Cannot Tahan
Posted: Tue Feb 09, 2010 9:22 am Post subject: |
| kohts wrote: | | sichang88 wrote: | My mum live in DJ, those days in 80s, 90s, security was ok, not so much of crime. Back in the last 5-8 years. Many crime happened included my mum just outside at the gate of the house, she was snatched by motor-biker, bad and gold chain, luckily she was only little injured. She is almost 80 now. We live in Malaysia and security still no good. If anyone can afford certainly G&G is the way to go. See now DJ have form a strong residential community to hire guards to check, security is getting better now. It is not we want G&G but we want security.
Last year, a BU resident was kidnapped by India guy, 1 mil ransom. Scary if no live in G&G |
Howbout those who cant afford like me? Guess u will say its dog eats dog world.
Howbout turning Malaysia into warzone with a lot of check points?
Kiasi, Kiasu. |
Aiyo, your choice mah, if want more "G&G" sense but cannot afford, move to condo loh;
If so adamant to live in a landed but cannot afford or dont like G&G, keep it that way lah; why complain and spill all the sourness...
Aiiii, work hard and work smart lah, be it kiasu or kiasi so what oh, take it positively as these are elementary factor that motivate an individual for betterment. |
sichang88
Posted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 5:56 am Post subject: |
| kohts wrote: | | sichang88 wrote: | My mum live in DJ, those days in 80s, 90s, security was ok, not so much of crime. Back in the last 5-8 years. Many crime happened included my mum just outside at the gate of the house, she was snatched by motor-biker, bad and gold chain, luckily she was only little injured. She is almost 80 now. We live in Malaysia and security still no good. If anyone can afford certainly G&G is the way to go. See now DJ have form a strong residential community to hire guards to check, security is getting better now. It is not we want G&G but we want security.
Last year, a BU resident was kidnapped by India guy, 1 mil ransom. Scary if no live in G&G |
Kiasi, Kiasu. |
What I can say is your money more important than your life...We must have precaution measure not wait for unfortunate thing to happen.
Security can be measured in many way, such as live in an apartment with good security.
I also said, "if u can afford, G&G is preferable".
One more point, if u cannot afford now, work harder and get more money...ok.. Seems like u jealous people live in G&G. _________________ simon.
Be smart, invest wisely for your future.... |
Posted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 10:47 am Post subject: |
| sichang88 wrote: | | kohts wrote: | | sichang88 wrote: | My mum live in DJ, those days in 80s, 90s, security was ok, not so much of crime. Back in the last 5-8 years. Many crime happened included my mum just outside at the gate of the house, she was snatched by motor-biker, bad and gold chain, luckily she was only little injured. She is almost 80 now. We live in Malaysia and security still no good. If anyone can afford certainly G&G is the way to go. See now DJ have form a strong residential community to hire guards to check, security is getting better now. It is not we want G&G but we want security.
Kiasi, Kiasu. |
What I can say is your money more important than your life...We must have precaution measure not wait for unfortunate thing to happen.
Security can be measured in many way, such as live in an apartment with good security.
I also said, "if u can afford, G&G is preferable".
One more point, if u cannot afford now, work harder and get more money...ok.. Seems like u jealous people live in G&G. | I am of the view that G&G is a rip off, and have built a few of those projects , however for myself I live in an ordinary landed dsl, own a few strata property for yield, and prefer to ride my bike when in town, and enjoy my freedom overseas. To each his own, your opinion is "if u can afford, G&G is preferable", my opinion is "G&G is a rip-off, even if I can afford it".
Or maybe I am the type of person G&G residents' mothers warned them about, so they are trying to keep me out.
What can I say except that I'm too egalitarian for G&G.
I also think G&G, despite perceptions to the otherwise are still a big security and safety risk, but am not going to say how, coz. the more ppl buy G&G, the better for me.
We are all right in our own ways. _________________ Kind regards, ysmn |

