Curtain/Blind Like the one in Metropolian SQ Showroom

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Malaysia Real Estate Forum Index -> Renovation and Building Works
kcchua

PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 5:22 pm    Post subject: Curtain/Blind Like the one in Metropolian SQ Showroom Reply with quote

Anyone has gone to Damansara Perdana Metropolitan SQ showroom before? The big unit (I think it's Paris). About 2,000 sq ft one.

I like the white curtain/blind in the living room, which is in 2 or 3 big pieces. Just like the sliding glass door. This blind also is sliding one. Any idea where to buy? I have seen it in IKEA but the width is much smaller in width and the IKEA one the edge of the blind is not nice (it's curved, maybe due to packing and the material).

PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2006 5:35 pm    Post subject: Re: Curtain/Blind Like the one in Metropolian SQ Showroom Reply with quote

kcchua wrote:
Anyone has gone to Damansara Perdana Metropolitan SQ showroom before? The big unit (I think it's Paris). About 2,000 sq ft one.

I like the white curtain/blind in the living room, which is in 2 or 3 big pieces. Just like the sliding glass door. This blind also is sliding one. Any idea where to buy? I have seen it in IKEA but the width is much smaller in width and the IKEA one the edge of the blind is not nice (it's curved, maybe due to packing and the material).

no picture meh?
kcchua

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 12:13 pm    Post subject: - Reply with quote

Didn't expect someone will post reply here. That's why I posted same questions under 'Property Investment > Damansara Perdana' topic.

I saw it in IKEA catalog with this similar blinds except it's not that wide.

You can go to the link below for IKEA's online catalog, page 226 & 227

.://..ikea.com.my/catalogue06/

Regarding the sliding glass door that you mentioned, are you from Singapore? Why the price is in Singapore dollar?

The one in Metropolitan SQ also without the trail on the floor. And the sliding is very smooth. But I don't have the picture. Even their website also never show this.

[/url]

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 12:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

May I ask, why the hots for this specific blinds? Shocked

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 12:58 pm    Post subject: Re: - Reply with quote

kcchua wrote:
Didn't expect someone will post reply here. That's why I posted same questions under 'Property Investment > Damansara Perdana' topic.

I saw it in IKEA catalog with this similar blinds except it's not that wide.

You can go to the link below for IKEA's online catalog, page 226 & 227

[url].://'ikea.com.my/catalogue06/[/url]

Regarding the sliding glass door that you mentioned, are you from Singapore? Why the price is in Singapore dollar?

The one in Metropolitan SQ also without the trail on the floor. And the sliding is very smooth. But I don't have the picture. Even their website also never show this.

[/url]

because i is in Singapore now. The top hung ones are slightly more expensive but good if you don't want unsightly bottom tracks or holes or worry about kicking them ..
kcchua

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 3:10 pm    Post subject: - Reply with quote

What so hot?

I think it looks special. Can't find it easily anywhere. Saw it once in 8TV 'Room for Improvement' or something like that (renovation show). It was used as a room separator.

Other point will be easy maintanance. I think it's made of PVC. Not cotton. So, should be easy to clean.

Too bad Ikea doesn't has the wider one.

Where do you guys or interior designers usually looks for furniture & fittings? Bangsar?

I also like the glass sliding door without the bottom track one. Wonder how much it is going to cost in Malaysia. S$ 1K plus seems quite ok. Just one question, Banzai, if someone didn't notice the door is closed and just bang to the door, what will happen, since no bottom track and the support is only on top. I don't the glass will not break like you said it's tempered glass but will the whole piece of glass just fall down? I saw this happen before, someone just bang to the glass door to the balcony. ha ha.

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2006 3:21 pm    Post subject: Re: - Reply with quote

kcchua wrote:
What so hot?

I think it looks special. Can't find it easily anywhere. Saw it once in 8TV 'Room for Improvement' or something like that (renovation show). It was used as a room separator.

Other point will be easy maintanance. I think it's made of PVC. Not cotton. So, should be easy to clean.

Too bad Ikea doesn't has the wider one.

Where do you guys or interior designers usually looks for furniture & fittings? Bangsar?

I also like the glass sliding door without the bottom track one. Wonder how much it is going to cost in Malaysia. S$ 1K plus seems quite ok. Just one question, Banzai, if someone didn't notice the door is closed and just bang to the door, what will happen, since no bottom track and the support is only on top. I don't the glass will not break like you said it's tempered glass but will the whole piece of glass just fall down? I saw this happen before, someone just bang to the glass door to the balcony. ha ha.

i've banged into mine a few times when drunk.. still ok ah.. Very Happy
cruisetom88

PostPosted: Wed Apr 26, 2006 10:58 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

i wonder if anyone knows where i can get these shutters in malaysia

.://..vogueshutters.com.au/

sorry i am not able to post the pics

rgds
digitalkl

PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2006 6:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

shutters you can find here. they are made of some kind of plastic material. quite costly around rm60 to rm80 per sq ft ! The manufacturer was showing them at the recent Homedec. You can also find them at Speckle Shade in Bangsar. Same thing.

as for the blinds, if its too wide, you wont be able to "open" more of your window if you know what i mean and you cant have more pieces depending on your window size

the ones at ikea are good enough, only thing i worry about are the edges as they frail easily
kcchua

PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2006 5:37 pm    Post subject: - Reply with quote

Yes. You are right, wider means cannot "open" more. But Ikea one, max you can put is 6 panels. one side 3 panels. And, have to open to side, but usually glass sliding door open from side. And you are right again, the Ikea one got another problem, the curtain edge is not straight. Always "curve" one.
digitalkl

PostPosted: Fri May 19, 2006 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

if you want something different, i suggest visiting Speckle Shade - Luxaflex on Jalan Maarof. They have many options there for look see and to get ideas.

i think i might use the Ikea ones on less important rooms. about the frailing edges, what you can do is make your own. i mean buy your own material and have someone sew up the edges. Its easy to make those curtains, just hem the 4 sides and you are good to go.
kcchua

PostPosted: Mon May 22, 2006 10:57 am    Post subject: - Reply with quote

Thanks for your information an suggestion. Maybe will consider Ikea's one. Luxaflex... too expensive. Asked once before, costs about RM3,000 for 2 panels of windows with shades & blinds.
digitalkl

PostPosted: Thu Nov 09, 2006 9:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found what you are looking for - you can custom make whatever width you want for each panel. the track is about rm22 pfr

.://..toso.co.jp/products/p_screen/index.html

Phoebeme

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 7:24 pm    Post subject: re: Reply with quote

Hy there! I believe here that here ..1bromley.co.uk/bromley/728/custom-wooden-blinds.html you will find what you're looking for, at lower prices. They have a variety of shutters, roman and roller blinds in different designs to choose from which can also be custom made according to the dimensions of your windows.
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Malaysia Real Estate Forum Index -> Renovation and Building Works All times are GMT + 8 Hours