Need advise here..why the legal fees so expensive!!
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Malaysia Real Estate Forum Index -> S & P and Legal Issues
august

PostPosted: Mon Apr 03, 2006 9:41 pm    Post subject: Need advise here..why the legal fees so expensive!! Reply with quote

I have just received the quotation for Loan agreement & SAP agreement from the same lawyer. I really "terkejut" with the amount. It is so expensive!! This is my first time buying house, so really need advise from those with experience, especially Noor713.

Property details:
Condo with master title located at PJ - Completed property. Buying from owner.
Purchase price: RM280K
Loan amount: RM252K

Quotation for Loan agreement
Legal fee: RM3022.11
Stamping: RM1450
Registration at High count: RM100

Disbursement:
Land search: RM100
Statutory search: RM30
Q.A Search: RM30
Affirmation: RM20
Purchase of document: RM100

Others:
Miscellaneous –RM100
Transportation – RM150

Total amount: RM5102.11

Quotation for S&P Agreement
Legal fees: RM3150.70
Stamping: RM4680

Disbursement:
Affirmation: RM50

Others:
Miscellaneous –RM150
Transportation – RM150

Total amount: RM8310.70

So,the total amount I need to pay for S&P agreement and Loan agreement are RM13,412.81. Please advise. Thanks a lot

Shocked
sonata

PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2006 11:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

the price should be about that.

i got a property for rm 170K++ recently and had to pay a total of rm 8K ++ for all/

Confused
Noor713

PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2006 12:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi august!

You quotations on fees & disbs for S&P and loan docs are basically correct except a couple of minor items which have been slightly overcharged such as:

Registration at High Court - it should be only RM45.00
Land search - it should be RM90.00
Miscellaneous - should be RM50.00 only.

Cheers!
august

PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2006 7:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Noor173 & Sonata,

Thanks for your reply. I have called the lawyer & manage to reduce the Loan agreement to RM3800 & SAP agreement to RM6900. So, total need to pay = RM10,700. Very Happy
sonata

PostPosted: Tue Apr 04, 2006 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

at least u managed to reduce it

my one cannot even reduce...
pocalypse

PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2006 7:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

august wrote:
Hi Noor173 & Sonata,

Thanks for your reply. I have called the lawyer & manage to reduce the Loan agreement to RM3800 & SAP agreement to RM6900. So, total need to pay = RM10,700. Very Happy

waaa from 13k to 10k, that's lots of savings... how you talk the lawyers into giving so much discount Laughing
august

PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2006 8:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

talk to the lawyer directly instead of talk to their assistant. i think some lawyer can give discount on their legal fees. Before ask for discount, just do some research first, because some the lawyer may overcharge. If you know the "market rate", ask them to explain why overcharge. Wink
nj922

PostPosted: Sat Apr 15, 2006 11:21 pm    Post subject: Re: Need advise here..why the legal fees so expensive!! Reply with quote

august wrote:

I have just received the quotation for Loan agreement & SAP agreement from the same lawyer. I really "terkejut" with the amount. It is so expensive!! This is my first time buying house, so really need advise from those with experience, especially Noor713.

Property details:
Condo with master title located at PJ - Completed property. Buying from owner.
Purchase price: RM280K
Loan amount: RM252K

Legal fee: RM3022.11
Stamping: RM1450
Registration at High count: RM100

Disbursement:
Statutory search: RM30
Affirmation: RM20
Purchase of document: RM100

Others:
Miscellaneous –RM100
Transportation – RM150

Total amount: RM5102.11

Quotation for S&P Agreement
Legal fees: RM3150.70
Stamping: RM4680

Disbursement:
Affirmation: RM50

Others:
Miscellaneous –RM150
Transportation – RM150

Total amount: RM8310.70

So,the total amount I need to pay for S&P agreement and Loan agreement are RM13,412.81. Please advise. Thanks a lot

Shocked

Dear Noor713,

I would like to get your advice regarding on the legal fees for loan. From the thread written by August, the legal fees is so expensive. appreciate if you can let me know the calculation for each breakdown, such as

Legal fee:
Stamping:
Registration at High count:

Disbursement:
Land search:
Statutory search:
Q.A Search:
Affirmation:
Purchase of document:

Please add on the details if i miss out any. For your info, I'm planning to get RM200k loan.
mainsna

PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 1:15 pm    Post subject: Re: Need advise here..why the legal fees so ex Reply with quote

I am a newbie Very Happy in this forum.

FYI, I've been preparing legal firm's bill of costs since three years ago. I think I can shed some light into this matter since it was raised by one of the forummers.

Starting from 1st January, 2006, there is a slight increase on legal fees under the amended Solicitors' Remuneration Order 2005. As such, u cannot compare bills prepared by lawyers between last year and this year. Lawyers are entitled to charge legal fee as professional fee and the rest is disbursement to Inland Revenue, Land Office and etc.

For a property value RM280,000 under a sale and purchase, the new scale, for the legal fee is RM2,410. However, if there is a need for lawyer to prepare RPGT form on behalf of client, client will also be charged additional RM200 for buyer or RM300 for seller, where applicable.

Sorry if I may say that I cannot comprehend how the lawyer in August's case, can charge her legal fee amounting to RM3,150.70 which I find it a bit off the chart. Mad

Under the loan documentation, the same scale apply but for each extra loan document there will be a charge of 10% from the scale or minium RM200.

One more thing, for every land search made at any selangor or kl land office is only RM30 only for every title, there is no RM100 la unless they are being made couple of times, which I believe the frequency necessary is only two for normal case. Confused

Anyway, feel free to comment my reply.

Thank you.

Mainsna

PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 1:24 pm    Post subject: Re: Need advise here..why the legal fees so ex Reply with quote

mainsna wrote:

I am a newbie Very Happy in this forum.

FYI, I've been preparing legal firm's bill of costs since three years ago. I think I can shed some light into this matter since it was raised by one of the forummers.

Starting from 1st January, 2006, there is a slight increase on legal fees under the amended Solicitors' Remuneration Order 2005. As such, u cannot compare bills prepared by lawyers between last year and this year. Lawyers are entitled to charge legal fee as professional fee and the rest is disbursement to Inland Revenue, Land Office and etc.

For a property value RM280,000 under a sale and purchase, the new scale, for the legal fee is RM2,410. However, if there is a need for lawyer to prepare RPGT form on behalf of client, client will also be charged additional RM200 for buyer or RM300 for seller, where applicable.

Sorry if I may say that I cannot comprehend how the lawyer in August's case, can charge her legal fee amounting to RM3,150.70 which I find it a bit off the chart. Mad

Under the loan documentation, the same scale apply but for each extra loan document there will be a charge of 10% from the scale or minium RM200.

One more thing, for every land search made at any selangor or kl land office is only RM30 only for every title, there is no RM100 la unless they are being made couple of times, which I believe the frequency necessary is only two for normal case. Confused

Anyway, feel free to comment my reply.

Thank you.

Mainsna

my legal fees (with stamp duties) is more than 15k .. that 1 a bit off the charts .. a few k.. quite normal lah..
Noor713

PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

They can try to rip you off from disbursements (except stamp duties) but they cant on your legal fees.

Anyway, it also depends on your purchase price.

Cheers!

PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 5:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Noor713 wrote:
They can try to rip you off from disbursements (except stamp duties) but they cant on your legal fees.

Anyway, it also depends on your purchase price.

Cheers!

*whimper whimper*
s3ng

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 1:22 am    Post subject: help Reply with quote

Master Noor713,
I need your help. can you shed some light on this?

i want to purchase a house. I wondering how much i need to paid my legal fees

Property details:
Double storey with individual title (i not sure) located at Puchong - Completed property. Buying from owner.
Purchase price: RM160K
Loan amount: RM144K

below...my own calculation (might be wrong)

*Valuation fees: i assume RM300
*Legal fees: RM1,300 (1% for first RM100,000/-, 5% for subsequent amount - am i rite?)
*Stamp Duty: RM800/- (0.5% of loan amount - am i rite?)
*Disbursement: arounnd RM1,000/- (Title & bankruptcy search, discharge, private caveat, etc.)