Posted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 12:55 pm Post subject: |
Yes personally, i would prefer projects like BK6B or 8 where the residents have appointed their own security services or even obtained approval to fence up the perimeter (as in BK6B), than true G+Gs where a hefty maintenance is charged.
But depends on what turns u on, some like the exclusivity that's perceived with living in a true G+G with better landscaping & club facilities. An on security risks, it's true that most would let their guards down in various degrees, having relieved themselves of the burden of looking after their own safety, a problem further compounded with the lack of grilles & other failsafes. And when something happens, most would ask, "why pay so much if i've to worry about security or live behind grilles!". Most would agree that breakins within a G+G are inside jobs or aided by insiders as they know your ins & outs.
I too live in a normal dsl but am considering my options in BK6B & 8 now as the best compromise between a true G+G & enjoying the same benefits albeit without paying hefty charges for landscaping, facilities and its maintenance in a strata development. Best of both worlds & i still maintain the solidarity of an individually titled prop!! _________________ Buy land, they're not making it anymore.
Mark Twain |

Posted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 1:07 pm Post subject: |
| ysmn wrote: | I am of the view that G&G is a rip off, and have built a few of those projects , however for myself I live in an ordinary landed dsl, own a few strata property for yield, and prefer to ride my bike when in town, and enjoy my freedom overseas.
Oh no! Why do our directions seem to be taking such a similar route.  _________________ Buy land, they're not making it anymore.
Mark Twain |
value_investor
Posted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 1:23 pm Post subject: |
| Seriously nowadays every single residential KL/PJ is erecting their own gated and guarded barrier, what the hell? Why are they even allowed to to that? They are blocking access roads that were previously public! |
callme
Posted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 1:32 pm Post subject: |
hello long time no c
having experienced few break-in cases before (myself and neighbors), i strongly feel GOOD security is important especially when u have women staying at home. besides what u are thinking now, they NAG u to come back early. i feel that if my family does not feel secure living in an area, then there is no point living there anymore. btw i HATE house with grills especially when i realize i need to pay installment every month to stay in a jail-like-house.
as for me, i prefer to invest shoplots and highend landed, and use the surplus to fund my expensive G+G security fees (which i do not own 1 now). at least, everyone in the GG area is equally secure/insecure as none of them install grills. |

Posted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 1:35 pm Post subject: |
| value_investor wrote: | | Seriously nowadays every single residential KL/PJ is erecting their own gated and guarded barrier, what the hell? Why are they even allowed to to that? They are blocking access roads that were previously public! |
Sign of our desperate times dude! Ppl are afraid. To some extent i don't blame them, ask anyone who's had an experience with breakins or snatch thefts & God Forbid, had been injured or had some loved ones fatally hurt, and they'll tell u if they could've done anything at all to prevent it from happening, they would, at any cost! And until some other solutions are forthcoming from the powers that be, i'm afraid it's going to be the norm. _________________ Buy land, they're not making it anymore.
Mark Twain |

Posted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 1:39 pm Post subject: |
| callme wrote: | hello long time no c
having experienced few break-in cases before (myself and neighbors), i strongly feel GOOD security is important especially when u have women staying at home. besides what u are thinking now, they NAG u to come back early. i feel that if my family does not feel secure living in an area, then there is no point living there anymore. btw i HATE house with grills especially when i realize i need to pay installment every month to stay in a jail-like-house.
as for me, i prefer to invest shoplots and highend landed, and use the surplus to fund my expensive G+G security fees (which i do not own 1 now). at least, everyone in the GG area is equally secure/insecure as none of them install grills. |
hehehe this is the best one i've heard all day! So the robbers just got to go "eenie meenie minie mo" on who to pick!! Btw where was it u experienced some breakins? _________________ Buy land, they're not making it anymore.
Mark Twain
Last edited by Daryl Teo on Wed Feb 10, 2010 1:41 pm; edited 1 time in total |
value_investor
Posted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 1:41 pm Post subject: |
| Quote: | | Sign of our desperate times dude! Ppl are afraid. To some extent i don't blame them, ask anyone who's had an experience with breakins or snatch thefts & God Forbid, had been injured or had some loved ones fatally hurt, and they'll tell u if they could've done anything at all to prevent it from happening, they would, at any cost! And until some other solutions are forthcoming from the powers that be, i'm afraid it's going to be the norm. |
Funny, one of my friends live in one of those self-erected G&G residential. What he told me is "It is good for property price appreciation, see now we're G&G!". Security seems to be the least he is concerned of! |

