How much do I have to pay (Legal, processing, stamp duty...)
Goto page Previous  1, 2

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Malaysia Real Estate Forum Index -> S & P and Legal Issues
wildquest

PostPosted: Sun Jun 10, 2007 1:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cynthusc wrote:

Actually, the amount charged is pretty reasonable. Unfortunately most people mistakenly believe that lawyers have control over stamp duty. Stamp Duty is a form of tax. This amount is paid to the government and not to the lawyer. If you would like to pay it when the notice of assessment comes out you may do so at a later stage.

Regards

Hi cynthusc!

Thanks for the reply. It was explained to me pretty much the same way when I spoke to a couple of other lawyers as well. Finally decided to work with one whom I felt most comfortable with! Now getting the S&P drafted out and figuring my next steps... Smile
vodka

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 11:01 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I am also getting ready to buy a condo (Freehold) at 280k, 2nd hand unit.

Can someone let me know how much extra do i need to prepare for all the fees? (Legal fees, MOT...etc)?
cynthusc

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 6:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vodka wrote:

Can someone let me know how much extra do i need to prepare for all the fees? (Legal fees, MOT...etc)?

Hi Vodka,

Legal Fees (assuming without strata title)
S&P and DOA - RMRM2410.00
5% tax - RM120.50

Disbursments
Stamping of S&P - RM40.00
Stamping of DOA - RM30.00
Adjudication of DOA - RM10.00
Land Search - RM30 per title
Other charges - RM100

Total Legal Fees : RM2740.50

Stamp Duty - RM4,600.00
vodka

PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 6:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks!

What if the prop already has strata title? ANy difference?
fzAy

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 4:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

How much I have to pay for loan amount of RM 114,000.00 (Completed Condo). Rolling Eyes
vodka

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 1:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi cynthusc,

Thanks. Could you provide me your email add for me to correspond with you on the details of the quote?

cynthusc

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 2:37 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

vodka wrote:
Hi cynthusc,

Thanks. Could you provide me your email add for me to correspond with you on the details of the quote?

cynthusc@yahoo.com
walksay

PostPosted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 12:30 pm    Post subject: buy 90% completed apartment Reply with quote

hi to all SIFUs....

i plan to buy a serviced apartment from developer. almost 90% completed. freehold and no strata title yet. S&P price 148K. planning to take 100% gov. loan

question is:
1) is this properties protect under HDA?
2) still need to pay Deed of Assignment?
3) how long normally we can extent progressive payment for 1st disbursement for this case?
4) what thing should i taking care for this kind of purchase? fees, warranty, maintenance and etc.

thank you sifu 4 your time.
hannie

PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 9:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

vodka wrote:

Yea, would like to know abt that...anyone could assist?

Also, if I'm buying a condo with tenant through bank loan, does it mean I've gotta pay for 3 different agreements:

1) Loan Facility Agreement (some banks pay for the legal fees)
2) Sale and Purchase Agreement
3) Tenancy Agreement

Or is there a possibility of combining 2 & 3 in one documentation to save on stamp duty / misc charges??
cynthusc

PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2007 2:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hannie wrote:
vodka wrote:

Yea, would like to know abt that...anyone could assist?

Also, if I'm buying a condo with tenant through bank loan, does it mean I've gotta pay for 3 different agreements:

1) Loan Facility Agreement (some banks pay for the legal fees)
2) Sale and Purchase Agreement
3) Tenancy Agreement

Or is there a possibility of combining 2 & 3 in one documentation to save on stamp duty / misc charges??

2&3 you may combine. The difference in strata title and without is in the disbursements. Depending on the price of the Property, you may pay more for the registration of the transfer for property with strata title. However we are talking about RM100-RM200 difference and not in the thousands. You may want to enter a private caveat for properties with title and if so, there is an additional RM620 - this however is optional.

Regards
hannie

PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

cynthusc wrote:

The difference in strata title and without is in the disbursements. Depending on the price of the Property, you may pay more for the registration of the transfer for property with strata title. However we are talking about RM100-RM200 difference and not in the thousands. You may want to enter a private caveat for properties with title and if so, there is an additional RM620 - this however is optional.