Total: 3400 (so i need to prepare around RM 3400 for my legal fees - Loan agreement ?)

Most of the times, S & P Agreement is borne by seller/buyer?
if bourne by buyer, that mean i need to prepare another RM 3400 for my legal fees rite?

so total will be RM 6800???
correct me if i wrong......

Sad
Noor713

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 12:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi s3ng!

I need to know if there is an individual title available for this property. It makes quite a difference in fees & disbursements without a title.

Cheers!
mainsna

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 1:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dear s3ng,

Just to my 2 cents comment.

Your assumption on the legal fee scale is incorrect. Now, the first 150k is 1%, the next 850k is 0.7% and so on, therefore, your legal fee for a property value of 160k is RM1,070 not inclusive others ie. RPGT etc.

As for stamp duty relating to purchase, the scale is not the same like the loan stamp duty scale. The first 100k is 1% and so on. I assume your stamp duty for purchase is RM2,200.

As for disbursement, there is huge difference between whether there is title or no title?

Ok. i think that is enought for now.

Thank you.

Mainsna.
Noor713

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 2:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Of course there is a difference in legal fees & disbursements with or without title.

With title, you need to lodge a private caveat - additional fees & disbursements!

For the loan, if there is an existing loan, need another Private Caveat to redeem the property.

Yes..it does make a difference, mate!

Cheers!

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 3:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Noor713 wrote:
Of course there is a difference in legal fees & disbursements with or without title.

With title, you need to lodge a private caveat - additional fees & disbursements!

For the loan, if there is an existing loan, need another Private Caveat to redeem the property.

Yes..it does make a difference, mate!

Cheers!

getting a lot of free legal lessons these days Very Happy
s3ng

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 3:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Noor713 wrote:
Hi s3ng!

I need to know if there is an individual title available for this property. It makes quite a difference in fees & disbursements without a title.

Cheers!

Hi Noor,
the house is with individual title.
mainsna

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 3:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The lodgment of private caveat in today's legal practise, I believe depend on circumstances of each case Rolling Eyes ,

For cash purchaser - yes, the purchaser's lawyer will lodge a private caveat to protect the purchaser

For property with outstanding loan on the part of the seller - yes, to enable for the release of the redemption sum (initial loan disbursement) to the seller's bank to complete the redemption process

The rest of the case, in theory the lawyer will recommend entering private caveat to protect buyer's interest, but practically, I think it is just a waste of money and the client end up paying higher legal fee.. Crying or Very sad

Just my 2 cents opinion Laughing .

Mainsna
Noor713

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 3:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Extra fees & disbursements maybe, but I'd rather have my client's rights and interest protected. Thats what we're for, right??

Cheers!
Noor713

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 3:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi mainsna!

One more thing - u mean u only lodge a private caveat for the purchaser if he is a CASH purchaser?? What about those who are taking loans? No caveats? Oh dear...... Sad ..thats not a good procedure AT ALL.

Cheers!
Noor713

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 4:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi s3ng!

You are the buyer, purchase price is RM160K, with individual title, subsale.

Legal fees:

S&P RM1,920.00
MOT 192.00
Entry of Private Caveat 250.00
Withdrawal of Caveat 200.00
CKHT 2 200.00
Service Tax: 5% 138.10

Stamp Duty on Transfer 2,200.00
Disbursements 1,000.00

Total : RM6,100.10

Cheers!
s3ng

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 7:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thanks heaps!

noor713, u r a star!

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 8:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

s3ng wrote:
thanks heaps!

noor713, u r a star!

just buy her a kopi o kau. Arrow Idea
s3ng

PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2006 4:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

mercuri wrote:
s3ng wrote:
thanks heaps!

noor713, u r a star!

just buy her a kopi o kau. Arrow Idea

starbucks also can Cool
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Malaysia Real Estate Forum Index -> S & P and Legal Issues All times are GMT + 8 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next
Page 1 of 6