Foreign Bank package V.S. Local Bank Package

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Malaysia Real Estate Forum Index -> Property Financing
marvinteow

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 12:30 am    Post subject: Foreign Bank package V.S. Local Bank Package Reply with quote

Just meet my friend in msn, said oledi buy the house, and looking for apply loan 90 percent, currently UOB and OCBC given the offer, both offer I already know, but some how rather, he say need to discuss with MUM (still like dependable child, shy), and in her mum eye, will only take foreign bank, coz in her mind will stated LOCAL BANK not good.

But please, it cannot direct comment like that, not all the foreign bank will be very good also, all depend how you deal with the officer as well. Besides, I am not so remember whether UOB already in member of commitee on MEPS or not, due to my friend for sure will use standing instruction to make payment, and he dont want to do any INTERBANK GIRO payment (per transaction is RM 2) as well, while OCBC should not be face any problems lar, just that they calculate their credit criteria is based on customer NET SALARY to calculate (if any mistaken, please clarify).

But in terms of to get faster loan process and approval, cheaper rates and also T&C (which is most people will not see very clearly since those words and meaning of every paragraph so TINY.) are very important, due to do not want to breach any mistakes in future.

So, for all members, inside your heart, I am sure you all dont want to be hide by those hidden issue , especially those misc charges and fees, right?

If you say all local bank not good, then how come those other local bank still can survive until now and even expand much faster?

Confused
NewKENZO

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 2:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm, for my experience, i think it is base on case to case basis.

we cant judge a bank is bad base on 1 customer, 1 case or 1 banker.

its much depends on how much your customer needs a local bank or foreign bank. banks will not change policy because of customer, so bank is win win situation.
Enchanted

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 3:48 pm    Post subject: Re: Foreign Bank package V.S. Local Bank Package Reply with quote

marvinteow wrote:
Just meet my friend in msn, said oledi buy the house, and looking for apply loan 90 percent, currently UOB and OCBC given the offer, both offer I already know, but some how rather, he say need to discuss with MUM (still like dependable child, shy), and in her mum eye, will only take foreign bank, coz in her mind will stated LOCAL BANK not good.

If you say all local bank not good, then how come those other local bank still can survive until now and even expand much faster?

:?

Hi, I would like to share my experience with you. I bought a house around May 2007 and sign the S&P around June 2007. Bcoz I was taking small amount of loan I just think that applying for bank loan should be no problem.
So I apply with Alliance Bank in USJ, Subang Jaya. I applied right after I paying 2% property booking fee. After 1 month I call the mortgage sales person and he told me bank still working on approval. He assure me no problem gurantee approve wan. 2 months pass by, now I was getting nervous, I finally got hold of him, and he told me the bank loan not approve.
See, how tricky local bank mortgage sales person are. At least if you have conscience you should tell me by first month that bank loan not approve. They just trying to hold on, so that they can your mortgage sales, without telling you the truth which I could have approach another bank. Luckily 2 things happen at this time, my seller lawyer died suddenly of cancer and my friend help talk directly to usj alliance bank manager. The Bar council appointed a new lawyer to take over the case this bought me an extra 2 months time.
So finally Alliance bank manager wrote an appeal and finally got loan approve after 3 months for date of application. See, good banks can get loan approval 1 week. 2 week if the bank not so efficient. But my loan
disimbursement only came after 4 months the loan approval.
And you know what, the diimbursement was second last day before my S&P will be void. The owner are super impatient now, told me he is going to forfeit 10% deposit . I became so nervous during the whole ordeal, I had to go see the bank 5 days before my S&P become void and had heated discussion with bank officer. Finally the check arrived at 2nd last day. 30 hrs before contract become void.
All in all I had to pay 2 months late interest for house.

Lastly, local bank expand faster, bcoz foreign banks are only allowed only a few branches in the country. Every 5 years or so they are given prmission to open 4 or 5 more branches in the whole country maybe not even that. Local banks can open as much as they want.

In your friend case, he already sign S&P, then he only have 90 days left.
He should work fast and get a few applications. I think only foreign banks can release money in time if he only have 90 days reminder.
I think if got a local bank at this time he have 50% chance loan will be release after 4 or 5 months. Which will cause him to kena penalty.
ekliaw

PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2008 4:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I will share my friend story...

My friend applied to one of a local bank 3 years ago in early of 2005. Time had passed and passed for 2 months later, he call up the bank by his ownself and guess what??? "Mr XXX, your loan oledi rejected by our bank ma, you dunno meh?" Then he went to apply for another local bank again (lower rate ma, he answer me), and yes, this one better than before, just took 2 weeks for loan approval. After he signed up everything and thinking of the bank will do the following jobs consistantly... he wrong again!!! At the last the bank delayed his loan drawdown to the developer and guess what again??? He need to pay 4,000++ for interest charged by developer because of the bank's drawdown delayed.

Very fantastic?!?

More interesting scenario is coming, he patiently called up his banker and quiery on that issue, and the banker said "yes i will check on it and follow up, don't worry!" And yes you are right, time passed by another 2 months later but the problem haven't get solved. At that moment his interest charged had hike to 7,000++!!! He walked in to the bank and asked the manager for solution, the answer was "this is not bank concern, this is your property with your developer matter. You should go to talk to your developer."

So at the end, he had to pay for the interest charged due to bank loan delayed drawdown. althou later developer had gave some discount to him, its still unfair to a consumer as him.
andrewcwkong

PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2008 12:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

It is really an eye opener to hear all these stories. I bet there are even more people out there who is getting bad services and had quite a similar experience.
martopo

PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2008 7:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So far only bank customer had bad experience. What about AIA & ING ? Any good or bad stories to share ?
shita

PostPosted: Fri Aug 29, 2008 9:19 am    Post subject: EON Bank - Bad customer service Reply with quote

I had apply EON housing loan (250k) through one office in EON. I had put up all the efforts an documents needed just to ensure that my application will be process smoothly. However, since beginning this office had troubled me by filling up the wrong form. Thus I need to go back to the branch just for the sake of signing on it. Which it has delayed my application for a few days. And from that day until now, this officer never inform me of any updates, whilst never answer my call to her personal phone.

after 3 weeks of application, where i had been promised that it will be processed. I get shocked when the other officer from EON call center inform me that there is no information about my application. I had call the branch itself and getting same answer that my application not be found anywhere. And i had put my notes to the officer to contact me back but there is no answer until now. And I might not entitled for the developer 12 months no interest payment promotion as it will end until 30.06.08 just because of this lazy officer.
ed0gawa

PostPosted: Sun Aug 31, 2008 11:23 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ekliaw wrote:
I will share my friend story...

My friend applied to one of a local bank 3 years ago in early of 2005. Time had passed and passed for 2 months later, he call up the bank by his ownself and guess what??? "Mr XXX, your loan oledi rejected by our bank ma, you dunno meh?" Then he went to apply for another local bank again (lower rate ma, he answer me), and yes, this one better than before, just took 2 weeks for loan approval. After he signed up everything and thinking of the bank will do the following jobs consistantly... he wrong again!!! At the last the bank delayed his loan drawdown to the developer and guess what again??? He need to pay 4,000++ for interest charged by developer because of the bank's drawdown delayed.

Very fantastic?!?

More interesting scenario is coming, he patiently called up his banker and quiery on that issue, and the banker said "yes i will check on it and follow up, don't worry!" And yes you are right, time passed by another 2 months later but the problem haven't get solved. At that moment his interest charged had hike to 7,000++!!! He walked in to the bank and asked the manager for solution, the answer was "this is not bank concern, this is your property with your developer matter. You should go to talk to your developer."

So at the end, he had to pay for the interest charged due to bank loan delayed drawdown. althou later developer had gave some discount to him, its still unfair to a consumer as him.

Find out the real reason behind the delay disbursement please.
For all i know, people only know how to blame on BANKS instead of developer or legal firm.
Do you seriously think that late disbursement is solely banks' fault?

But anyway, since your fren claim that the banker doesn't follow up, the banker sux ... Very Happy

@enchanted
So you think, you think

You personally went through any of the process before to justify your 'I think' ?
ys126

PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2008 5:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

actually i think we should compare on the banker. not the bank. Some local bank's officer is good. some foreign bank's officer is sucks. So make sure the officer you find is good enough. Wink
yykalex

PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2008 7:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i personally think that the comments on this topic have out of topic already. what this topic regarding is "local bank package vs foreign bank package"... is the bank package comparing, not the service... not the bank staff.

i also agree to most members mentioned here that the most important thing is the bankers itself servicing the customer. i believe most of the senior and experience bank officers are providing a good service and following up process and maintaining a good customer relationship.

BTW, is good that those having bad experiences to share their comments here, its really an eye open to me.
derrickc

PostPosted: Thu Sep 04, 2008 8:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi, i agree on yykalex, for a customer to take a loan. is not only about housing but also on car loan... it should be consider on location, and the service how far it suit for you. as for banker, (i'm also banker) i believe banker wont stay over a bank for too long unless they really wan to work for it but you loan is tied with you also borrower for more than 10 years. so is better to think where is the alternative source of ppl can assist you in future. that's why how the documentation of the loan to be done must be understand, at least you all can check or refer back...

Derrick
Public Bank
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Malaysia Real Estate Forum Index -> Property Financing All times are GMT + 8 Hours