locking it try to push it. Make sure that it is tight and not 'goyang'. If it is 'goyang', rain water can seep in when the wind blows against the window. When it is locked make sure also that there is no space between the windows and its aluminium frame.
I've checked mine last week and found out that one of the windows for the master bed room toilet cannot be closed. After much probing I found out that there was some cement residue outside the windows which prevent it from closing. So one for the complaint form after getting the keys...
MMW |