Posted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 1:47 pm Post subject: |
| value_investor wrote: | | Quote: | | Sign of our desperate times dude! Ppl are afraid. To some extent i don't blame them, ask anyone who's had an experience with breakins or snatch thefts & God Forbid, had been injured or had some loved ones fatally hurt, and they'll tell u if they could've done anything at all to prevent it from happening, they would, at any cost! And until some other solutions are forthcoming from the powers that be, i'm afraid it's going to be the norm. |
Funny, one of my friends live in one of those self-erected G&G residential. What he told me is "It is good for property price appreciation, see now we're G&G!". Security seems to be the least he is concerned of! |
Hahaha This thread is showing some early promise of becoming the butt of G+G jokes! But true also that G+G is not always the best security failsafe depending on who manages, but at least one obvious upside is caps!!  _________________ Buy land, they're not making it anymore.
Mark Twain |

Posted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 1:58 pm Post subject: |
So between being held at ransom at gunpoint/ parang by robbers or high maintenance charges in a G+G, which would u guys pick? Why & why not? And are there better solutions to the security issues that we face. I remember a time when my dad used to go for RT duty & that kept the neighbourhood safe. _________________ Buy land, they're not making it anymore.
Mark Twain |
callme
Posted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 2:01 pm Post subject: |
| value_investor wrote: | | Seriously nowadays every single residential KL/PJ is erecting their own gated and guarded barrier, what the hell? Why are they even allowed to to that? They are blocking access roads that were previously public! |
i can understand ur frustration as i too face similar problem when visiting friends who stay in GG area. inconvenience!
however, when u feel highly insecure due to many break-in cases, u hv no choice but to do GG in your area. ya i dun like those GG without proper planning as it was not designed for that purpose initially, but i believe the residence have no choice unless they shift house |

Posted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 2:07 pm Post subject: |
| callme wrote: | | value_investor wrote: | | Seriously nowadays every single residential KL/PJ is erecting their own gated and guarded barrier, what the hell? Why are they even allowed to to that? They are blocking access roads that were previously public! |
i can understand ur frustration as i too face similar problem when visiting friends who stay in GG area. inconvenience!
however, when u feel highly insecure due to many break-in cases, u hv no choice but to do GG in your area. ya i dun like those GG without proper planning as it was not designed for that purpose initially, but i believe the residence have no choice unless they shift house |
We've been laid siege in our own homes which have become our prisons & our neighbourhood a battlefield! _________________ Buy land, they're not making it anymore.
Mark Twain |
callme
Posted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 2:54 pm Post subject: |
| Daryl Teo wrote: |
hehehe this is the best one i've heard all day! So the robbers just got to go "eenie meenie minie mo" on who to pick!! Btw where was it u experienced some breakins? |
bandar country homes, rawang. there were only few (i think 3) houses in the entire new area and we were 1 of them, easy target. 4 indons came with parang. my family experienced the same in cheras and ampang before we shifted to rawang. i also joined RA to patrol the area but it's useless as we ONLY patrol after incidents happened, and the patrolling task will discontinue after 2 weeks.
what i want to express is, if u stay in none GG, u will definitely stay behind bars, so as all your neighbors. the robbers STILL come and pick 1 house.
if u stay GG, none of u & neighbors install grills. the robbers STILL come and pick 1 house. so u basically pay for NOT installing the grills. however, if i'm a robber, i definitely prefer none GG area to perform my show.
my PERSONAL conclusion is GG is definitely safer than none GG although it's not 100% safe |

Posted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 3:23 pm Post subject: |
| callme wrote: | | Daryl Teo wrote: |
hehehe this is the best one i've heard all day! So the robbers just got to go "eenie meenie minie mo" on who to pick!! Btw where was it u experienced some breakins? |
bandar country homes, rawang. there were only few (i think 3) houses in the entire new area and we were 1 of them, easy target. 4 indons came with parang. my family experienced the same in cheras and ampang before we shifted to rawang. i also joined RA to patrol the area but it's useless as we ONLY patrol after incidents happened, and the patrolling task will discontinue after 2 weeks.
what i want to express is, if u stay in none GG, u will definitely stay behind bars, so as all your neighbors. the robbers STILL come and pick 1 house.
if u stay GG, none of u & neighbors install grills. the robbers STILL come and pick 1 house. so u basically pay for NOT installing the grills. however, if i'm a robber, i definitely prefer none GG area to perform my show.
my PERSONAL conclusion is GG is definitely safer than none GG although it's not 100% safe |
Tough luck dude, don't blame u going for G+G after the several breakins u had, must have been quite a traumatic ordeal for the family. I've stayed in a non G+G dsl in BK for the past 8 years without any untoward incidents, thank God for that. In fact i've gone on extended hols without so much as someone checking on the house.
But now that i've sold the house, i'm contemplating moving into BK8 which although is non gated is secured with security at the entrance/ exit. Recently a superlink in the BK6B area caught my eye, which had just been fenced up to further bolster its current security, so see how goes. _________________ Buy land, they're not making it anymore.
Mark Twain |
callme
Posted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 3:44 pm Post subject: |
oh u bought BK8 GEM? i like the design but i hesitate when i realized it's not GG. i also like the BK6 superlink 34x80, and temasya 28x96. why it's not GG? i too went to Alam Impian and i like the semi-d design very much. only 900k+ for a > LA 5250sqft in SA, not GG as well, and next to a reserved land for mosque.
i like DPC but hate the traffic and feel it's too congested with many high rise condos surrounding.
wow, it's so hard to buy a house for own stay. but after all, i think sierramas, seputeh will be a good choice. need to earn more $$$ |

