Understanding a bankers from my point of view

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Malaysia Real Estate Forum Index -> Property Financing
kelvinpl

PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 7:15 pm    Post subject: Understanding a bankers from my point of view Reply with quote

After going thru quite a number of post, I realise the same thing, everyone is asking for the same thing:-
1)what interest rate can you offer
2) can you do better then BLR - x.x%
3) i'm refinancing and looking for flexi with BLR - x.xx%, any better offers?

All come to a same point. RATES!

If you are to understand a bank, every bank has their own policy and board rates there... and to that bankers usually dun promise you anything better then that... Few weeks ago a client just told me this banker from SCB called him can appeal BLR - x.xx% bla bla bla.. and my client ask me... is that standard banker giving such an answer...

Assuming now you understand banks have their standard and policy, let me ask you this? (real situation i faced)
Would you choose a banker that say YES I can get you BLR - x.xx% no problem, or would you choose a banker that says we have our board rates but will fight a better rate for you...

Obviously alot out there will go for the first one right. But think about it, OVER PROMISE UNDER DELIVER, if you dun get that rate the banker offered, what you gonna do?

I had a 2.4 million loan fly away just like that, when anotehr banker from same bank promise the customer something that the bank nvr b4 offered at that time... that was 2-3 weeks ago. BLR - 2.2 FREE MOVING COST and FULL FLEXI LOAN. How i wish i get the email she send to the customer and report her up... making me lose 2.4 million loan.

Sometimes in order to get loans, bankers will upfront promise you this and that... but bear in mind, you have to compare APPLE to APPLE and also do a little research out there.

Secondly, dun ask me to confirm you BLR - x.xx% can get or not coz I will never over promise coz my strenght in this industry is Service and Trust.

Lastly, for the sack of other bankers as well, we bankers cannot confirm you what is more then the board rate is giving.. but i'm sure EVERY BANKER will fight a better rate for you in the market.

Dun talk about exceptional cases... cases like ppl that earn 2million a year and buying a 5 million property lar... those are exceptional cases lar...

So do us all bankers a favor, and we will definitely REQUEST and APPEAL to get a much more better and attractive rates for you guys...

Sorry if i offended any of you out there, not my purpose to do so. Just giving consumer an understanding how bankers work.

Cheers,
pohloong@gmail.com
ys126

PostPosted: Tue Jun 24, 2008 10:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hi Kelvin, i totally agree with you. sometime i even tell my customer compare the bank letter of offer, not the officer proposed upfront.
Then this is only the real rate and package bank can offer. Wink
Sillya

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 8:37 pm    Post subject: wow... Reply with quote

hey there kelvin...

very well said....gud 1..

cheers....
stea2221

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 11:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

sounds like a frustrated banker...just kidding

i guess supply more than demand nowadays. Even more so that gas price goes up, people are taking it easy on spending. Is that why rates are dropping? I thought I got myself a good deal when the bank offered me -2%, ZEC in August last year. My office mate just got herself -2.2% ZEC for a lot less loan...talk about banks getting more aggressive in their offer

One thing i learn about the sales folk, I wont call them bankers coz they dont have much influence to get the rates that you want. Best to know sumbody calling the shots and get u the preferred rate. That's what i did

No offense ya!
ed0gawa

PostPosted: Fri Jul 04, 2008 5:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Over promise and talk cock is normal. A lot banker is doing that. (No, i don't.. lol ... )

How about LIAR? There are idiots out there that lie to their customer. They cut the MRTA coverage into half of the loan amount. And NEVER TELL their customer about it. Instead he/she boast that 'see, our bank so good.. MRTA lower than other bank'... and those idiotic customer that never bother to read just sign happily because that bank offers 0.05 lower....
yykalex

PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2008 7:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Push push push,,,

u totally voice out my feelings!
ys126

PostPosted: Sat Jul 05, 2008 8:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ed0gawa, do you know which bank officer is doing this? normally the officer will over promised customer, (sure not me..haha). but if the MRTA, i think customer should know how much they actually issured lo.. Wink
ed0gawa

PostPosted: Sun Jul 06, 2008 3:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ys126 wrote:
ed0gawa, do you know which bank officer is doing this? normally the officer will over promised customer, (sure not me..haha). but if the MRTA, i think customer should know how much they actually issured lo.. Wink

No point saying out the bank name as it is more on the banker problem itself. Smile
kelvinpl

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 3:17 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thank you for ppl that comes to me for advise on loans and mortgages... Its my pleasure to be able to help out and share knowledge with you guys...

My personal apologies if it takes me a little long to reply to you guys. I'm on mobile and always on the run. I check my mails using my PDA but I'll only reply when I'm sitting back at my home workstation. So if you are having something urgent, do put it on the subject -> URGENT - bla bla bla... so that way i can reply to you as soon as your msg pops up on my pda.

Anyway, back to the replies to the topic... yeah its agreed by alot of ppl bankers are overpromising and that really reflects badly on the image of the bank. Regard to say we can do nothing about it, everyone wants a market portion and is willing to do whatever it takes to get hold of it. So back to my principle I always provide my clients profesional advise and service as well as being trustworthy person. This does not mean I won't get you a good rates and stuff... We as banker will always try to get our clients the best the bank can offer, coz in the end if the client is happy they will sure come back to you.

sounds like a frustrated banker...just kidding

To be honest sometimes I'm frustrated, only if the person comes from my own bank... the other times I dun really give a damn. I'm there to give my advise and put CIMB products to cater to clients need. If let say CIMB products doesnt suite you I upfront tell the clientel. And because I'm in the industry I know which suites the customer best, and will also refer packages from others if CIMB ones doesnt suite.

One thing i learn about the sales folk, I wont call them bankers coz they dont have much influence to get the rates that you want. Best to know sumbody calling the shots and get u the preferred rate. That's what i did

Indeed, but how many in the market knows the person that's calling the shot... and that too ppl that's calling the shot will have guidelines and protocols to follow... how many can he/she close 1 eye and give such a rate... remember Banks are filled with creepy auditors.. lol

Over promise and talk cock is normal. A lot banker is doing that. (No, i don't.. lol ... )

So ed, seems like you are a banker that face this problem too eh.. lol.. normal lar.. hahah.. but if really they trick customer on MRTA like that then if really anything does happen, can the banker live with it? imagine the sole breadwinner of the family passaway leaving the property uncovered and the family in pain... will he or she live with it...
pohloong@gmail.com
ys126

PostPosted: Thu Jul 10, 2008 10:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

kelvinpl wrote:

So ed, seems like you are a banker that face this problem too eh.. lol.. normal lar.. hahah.. but if really they trick customer on MRTA like that then if really anything does happen, can the banker live with it? imagine the sole breadwinner of the family passaway leaving the property uncovered and the family in pain... will he or she live with it...

they will just care for their commission lo..normally this type of officer will change from one bank to another in very short period lo.. Wink
jasonlaiSCB

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 12:10 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Commercial property package. Investor package with no lock-in and Zero cost (T&C). Finance with high margin or lowest interest rate with flexi feature. Can contact me at 012-6513021

Jason Lai,
012-6513021
Business Financial Executive
Price Solutions S/B (Standard Chartered Bank)
jasonlai_81@hotmail.com
kennylooi

PostPosted: Sun Aug 17, 2008 3:12 pm    Post subject: RE: to this overpromising issue, Reply with quote

Dear all,

After i have read all the above statements, infact i didn't even bother to reply but somehow i thought i should. Most importantly customers all should read the very important of the Terms & Condition. I always recommend each customer to apply a few banks compare the Terms & Condition then you make your right decision.

yykalex

PostPosted: Mon Aug 18, 2008 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dear all,

here i tell u my story, even thou you keep your promise and delivery your promise, customer also won't sign for you.

here is my case, the customer loan amount not big, juz 400k, initially no other banks approve his loan except mine (all banks approved 80%). I fought & fought & appealed ...... finally managed to get his loan approved with 90%, BLR minus 1.90% whole tenure. Then later, the customer said got another bank offer him BLR-1.95%, but only 85% MOF. He asked me for better rate, of course he promised that IF YOU CAN GET minus 2% for me, SURE i will sign for you. Then i utilize my staff empowerment to get the rate for him for the same day to get the rate, but, at the end of last minute, he go to sign another bank!!! (without telling me to cancel the signing appointment).

So, i tell u guys, even thou u keep ur promise, customer won't keep their promise. Of course they hv their own judgement towards banks, but plzzzzzzz dun playing/fool us around.
far83v2

PostPosted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 2:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yykalex wrote:
Dear all,

here i tell u my story, even thou you keep your promise and delivery your promise, customer also won't sign for you.

here is my case, the customer loan amount not big, juz 400k, initially no other banks approve his loan except mine (all banks approved 80%). I fought & fought & appealed ...... finally managed to get his loan approved with 90%, BLR minus 1.90% whole tenure. Then later, the customer said got another bank offer him BLR-1.95%, but only 85% MOF. He asked me for better rate, of course he promised that IF YOU CAN GET minus 2% for me, SURE i will sign for you. Then i utilize my staff empowerment to get the rate for him for the same day to get the rate, but, at the end of last minute, he go to sign another bank!!! (without telling me to cancel the signing appointment).

So, i tell u guys, even thou u keep ur promise, customer won't keep their promise. Of course they hv their own judgement towards banks, but plzzzzzzz dun playing/fool us around.

i know how your feel.. it hurt..................................... Crying or Very sad
yykalex

PostPosted: Fri Aug 22, 2008 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i realized that some bankers which hungry for sales can talk bullshit to customer in term to kill your sales.

they talk about your bank will delay drawdown,
they say your bank customer service not frenly and not answer phone call,
they say your bank very selective on customer,
they say blar blar blar....

... anything, they will tell the customer not to sign with you.

i think most of your guys also hv facing this kind of ppl, mind to share your experience? how u handle the issue?
NewKENZO

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 2:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Its quite true. It is all because due to competitive market between banks and mortgage executive become more and more, so they fight each other. Hence, customer have more purchasing power to negotiate the rates, services. 10 years ago, all people have to walk in to get their loan and walk into legal firm to sign agreement. Now, all bankers and brokers provide door to door services and even lawyer have to travel to sign the legal documentation.

However, as a banker or loan negotiator or broker, you have to be professional and the longer you had work in this industry, you have good network and power to negotiate whether the customer is going to sign or not. Your portfolio is very important, some agent can refer you 10 cases, 9 comparing and only 1 sign LO with you. Some agent can refer you 10 cases, all approve easily and at least 8 or 9 sign. Thats the difference of portfolio management of your own.

If you're new banker, the experienced would bring you more better oriented. When the time you're getting more experienced with the physical cases u had handle, you can handle all customers. By that time, you're the one who can negotiate with customer whether he wanna sign with you or not.

The bankers turnover are too fast, thats why i can say 10 bankers today, only 1 or 2 are professional and 4 to 5 are totally new. Very hard to find a banker can survive for more than 2 years banking sales experience in the same bank.
kelvinpl

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 5:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wow, never expect this post to stay alive that long but yeah.. what the heck it does.. lol

indeed what NewKENZO said is true. Its all base on the market you tackle, the longer you are in the market the more network you get, then you will handle alot of different types of clients. Good, bad to worst also got...

In cases like yykalex, indeed i feel your pain, but that's the customer lor, we as banker i would recommend be professional in your job. It doesn't matter if the customer dun take from you, there are others that will.

I have customer that even scold 4 letter words to me ler.. but what to do.. market so competitive.. 2 options... first you keep up with the client.... second, take it or leave it... for us that's being in the industry for long, we opt for 2nd option.. sometimes dun let the client push you around... always have to understand we do our part... bank have their own policy so we have to stick with it.

hey Kenzo, i'm in the same bank for 2 years already ler... no doubt bank's turnover very high, why alot of ppl ask... like i always say, no bank will stay number 1 for the whole year... even Zeti wont allow that to happened... so in order to gain more and market share, these ppl move around... its actually no harm... not only new bankers jump, old n experienced one jump too, Higher salary, better pricing...bla bla bla

Well when it comes to taking a loan that's going to be long and a big amount... my advise goes to the public, go with the banker you feel comfortable with.. sometimes also say feel eh lor.. not cheapest rate is the best... lol
pohloong@gmail.com
yykalex

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 6:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Wat u guys said is true guys, no point staying in the past cases that cannot close.

luckily here is a platform for us bankers to share and voice out our feelings, hope this won't offend any customers which is reading.

high turnover of bankers is normal la... in fact every industry also the same, only the true winner will survive rite? in my bank new staff come and go, juz like a lorry and a lorry passby, sometimes me myself also cannot remember how many new collegue come and go.

and i also very respect some banker can jump from one bank to another bank and another bank within a year, yet still jumping now... hehe, really respect.
NewKENZO

PostPosted: Tue Sep 02, 2008 12:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

haha kelvin,

its good to see u stay in CIMB for 2 years. CIMB last year was awesome, had increased great customer base.

however, as sales person, we have to face a lot of exicting things, however, in my more than 3 years banking line, i never receive such a harsh word that you receive, but i understand that. majority words i receive was very firm request to do the thing faster than we expected

everybody is comparing now, but we have to do the job.

life goes on, and we have to carry on our daily routine.

good luck all ...
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Malaysia Real Estate Forum Index -> Property Financing All times are GMT + 8 Hours