janewong
Posted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 4:33 pm Post subject: Opal Damansara |
Dear all,
I'm new here. Anyone of you here heard of Opal Damansara before.
What do you guys think about this project? I'm planning to settle down and I am very interested in this project. Any opinions...? Please give some reviews too...thanks  |
simplex
Posted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 5:45 pm Post subject: |
| Hmmm..could you furnish us with details? I am sure others would like to know some basic information before judging it. |
janewong
Posted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 6:00 pm Post subject: |
| simplex wrote: | | Hmmm..could you furnish us with details? I am sure others would like to know some basic information before judging it. |
It is situated at Sunway Damansara and the further details you all may get it through this website .://..sunway.com.my/suncity/project/klang/dsara/opal/opal.asp
Thank you very much  |
ylime
Posted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 7:08 pm Post subject: |
| The minimum unit price is 300k. Btw, it's leasehold. |
Tim
Posted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 7:16 pm Post subject: |
This is my own opinion:-
If base on ylime information is correct, a minimum unit price of 300k for a unit that have 1140sf that is really expensive. Some more that is lease hold, that is a lose investment, because i think the price will not be increase so much in future.
For the budget of 300k, there is lot of other condo or even double stories and Semi-D able to get in PJ area. _________________ ID, Renovation, wiring, air cond service, CCTV, Alarm system, auto gate and so on, if need service, please contact me at email c_k_tim@hotmail.com |
Y2K
Posted: Mon Oct 10, 2005 11:13 pm Post subject: |
I think the other 2 condo developments by Sunway in that area had appreciated in value; Sunway Sutera and Cita Damansara. Can anyone out there confirm? I've seen Cita Damansara and it's quite a nice place to stay in.
My friend had quite some good words for Sunway, in fact. |
ylime
Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 12:15 am Post subject: |
Well, if u like the developer & it's work, there are quite a number of good developers ard. Sunrise, Tan & Tan , Perdana ParkCity . If u go to the show unit , u'll be impressed . Btw, all units are corner units.
But i agree with the appreciation thing coz i think the new D'sara area is quite congested & furthermore leasehold. Well, at the end of the day, u must see whehter it's for investment or own stay though. |
Oversea
Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 2:01 am Post subject: |
| When buying a condominium, leasehold versus freehold is not a major significant factor. In other word, the premium of freehold over leasehold is minimal. Am i right? |
janewong
Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 9:14 am Post subject: |
The devoper is providing RM25k rebate; for example, the price of the unit which i want to buy is RM325k, i just have to pay the balance of the 10% (32500 - 25000 = 7500)
For my case, i have difficulties to take out the 10% downpayment and this is the main reason why i wanted to buy opal damansara. For your information, i'm not buying for investment, it is for own stay. Any difference between buying for investment and own stay? This is my first time of buying a property and I don't know much about property investment. Please give some advice.
By the way, another reason i prefer this development is because it is very low density, the units available will not be more than 300. They are giving out 2 parking bays per unit. Please give some opinions...thanks!  |
hypnotic
Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 9:52 am Post subject: |
I think it is too pricey... somemore the design doesn't look good...
leasehold.. I am sure there will be a difference after 20 years.
Would you want to buy an expensive condo with less than 80 years left???
For comparison, there is a condo (completed) freehold Seri Maya by Tan & Tan for around 250k .. excellent quality and location. Near two LRTs.. maybe something for you to consider if you want to stay in KL. |
Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 10:02 am Post subject: |
| hypnotic wrote: | I think it is too pricey... somemore the design doesn't look good...
leasehold.. I am sure there will be a difference after 20 years.
Would you want to buy an expensive condo with less than 80 years left???
For comparison, there is a condo (completed) freehold Seri Maya by Tan & Tan for around 250k .. excellent quality and location. Near two LRTs.. maybe something for you to consider if you want to stay in KL. |
Other than the a project under construction next to Seri Maya which makes the place dusty and noisy (temporary only), Seri Maya is quite a good choice... go and take a look.
Unless of course you prefer to stay in Sunway area.  |
ACDC
Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 12:17 pm Post subject: |
Check out Surian Condos just nearby.
Freehold and costs almost the same. But there are limited units left (may not be of your liking)  |
janewong
Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 12:30 pm Post subject: |
Thanks for all the suggestions and opinions.
Any more reviews about Opal Damansara?
By the way, I went to the Surian Condos show unit. How many units are left? |
ryanlee
Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 1:10 pm Post subject: |
I have some negative comments on this place. Too congested! Opal damansara site location at around the corner turning into tropica whereby it is facing the famous Palm Spring Condo. :D hehehe
As for Surian Condo, there are not many units left. All good ones with nice view are taken up. Only those facing Persiaran Surian are available. This used to be a nice condo but went to the actual location again I thought is too congested. Opposite Surian Condo is the Pelangi Damansara and a new one (I dunno what is the name for that). Everyday along Persurian Surian in front of Pelangi Damansara you can see lots of cars parking in there. So better if you are interested in buying here, have a good look at the location first. If congestion is not your worry, then no problem. Price wise it is quite standard for the Damansara area. The are other options in that area also. Cita Damansara (I like this place) and Riana Green.
As for me, I preferred for Nadia Park Front Condo in DPC. About the same price but freehold. Go and have a look first before making any decision to buy. |
spyweb

Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 2:02 pm Post subject: |
Sunway damansara is a very good developer. What I know that is this developer invest 4 million into their landscape. And I've look into their show unit. Those materials not bad. Moreover the Type A is not facing the famous Palm Spring, it faces the Cita Damansara.
Talk about the price, it is hard to compare Opal and other condo except the same location we're talking about, unless like Surian or Damansara Perdana. Milan is selling about RM350k for less than 1200sq ft. Most of those quality homes in Damansara are selling at that price Sunway Damansara is a very good place to live in. I have a friend stay in Cita Damansara, I visit them very often. Low density, more privacy and not like any other condo's that have high density, crowded with cars and lots of people.
I think Oversea is right for the leasehold vs freehold for condominium. I agreed.  |
janewong
Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 2:02 pm Post subject: |
The congestion and 'facing Palm Spring Condo' matter is the most I am concerning about.
Other than that, I truly like that place because as far as I know, this developer is the same developer of Cita Damansara and I have a friend staying there; I have visited that place a couple of times too, and I found that the place is really nice and peace. The security is good too. What I like most is the low density which i have mentioned in my previous post. But seems like most of the comments about this project is a negative one Sigh....
Anyway, please give me some adivce and opinions about which floor to take...my option is Floor 3A (actually it is 4th floor) and 9th Floor. The price difference is RM11k
What do u guys think? If I wanna sell this unit a few years later, will there be any concern with the floor number? Please advice... Thanks!  |
ACDC
Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 2:04 pm Post subject: |
| janewong wrote: | Thanks for all the suggestions and opinions.
Any more reviews about Opal Damansara?
By the way, I went to the Surian Condos show unit. How many units are left? |
Not too sure how many are left but I understand they're mainly facing Persiaran Surian and sized 1206 sq ft. Why dont you call the developer? I heard they're giving some sort of incentives for the left over units. |
janewong
Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 2:23 pm Post subject: |
| spyweb wrote: | I have a friend stay in Cita Damansara, I visit them very often. Low density, more privacy and not like any other condo's that have high density, crowded with cars and lots of people.
What a small world. My friend is staying there too...hehe  |
paragon
Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 3:13 pm Post subject: |
When the 1st phase was launched in mid 2004, there were units with selling price below RM 300K available then. Looks like the developer has raised the price quite substantially on the 2nd phase.
My vote for Opal is.......AYE.....because of :-
1. Reputable developer
2. Good location
3. Well kept neighbourhood
4. Nice building design....Semi-D concept (all corner units)
5. 2 car parks per unit
6. Proposed lush green area
7. Yours truly has a unit @ Sunway D'sara....he...he...
Status of land being a leasehold is not an issue but it would for someone who would live beyond 99 yrs. Bear in mind that a freehold land is not & will never be exempted from acquisition should the govnt requires it.
Well...there would be things like lease expiry date & premium chargeable upon lease renewal attached to a leasehold title.....hemm.....these are for our grandchildren to worry lar.......
Transfer of title on leasehold land requires consent from PTD that to some people is a hassle. Aiya....nothing in life is straight fwd.....lor... but it won't be that bad if your approach & mgmnt of the processes are right.
The value of freehold land is being overly exaggerated so much so incurring higher costs to buyers & on the otherhand generating higher profit margin to property developers ie. MD, DPC, Levenue, S/SPK, MK, Dutamas, Idaman, Legenda......bla.....bla...& the list go on...&...on.
With all the frills, branding, lifestyle, boutique & etc... that developers promote being put aside would those property on freehold land in reality worth as much?
Cheers....  |
spyweb

Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 5:29 pm Post subject: |
I heard that Sunway Damansara will launch Opal Block B end of the month. A minimum 5-10% will increase from Block A. It looks like the demand is there. For block A, there is only left not more than 10 units.
I think there is appreciate value for Opal Damansara like what Y2K says. For me I like low density, quite and peaceful environment for a condominium.
Congested? I think most of the places in Kl, damansara or Subang is congested right... |
janewong
Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 5:53 pm Post subject: |
From what we can see now, do u guys have any idea about how much Opal Damansara may appreciate?
By the way, anybody could give me some advice about which floor to choose (4th floor or 9th floor). FYI, they are not going to call 4th floor, they will call it 3A floor. |
spyweb

Posted: Tue Oct 11, 2005 6:16 pm Post subject: |
I think 9th Floor would be better. More value than 4th floor or 3A. Most of the type A unit is facing Cita Damansara. So u won't see those famous Palm Spring view.
Unfortunately there is somekind of river bushes between Cita and Opal. If the developer can get rid of those things it will be better. |
janewong
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 10:42 am Post subject: |
Thanks Spyweb for your opinions.
Is that all the views I can get? Please post some more views...thanks!! |
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 10:59 am Post subject: |
Agree with spyweb for higher floor. If it's for your own stay might as well get a better view (i hope) and more windy (i hope too).
But if it's for investment and renting it out, no point paying more $$ for that extra floor unless higher floor can get better rental.
My 2 cents....  |
janewong
Posted: Wed Oct 12, 2005 11:17 am Post subject: |
Raistlin, thanks for your opinions.
Did anyone of you visited the show unit at the sales office? What do u all think? I personally think that the materials (tiles and windows) are quite good. I quite like it. Please give some opinions.  |