Posted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 6:40 pm Post subject: |
| callme wrote: | oh u bought BK8 GEM? i like the design but i hesitate when i realized it's not GG. i also like the BK6 superlink 34x80, and temasya 28x96. why it's not GG? i too went to Alam Impian and i like the semi-d design very much. only 900k+ for a > LA 5250sqft in SA, not GG as well, and next to a reserved land for mosque.
i like DPC but hate the traffic and feel it's too congested with many high rise condos surrounding.
wow, it's so hard to buy a house for own stay. but after all, i think sierramas, seputeh will be a good choice. need to earn more $$$ |
How did u know i bought GEM in BK8? The residents have appointed their own security to patrol now but i haven't started contributing as haven't moved in yet. They've already put up a boom gate at the entrance into BK8 & the other entry is blocked with barriers on rollers, said will also put boom gate there by next month. Shouldn't be too difficult for them to monitor the 2 openings into BK8 as it's a loop that meets. Will think that the residents will try to have it fenced up later like BK6B, which has just done that & also put auto boom gates manned from guard house, now BK6B is G+G without all the trimmings & is still maintained by the local council. Heard that 2 JPs & some datuks staying in BK6B, some more the I&P head honcho Ismail also stays there, so they have a very strong residents' committee.
Yes DPC's traffic can be daunting, think Seputeh's Hunza s quite a nice project. Alam Impian would be too far for me. Agree that looking for the perfect home today can be a really tough balance between budget, loc, design, size & security! _________________ Buy land, they're not making it anymore.
Mark Twain |
kohts
Posted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 9:41 pm Post subject: |
Sigh Sigh Sigh.
When all is G+G, robbers give up their job and become good men? NO!!!!
When all is non G+G, total crime rate similar ---- YES!!!!
Very similar, when everybody no grill, somebody put a grill, then everybody put grill ----- crime rate stop? NO!!!
So when everybody has Grill and advance now to G&G so next evolution is GUN?
Robbers give up their job then? No! They get bigger guns if everybody can get guns so easilly!
So in the whole scenario... who benefit? Supplier and the Robbers
Who is the damn loser, us.
U get some advantages at the start to implement a new thing .... kiasu... better than other people...... so u go rob him but dont rob me.
But question is when everybody get G+G and live in warzone, after that how u want to differentiate again???
G+G is a temporary pain killer, give u temporary relief, but u will require more pain killer when u get addicted to it.
Solution is how we manage our country and society, in helping the less fortunate people, so that they have venue to find livings and not resort to the last way of getting money - robbing people. |
Posted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 9:46 pm Post subject: |
| kohts wrote: | Sigh Sigh Sigh.
When all is G+G, robbers give up their job and become good men? NO!!!!
When all is non G+G, total crime rate similar ---- YES!!!!
Very similar, when everybody no grill, somebody put a grill, then everybody put grill ----- crime rate stop? NO!!!
So when everybody has Grill and advance now to G&G so next evolution is GUN?
Robbers give up their job then? No! They get bigger guns if everybody can get guns so easilly!
So in the whole scenario... who benefit? Supplier and the Robbers
Who is the damn loser, us.
U get some advantages at the start to implement a new thing .... kiasu... better than other people...... so u go rob him but dont rob me.
But question is when everybody get G+G and live in warzone, after that how u want to differentiate again???
G+G is a temporary pain killer, give u temporary relief, but u will require more pain killer when u get addicted to it.
Solution is how we manage our country and society, in helping the less fortunate people, so that they have venue to find livings and not resort to the last way of getting money - robbing people. | You are right, I agree 100%. _________________ Kind regards, ysmn |
kohts
Posted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 9:47 pm Post subject: |
| Daryl Teo wrote: | | callme wrote: | | Daryl Teo wrote: |
Tough luck dude, don't blame u going for G+G after the several breakins u had, must have been quite a traumatic ordeal for the family. I've stayed in a non G+G dsl in BK for the past 8 years without any untoward incidents, thank God for that. In fact i've gone on extended hols without so much as someone checking on the house.
But now that i've sold the house, i'm contemplating moving into BK8 which although is non gated is secured with security at the entrance/ exit. Recently a superlink in the BK6B area caught my eye, which had just been fenced up to further bolster its current security, so see how goes. |
I am sorry to hear that... really. But why the robbers rob non gated and guarded, of course one of the reason is availibility of gated and guarded as it allows the robber oppurtunity to chose the less fortunate ones.
We should ban G+G so that everybody share equal risk and find the real solution, but most (including the victim itself) will want to join the G+G and pass the burder to other less fortunated without solving the real problem.
Is it the way to go...??? |
kohts
Posted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 9:57 pm Post subject: |
Why I have such perspective. I live in Nigeria for 3 years. Everybody has 12 feet barb wire wall which is normal, with internal guard house, CCTV and all the security you will think necessary to protect you
Stopping the robbers with AK47 comming to you. Sorry, you are the best target.
Why, it is because the situation of the country which need a lot of improvement.
The walls, guns, guard, cctv never stop the robber. |
Posted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 9:57 pm Post subject: |
G&G is also a sneaky form of daylight robbery, where the victims happily hand over their cash. Hmm, So am I a robber? Imagine you screw ppl and they are grateful to you for it. _________________ Kind regards, ysmn |
Posted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 10:00 pm Post subject: |
| Daryl Teo wrote: | | ysmn wrote: | I am of the view that G&G is a rip off, and have built a few of those projects , however for myself I live in an ordinary landed dsl, own a few strata property for yield, and prefer to ride my bike when in town, and enjoy my freedom overseas.
Oh no! Why do our directions seem to be taking such a similar route.  | Btw, what do you think of BMW's Super-Motos? _________________ Kind regards, ysmn |
callme
Posted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 10:41 pm Post subject: |
i think we hv to be realistic la, no doubt the ultimate solution to fight crime is education and economic, but i'm quite hopeless at this moment. we need another 20 years to achieve that status, hopefully.
BMW motors? why not Harley? rough...hehe |
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum