MRTA, term life, life insurance
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Malaysia Real Estate Forum Index -> Insurance
xen

PostPosted: Fri Jun 30, 2006 4:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

trojan wrote:
zen,

Is it possible to negotiate with ING to allow starting installment during construction period?
FYI, AIA has this option.

Thanks!

The payment of the loan installment commences the month following full drawdown. After full drawdown, you can pay extra, go for full settlement or sell. Like USSRanger said, just don't refinance from another finance institution within the first 5 years from the first drawdown.
trojan

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 12:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

aiyoh... xen & ussranger, u r giving me completely contradicting message...

I reword my question:

I want so service my loan installment commences the month immediately after FIRST DRAWDOWN. Can or cannnot?

tengster

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 8:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

trojan: some bank can and some bank simply disallow.....I will alwiz bargain for this flexibility
USSRanger

PostPosted: Fri Jul 07, 2006 9:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

trojan wrote:
aiyoh... xen & ussranger, u r giving me completely contradicting message...

I reword my question:

I want so service my loan installment commences the month immediately after FIRST DRAWDOWN. Can or cannnot?

good day Trojan,

definately can lor...what so contrdicting?
btw, i seen u have been asking alot...but...i wonder....have u really applied any loan or have you bought any property recently?
if yes, i think u have our support and go for your loan application.
if not, what else u wanna to know?!

cheers
trojan

PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 12:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

So what do you mean by "The payment of the loan installment commences the month following full drawdown"?

I m planning to purchase a house... now calculating my budget and looking for better loan package...

Thanks, anyway!
tengster

PostPosted: Sat Jul 08, 2006 1:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

"The payment of the loan installment commences the month following full drawdown"?

I think the above means that you can only start paying your loan instalment after developer had claimed 100% payment from you (downpayment) and bank (margin of finance).

Yeah...I think some banks practice the above....
xen

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 10:13 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

trojan wrote:
So what do you mean by "The payment of the loan installment commences the month following full drawdown"?

I m planning to purchase a house... now calculating my budget and looking for better loan package...

Thanks, anyway!

This might be changed in the future but as of now, you can only start paying your loan instalment after the developer had claimed 100% loan amount from ING. However the 5-year period starts from the FIRST drawdown. Normally you need only worry these things if you buy under construction property.

For loan package, it really depends on what you want. Are you looking to save on total accumulative interests or others factors?
fiscalwise

PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 2:19 pm    Post subject: Easy Way To Getting best Loan Deals Reply with quote

An easy way to look at every home loan deal available in the market is to go to ..fiscal-wise.com.my

Its an independant mortgage site that allows you to search, compare and apply to a number of banks at the same time.

Call Centre is 1800188805

Hope this helps
fiscalwise

PostPosted: Thu Jul 13, 2006 2:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ooops. the site is: ..fiscal-wise.com.my
trojan

PostPosted: Wed Aug 30, 2006 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was trying to estimate mrta quotation from your website => Insurance Quotation.
I think it doesn't work. Hope you can check on it.

BTW, what do coverage ratio, mrta-a, mrta-b and mrta-c in the tool mean?
How to fill up these information?

cw17

PostPosted: Tue Sep 19, 2006 7:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If every other thing constant, i wonder how much cheaper is MRTA compared to MLTA? say, 30yrs loan and paying one lump sum.

was told the diff is not much (percentage wise lah, coz the higher the loan amt, the absolute diff definitely bigger) anyone has any idea?
mda

PostPosted: Wed Oct 18, 2006 3:21 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi ,

I took a bank loan of RM280k. I am taking a term life insurance . Shall it cover the RM280k or RM280k + bank interest for 30years?

Need answer urgently...thx.
tengster

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2006 1:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mda wrote:
Hi ,

I took a bank loan of RM280k. I am taking a term life insurance . Shall it cover the RM280k or RM280k + bank interest for 30years?

Need answer urgently...thx.

mda: my view is the sum assured for term life should be the loan amount in order to protect the property interest...indirectly your loved one as well....

no need to consider interest......

..setiaalam.net/
mda

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2006 3:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

thx tengster

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2006 10:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

don't think i have mentioned it in this forum, but if you have the chance, you should buy your term life in other countries.. SG's term life is much better value (cheaper and better coverage) than MY's term life..

after checking the rates, i've cancelled nearly all my insurance in Msia and parked it over in SG.
edwinlee

PostPosted: Sun Oct 22, 2006 10:33 pm    Post subject: what is MLTA or MRTA or other... what is different..? Reply with quote

what is MLTA or MRTA or other... what is different..? Crying or Very sad

PostPosted: Tue Oct 24, 2006 3:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

MLTA = mortgage level term assurance.. MRTA = reducing

with hindsight, both are a waste of time.. there are better products out there..
mda

PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 8:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

banzai,

do you recommend term insurance or the savings type of ins?

agents seem to be very keen to recommend the latter...
tengster

PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mda wrote:
banzai,

do you recommend term insurance or the savings type of ins?

agents seem to be very keen to recommend the latter...

I am a calculated risk taker...I dont buy MRTA/MLTA for my props.

..setiaalam.net/

PostPosted: Thu Oct 26, 2006 10:45 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I agree with tengster's approach but not for the same reasons.

if you would like to play it safe, you can buy an equivalent of the MRTA which is generally known as the reducing term assurance. This way, it is not tagged to your mortgage at all. MLTA is just plain silly.

With hindsight, i will buy insurance separate from my investments. And unlike some people who are very pro-whole life or very pro-term life, i advocate a balanced approach, i.e. you have a bit of everything.

I will stay away from savings (endowment) type of insurance. Premiums are high for the wrong reasons.
trojan

PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Is Nonparticipating Life or Participating Life premium categorized as insurance and can be declared as relief in Income Tax ?

Homelink

PostPosted: Thu Dec 07, 2006 4:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

trojan wrote:
Is Nonparticipating Life or Participating Life premium categorized as insurance and can be declared as relief in Income Tax ?

Yupe, entitle for tax relief deduction. Very Happy
fattyboy1

PostPosted: Tue Dec 19, 2006 5:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I took 250K loan but the bank says MRTA is not compulsory...

what if I take this instead of MRTA:
.://..publicmutual.com.my/page.aspx?name=insurance-Mutual-Life-Plus

I have survey whole-life policy around from AIA, Great Eastern agents but whenever I enquire about term they always recommend whole-life. But to me whole-life is expensive but they always say whole-life got money back?

Coming back to CI, if i buy a whole-life, I have to attach it with a CI rider......

Also, I have about 90K existing coverage for CI as I bought it when I was younger). Now I am confused whether i shud buy whole-life again plus CI rider because it's getting more expensive....
mda

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 9:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

fattyboy,

the insurance agent gets a better commission by selling the whole life ins. compared to term life. Normally from my experience they are not bothered about your budget, only their sales target. Even though they are your so-called friends.

They will always use this magic word: ...at least you will get back something at the end of the policy...if you buy whole life.

what is the purpose of Insurance? Protection. That's it. Term ins. is cheaper but you get a bigger coverage. At the end of the day go for what you can afford, that's it, what you can afford! Don't let these fellas hoodwink you with all their fancy talk of returns, waiver etc.

The in thing now is their investment linked insurance...I feel if you want to invest, it is better for you to look elsewhere like properties. if you are not investment savvy then maybe you could consider theirs as an option.
trojan

PostPosted: Wed Dec 20, 2006 11:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

If buy non-participating/participating for housing loan, is medical examination required?
If yes, ING/AIA will absord the cost?

Thanks!
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Malaysia Real Estate Forum Index -> Insurance All times are GMT + 8 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Page 4 of 5