raypc
Posted: Fri Sep 28, 2007 1:27 pm Post subject: |
Hi, am a newbie here trying to comprehend the legal fees. I've received 2 bills for legal fees and disbursements for the transfer of strata title and MOT and would like to know whether the lawyer is charging too excessively. Would appreciate some comment from sifus especially from cynthusc who have been so gracious in providing comments for us newbies.
Type : Condo (freehold)
Property Price : RM199,880
Loan Amt : RM175,596.38
Same lawyer for both S & P and Loan Agreement
BILL A
Legal Fees for prep. & attending to execution of MOT = RM462.29
Disbursement :
5% tax = RM23.11
Stamp duty on MOT = RM 2,998.00
MOT Adjudication + RM10.00
MOT Registration Fees = RM100.00
Extraction CTC / Reg. Blanket Consent to Transfer = RM100.00
Master/Strata Title Search = RM 120.00
Travelling = RM90.00
Misc. (postage, tel. fax etc) = RM50
Sub Total = RM 3,491.11
BILL A - LEGAL FEES & DISBURSEMENT TOTAL = RM 3,953.40
BILL B
Legal fees for prep. & registration of Charge Annexure = RM419.79
Disbursement:
5% service tax = RM20.98
Stamping of Charge Annexure = RM 40.00
Charge Annexure Registration fee = RM 120.00
Printing Charges = RM 30.00
Extraction/Reg. CTC - Consent to Charge = RM100.00
Stamp Letter of Offer = RM20.00
Travelling = RM90.00
Sub-Total = RM 420.98
BILL B - LEGAL FEES & DISBURSEMENT TOTAL = RM 840.77
BILL A + BILL B GRAND TOTAL = RM 4,794.17
Are the fees too high and is there any way I can get it discounted?
Any comments or feedback is appreciated. Thank you in advance. |
yewkhuay
Posted: Mon Oct 29, 2007 12:22 am Post subject: |
how come my loan was 192K and all loan legal fees + SPA i paid only about 3600 ? _________________ Have a nice day!!! |
yewkhuay
Posted: Sun Nov 04, 2007 11:40 pm Post subject: |
i m buying a 445K house with 378K loan, can i check how is the loan facility agreement charges and other charges like stamp duty + miscelleneous is gonna be like ? _________________ Have a nice day!!! |
YYS
Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 5:53 pm Post subject: |
Hi Yewkuay,
Loan sum = 378K
stamp duty: 0.5% x 378K =RM1890
Legal Fee: 1% for 1st 150K = RM1500
0.7% for 22K = RM1596
Disbursements (eg. documents, registration fee etc): >< RM700
Total: >< RM6000
Hope this would be a guideline for you. |
yewkhuay
Posted: Sat Nov 10, 2007 2:41 am Post subject: |
thanks ! then i would expect tht kinda charges.....if anything more than 6K will ask again...  _________________ Have a nice day!!! |
isomatrix
Posted: Fri Nov 16, 2007 2:44 pm Post subject: |
Malaysia 2008 budget will cut stamp duty fee by 50% and i see the report is from Sept onwards. What is the current stamp duty charges now?
Cos i received my quotation, it is still first RM100K, 1%, next is 2%.
I thought the 50% cut is already started?
Thanks for reply. |
yewkhuay
Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 7:07 pm Post subject: |
since u said 2008, so all d charges still d same.... _________________ Have a nice day!!! |
isomatrix
Posted: Sat Nov 17, 2007 8:40 pm Post subject: |
| One more question, is the 5% tax charges necessary for legal fees? My quotation doesn't apply this 5%. |
maomao998
Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2008 1:04 am Post subject: Need advise!! S&P & Loan Agreement Charges |
Dear All,
Sincerely need advise on how much will be charges for S&P & Loan Agreement for my case below:
House Price - RM 305,000
Loan Amount - RM 274,500
House Desc - 2nd Hand, Freehold, 1 sty landed, individual title.
Thanks |
sasa
Posted: Thu Jan 31, 2008 12:41 pm Post subject: laterst legal fees schedule |
helo,i'm newbie here...
any one can explain to me wat is the standard legal S&P legal fees schedule?
example:
1st 150k-1%
2nd 400k-0.7%
consideration up to 2 mil -0.6%
or
1st 150k-1%
thenafter all is 0.5%
Plz advise!!
nice days!!
sasa |
EA_pg
Posted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 12:58 am Post subject: |
I have just received the quotation for Loan agreement & Transfer bill from the same lawyer for the SnP. This is my first time buying house, so really need advise from those with experience, especially Noor713, cynthusc, or anyone
Property details:
Landed Double Storey with individual title at Penang - under construction property. Buying from developer. SnP only RM500 (rest bore by developer).
Purchase price: RM398,000.00
Loan amount: RM359,649.00 (including MRTA, taking loan with my wife)
SnP agreement: RM500
Quotation for Loan agreement
Fees
-> Facility Agreement: RM2967.55 (less 30%)
-> Charge: RM296.75
-> Caveat and withdrawal of caveat: RM350
Disbursement:
Stamp Duty on
-> facility agreement: RM1830
-> charge: Rm40
-> Letter of Offer: RM10
Registration Fee
-> Charge: RM 130
-> Caveat: RM 180
-> Withdrawal of caveat: RM 150
Search fee: RM100
Bankruptcy search: RM24
Statutory Declaration: RM50
Bank Forms: RM150
Printing charges: RM30
Miscellaneous: RM50
5% service charge: RM136.20
Total amount: RM5604.20
Quotation for Transfer
Fees
->Transfer: RM809
Disbursement:
Stamp duty on transfer: RM6960
Registration fee on transfer: RM500
Search fee: RM60
Adjudication fee: RM10
Travelling: RM20
Printing Charges: RM30
Miscellaneous: RM50
5% Service tax: RM40.45
Total amount: RM8479.45
So,the total amount I need to pay for S&P agreement and Loan agreement are RM14,583.65. Please kindly advise. Thanks a lot. |
micky
Posted: Wed Jul 23, 2008 11:19 pm Post subject: |
hmm... actually there is a simple calculation on Loan Agreement ..