Regards

Does it mean it costs more to buy a property with strata title?

What's "private caveat for properties with title", ie. what's the value/benefit in it?

Sorry if i asked a too simple question - truly a baby in this highly-professional industry of properties Wink
dchai74

PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2007 11:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

cynthusc wrote:
vodka wrote:

Hi Vodka,

Legal Fees (assuming without strata title)
S&P and DOA - RMRM2410.00
5% tax - RM120.50

Disbursments
Stamping of S&P - RM40.00
Stamping of DOA - RM30.00
Adjudication of DOA - RM10.00
Land Search - RM30 per title
Other charges - RM100

Total Legal Fees : RM2740.50

Stamp Duty - RM4,600.00

hi cynthusc,
I am thinking of purchasing a 2nd hand lease hold condo price around 120K. The lease hold of this condo is around 71 out of 99 years and I believed all title should have been awarded (Since people has been moving in for the past 6 years).
Based on the info you provided, can I safely said the legal fees should be around 55% cheaper then the quoted above? The above mentioned fees will be pay by me, and owner will not be charge with the fee?

Thanks in advance in helping me, a total newbie in property. Thanks
ongyinhoe

PostPosted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 1:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dear all,

I have lend a loan of RM124710 for my condo. May i know how much is the fee for loan agreement?

Ong Yin Hoe
World IR

PostPosted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 5:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

not sure whether to include TOTAL interest for the loan as well

..worldofintegratedresorts.blogspot.com/
borland

PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2007 3:20 pm    Post subject: Buying second hand house Reply with quote

Hi, I'm new here. Hope every body could share you knowledge/expertise. Appreciate that.

I have paid the booking/earnest deposit for a second hand 2 storey terrace house.
Below are the detail;

1. Price RM 330
2. 3 years old house
3. Lease Hold
4. Status: Title received but the owner not yet change to his name
5. The S&P is ready for signature and lawyer is already asking for the remaining 8% (I pay 2% already for booking)

My questions;

1. I plan to get full loan by mark-up the price. How can I mark-up the price since S&P is alrady complete? Or do I have to check with bank first and then get S&P prepare & sign?
2. How long it takes to change the properties name from developer to me?
3. Can I do renovation before the property change to my name?
4. How much extra cost I have to pay on top of 10% d/p?
5. What will happen if existing Owner delay in chnaging the property nmae while he already received the 10 % money?
6. Please advice if I should / should not buy this house.

Thanks in advance.

Best Regards
scteng

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 8:17 pm    Post subject: Re: Buying second hand house Reply with quote

borland wrote:
Hi, I'm new here. Hope every body could share you knowledge/expertise. Appreciate that.

I have paid the booking/earnest deposit for a second hand 2 storey terrace house.
Below are the detail;

1. Price RM 330
2. 3 years old house
3. Lease Hold
5. The S&P is ready for signature and lawyer is already asking for the remaining 8% (I pay 2% already for booking)

My questions;

1. I plan to get full loan by mark-up the price. How can I mark-up the price since S&P is alrady complete? Or do I have to check with bank first and then get S&P prepare & sign?
5. What will happen if existing Owner delay in chnaging the property nmae while he already received the 10 % money?

Thanks in advance.

Best Regards

Hi, I have the same question as borland, can anyone help to advise?
scteng

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 8:19 pm    Post subject: Re: Buying second hand house Reply with quote

borland wrote:

Below are the detail;

1. Price RM 330
2. 3 years old house
3. Lease Hold

My questions;

Thanks in advance.

Best Regards

Hi, I have the same question as borland, can anyone help to advise?
scteng

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2008 8:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi I have the same question as Borland, can anyone advise?
cynthusc

PostPosted: Thu Feb 14, 2008 9:04 am    Post subject: Re: Buying second hand house Reply with quote

borland wrote:

Below are the detail;

1. Price RM 330
2. 3 years old house
3. Lease Hold

My questions;

1. I plan to get full loan by mark-up the price. How can I mark-up the price since S&P is alrady complete? You can't unless the vendor agrees
Or do I have to check with bank first and then get S&P prepare & sign? if you check with the bank they will say no as this is illegal - you are trying to 'cheat' the bank so why ask them?
2. How long it takes to change the properties name from developer to me? Leasehold property must be transferred to the seller first then you. It will probably take 1-2 years
3. Can I do renovation before the property change to my name? You can but it is at your own risk4. How much extra cost I have to pay on top of 10% d/p? Legal cost, stamp duty for both transfer and loan
5. What will happen if existing Owner delay in chnaging the property nmae while he already received the 10 % money? your lawyer should have dealt with this in the S&P. If not it is too late to consider this issue now
6. Please advice if I should / should not buy this house. This is your decision

Thanks in advance.

Best Regards
EA_pg

PostPosted: Sat Apr 19, 2008 1:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have just received the quotation for Loan agreement & Transfer bill from the same lawyer for the SnP. This is my first time buying house, so really need advise from those with experience, especially Noor713, cynthusc, or anyone

Property details:
Landed Double Storey with individual title at Penang - under construction property. Buying from developer. SnP only RM500 (rest bore by developer).
Purchase price: RM398,000.00
Loan amount: RM359,649.00 (including MRTA, taking loan with my wife)

SnP agreement: RM500

Quotation for Loan agreement
Fees
-> Facility Agreement: RM2967.55 (less 30%)
-> Charge: RM296.75
-> Caveat and withdrawal of caveat: RM350

Disbursement:
Stamp Duty on
-> facility agreement: RM1830
-> charge: Rm40
-> Letter of Offer: RM10
Registration Fee
-> Charge: RM 130
-> Caveat: RM 180
-> Withdrawal of caveat: RM 150
Search fee: RM100
Bankruptcy search: RM24
Statutory Declaration: RM50
Bank Forms: RM150
Printing charges: RM30
Miscellaneous: RM50
5% service charge: RM136.20

Total amount: RM5604.20

Quotation for Transfer
Fees
->Transfer: RM809

Disbursement:
Stamp duty on transfer: RM6960
Registration fee on transfer: RM500
Search fee: RM60
Adjudication fee: RM10
Travelling: RM20
Printing Charges: RM30
Miscellaneous: RM50
5% Service tax: RM40.45

Total amount: RM8479.45

So,the total amount I need to pay for S&P agreement and Loan agreement are RM14,583.65. Please kindly advise. Thanks a lot.
freedom81

PostPosted: Sun Apr 20, 2008 1:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found a web calculator for legal fees, S&P, stamp duty and etc, well, not kinda sure how accurate it would be but wouldnt be too bad I suppose when i compare the fees rates from other sources.

..thestarpropertyloan.Mr./financialtool/EntryCostCalculator.aspx[/url]
afshinrah1

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 6:32 pm    Post subject: rent income tax Reply with quote

Could you please tell me what is rule of rent income tax in malaysia
I'm non resident , and what to buy property in KL, My question is
if rental monthly income is 3000RM (3000x12) how much tax apply to that income.
thanks
afshin
expired

PostPosted: Sat Jun 28, 2008 11:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

My fren is selling his apartment leasehold and without tittle yet, sharing lawyer with buyer's S&P lawyer , so he only paying some fees for deed of receipt and resssignment , below are the breakdown :

1. Stamping on Statutory Declaration = 10
2. Stamping on Deed of receipt and reassignment = 50
3. Filing of deed of receipt and reassignment at high court = 20
4. OA search = 12
5. Affirmation fee = 4
6. Expenses on travelling, dispatch, etc = 130
7. Expenses on photocopy, postage, communication, etc = 120
8. Fee for preparing and filing the deed of receipt and reassgnment = 400
9. Government service tax (5%) =20

TOTAL = 766.00

may i ask, they are sharing the same lawyer, but can the lawyer charge both side for photocopy ?

Can part 8. request for discount ?

wat is the deed of receipt and reassignment?
azr

PostPosted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 11:18 am    Post subject: ZMC Reply with quote

Confession: I am very new here

Questions:

1. When a bank says that they offer Zero Moving Cost, is that really zero? Will they also cover the disbursement, the S&P and whatnot?

2. When they are paying all the charges, will they actually overcharge?
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Malaysia Real Estate Forum Index -> S & P and Legal Issues All times are GMT + 8 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2