It will be + - 2% of your loan amount { Loan RM 200k , so charges will be around RM 4k (all in) }
After get the quotation, you can call up to the solicitor and ask for discount. Normally they will discount 30%, and some even can give up to 50% discount.
BTW , there are a lot of Zero Moving Cost packages at the market now.. which mean purchaser dont have to pay for the Loan Agreement fees, all borne by bank & this will help a lot to save on the expenses...
Hope it is helping ...  |
euanne
Posted: Fri Aug 01, 2008 7:44 pm Post subject: Please help - First time foreign buyer |
Hello,
I am glad to have found this website, there seems to be people with real knowledge who are willing to share. As we are living in the UK, we are completely at a loss with the charges in Malaysia.
We have just secured a property (under construction) with Sunrise and offered a mortgage by HSBC.
What we would like to know are:
1. Are there stamp duties relating to all sorts of things, like the S&P agreement, loan agreement, Deed of Assignment and Power of Attorney? After all these, when the property is ready, 2-3 years later when the title transfer can take place, is there another stamp duty to be paid?
2. How does one calculate the Stamp Duty on Loan Agreement?
3. What is the Deed of Assignment? And does that apply to us? (We are buying directly from Sunrise, the Developer, and the property is still under construction
4. What is the Power of Attorney? And does that apply to us?
5. We know there would be legal costs associated with the Sales & Purchase Agreement and the Loan Agreement. Are these the tiered 1%, 0.7%, etc. charges stipulated by the Legal Profession? Should we be charged legal costs for Deed of Assignment and Power of Attorney? If yes, how much should that be?
We would really appreciate some guidance on the above. Many thanks in advance. |
cynthusc
Posted: Fri Aug 15, 2008 10:10 am Post subject: Re: Please help - First time foreign buyer |
| euanne wrote: | Hello,
I am glad to have found this website, there seems to be people with real knowledge who are willing to share. As we are living in the UK, we are completely at a loss with the charges in Malaysia.
We have just secured a property (under construction) with Sunrise and offered a mortgage by HSBC.
What we would like to know are:
1. Are there stamp duties relating to all sorts of things, like the S&P agreement, loan agreement, Deed of Assignment and Power of Attorney? After all these, when the property is ready, 2-3 years later when the title transfer can take place, is there another stamp duty to be paid?
Every legal document must be stamped nominally at RM10 but for some the duties are higher. Since you are buying from a developer, no assignment is needed at this juncture as I assume you are buying under the housing development Act. When the individual title is issued at a latter date, ad valorem stamp duty is payable on the transfer from the Developer to you. As for not you need to pay nominal stamp duty and ad valorem stamp duty on the assignment to the bank for your loan.
2. How does one calculate the Stamp Duty on Loan Agreement?
0.5% of the loan sum
3. What is the Deed of Assignment? And does that apply to us? (We are buying directly from Sunrise, the Developer, and the property is still under construction
Assignment means that the rights to the property is given to another (in the most simplest sense) There is no assignment from the Dev to you but you will assign your rights to the bank as a security for the loan given
4. What is the Power of Attorney? And does that apply to us?
POA is usually given to the bank as a security for the loan. it allows the bank to act on your behalf in auctioning the property to recover arrears in the event you fail to pay service your loan
5. We know there would be legal costs associated with the Sales & Purchase Agreement and the Loan Agreement. Are these the tiered 1%, 0.7%, etc. charges stipulated by the Legal Profession? Should we be charged legal costs for Deed of Assignment and Power of Attorney? If yes, how much should that be?
The tiers are correct. DOA and POA are chargeable at 10% of the scale payable on the main document i.e. the Facilities or Loan Agreement
We would really appreciate some guidance on the above. Many thanks in advance. |
lynnette
Posted: Thu Aug 21, 2008 9:40 pm Post subject: Fees for Individual Title Transfer |
Can someone please help me to check the fees for individual title transfer? The fees for loan will be covered by the bank and the fees for S&P will be covered by the developer so I have to pay only for the individual title transfer. Is it right for the lawyer to charge me again on the legal fees for individual title transfer even though the developer is already paying for the S&P legal fees? Is the RM1000 charge for the individual title transfer registration fees too much since I noticed from the other postings that they are all paying much less. Is there a scale or standard for the registration fees?
Property: Landed property in Penang Island
Purchase price: RM722,800
Here is the quotation by the lawyer for individual title transfer:
Transfer = RM1377.40 (25% of the full legal fees)
5% government tax = RM68.87
Stamp duty on transfer = RM15684.00
Adjudication on Transfer = RM10.00
Registration on Transfer = RM1000.00
Courier Charges = RM50.00
Misc Charges = RM50.00
Total = RM18240.27
Thanks very much in advance  |
qsh8504
Posted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 1:57 pm Post subject: |
Need some help here?
Do we need to sign both DOA(for SnP and loan document)?
I really confuse about this one.
Property: Not completed but the developer already sale to subcon. Does it mean i bought a subsale property?
This property does not have land title yet. |
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum