Posted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 6:50 pm Post subject: |
| .needless 2 say.....................i believe until 2day.......Gukhas r used by LKY 4 his home protection.................. |
realtalk
Posted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 11:47 pm Post subject: |
| mercuri wrote: | Gurkhas are in a different league, they would actually put their own lifes for u and they are reknowned for their valor, bravery as well as commitment. If I remembered correctly in HK, there was a platoon of soldiers which is made entirely out of Gurkhas. I think their numbers have sort of dwindled nowadays and perhaps many has changed jobs to be mercs?
In all fairness, local security guards aren't all that bad, there are some who are good. Most of the time the guards are sourced from ex military or ex police who is grossly out of shape. I think if I am paid peanuts, I also wouldn't risk my life or work doubly hard. Only and only with appropriate pay would this scenario change.  |
That was back when HK was still part of the British Empire...now since HK went back to China, the entire military is taken over by the People's Army.
Yeah, as usual I was only generalising...of course no matter what there are always good ones out of the dozens of bad ones. In this case it's not one rotten apple that spoilt the whole basket...but rather the fresh apple is among the whole basket of rotten ones.
I like to generalise...when I say "everyone" or "all" I rarely mean it literally unless I state it clearly. It's just a figure of speech to illustrate how bad things are.
It's useless if only a handful of them are good...they have to be at least reasonably competent in general. Just that I've barely encountered good ones...I won't call him good just because he's not lazy or falling asleep on the job. M'sians have too low standards, that's why we have bad quality in almost everything. We are so tidak apa and just let things be the way they are...we are some of the most unsophisticated consumers in the world and don't talk about being demanding, we barely even demand enough. We are the consumers here, we are the ones paying for the service, we should only settle for the best in proportion to what we pay.
Going back to the subject on guards though, it's not like the incidents I mentioned only happen once in a blue moon...it's a common thing! How can that be accepted? It shouldn't even happen once in a while! I know there are so many reasons contributing to the problem, i.e. bad management, bad employers, shitty pay, bad tenants, bad training, concentration of undesirables and criminals in a location etc. And that just shows how things are here...no one complains about it. And again when I say no one I mean not enough at all! The voice is too small to be heard. So those few who actually bother to complain end up giving up because no one else seems to bother or give support, and the whole thing just goes on. Sometimes you only see change or improvement for a short while after something happened or someone complained and what happens later? Same thing again...back to square one. It's a vicious cycle! Another typical M'sian pattern.
It's truly unacceptable that the only reasonably competent security service you get are in ultra high end residences! This is ridiculous! Are their lives more important than the other lower net worth people? If that's how M'sians think...it's over.
Oh ya, if I sound like I'm one of those "difficult" tenants...no I'm not at all. In fact I'm always friendly with these guys and even talk casually with them often. It's good to get to know them and let them know you exist too...it also keeps them on their toes. |
realtalk
Posted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 11:47 pm Post subject: |
| nick1994 wrote: | | .needless 2 say.....................i believe until 2day.......Gukhas r used by LKY 4 his home protection.................. |
You mean that blabber mouth Lim Kheng Yaik ah? |
Posted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 12:12 am Post subject: |
| realtalk wrote: | | nick1994 wrote: | | .needless 2 say.....................i believe until 2day.......Gukhas r used by LKY 4 his home protection.................. |
You mean that blabber mouth Lim Kheng Yaik ah? |
I think it's Lee Kuan Yew.  |
realtalk
Posted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 12:20 am Post subject: |
| haha he probably needs it! That guy imprisoned quite a lot of opponents back in the day man...till they old somemore. |
Parameswaran
Posted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 9:36 am Post subject: |
Realtalk,
There are good tenants.People who care for the guards. Infact many I know personally. the troublesome lots are the very minute ones. They cause most harm to the security process.
I have seen tenants who buy lunch and dinner for the guards so they can do their job with the moral support. Actually, an active condo security comitee must evaluate their performances quite often. By doing so, the alertnes of guards will fall into the zone of responsibility
Try talking to the security companies now and then. Call them for profesional advise on improving the setup from time to time. But sadly as I know , many does not have the security knowledge, but in the business with the sake of gaining profits.
That is something I am formulating right now with the govt, in procuring the appropriate guidelines for security company staff qualifications.
WHAT IS THE BLOODY USE OF GETTING THE DAMN GUARDS TO BE CERTIFIED WITH SPECIAL TRAINING AND ID'S?? WHEN THE EMPLOYERS ARE FROM ROTI CANAI BUSINESS AND NEWSPAPER BUSINESS? WHAT DO THEY KNOW ABOUT SECURITY? MOST OF THESE FELLAS WHO RUN SECURITY BUSINESS ARE FRANCHISING THE LICENSES, AND ARE NO WHERE RELATED TO SECURITY. STALL BUSINESS FELLAS.
We are so bloody far behind in security, believe me. I have been told many times by so called security managers that my atempt for such efforts is already futile from the beggining itself. Thank god for Malaysian negativity.
But work must go on. _________________ Parameswaran N.Alagan - Security Consultant
Fer de Lance Consulting (M) Sdn.Bhd
(T) - 603-90761969
(F) - 603-90757504
(M)- 6012-3666069
Posted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 12:23 pm Post subject: |
| realtalk wrote: | | haha he probably needs it! That guy imprisoned quite a lot of opponents back in the day man...till they old somemore. |
Hmm, I think u need to be a bit mor diplomatic mate. Politicians in SG is very "sue" friendly.  |
Posted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 1:48 pm Post subject: |
| Lee Kuan Yew..... |
Posted: Mon Aug 15, 2005 1:50 pm Post subject: |
if i'm not mistaken, he still says at the same place....a bungalow in a road just off Orchard Road....very modest place.....
can see 2 Gurkhas at the front.......
...but of course........bet his family owns tons or property everywhere... |
realtalk
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 3:10 am Post subject: |
| Parameswaran wrote: | Realtalk,
There are good tenants.People who care for the guards. Infact many I know personally. the troublesome lots are the very minute ones. They cause most harm to the security process.
I have seen tenants who buy lunch and dinner for the guards so they can do their job with the moral support. Actually, an active condo security comitee must evaluate their performances quite often. By doing so, the alertnes of guards will fall into the zone of responsibility
Try talking to the security companies now and then. Call them for profesional advise on improving the setup from time to time. But sadly as I know , many does not have the security knowledge, but in the business with the sake of gaining profits.
That is something I am formulating right now with the govt, in procuring the appropriate guidelines for security company staff qualifications.
WHAT IS THE BLOODY USE OF GETTING THE DAMN GUARDS TO BE CERTIFIED WITH SPECIAL TRAINING AND ID'S?? WHEN THE EMPLOYERS ARE FROM ROTI CANAI BUSINESS AND NEWSPAPER BUSINESS? WHAT DO THEY KNOW ABOUT SECURITY? MOST OF THESE FELLAS WHO RUN SECURITY BUSINESS ARE FRANCHISING THE LICENSES, AND ARE NO WHERE RELATED TO SECURITY. STALL BUSINESS FELLAS.
We are so bloody far behind in security, believe me. I have been told many times by so called security managers that my atempt for such efforts is already futile from the beggining itself. Thank god for Malaysian negativity.
But work must go on. |
Agree with you. |
realtalk
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 3:13 am Post subject: |
| mercuri wrote: | | realtalk wrote: | | haha he probably needs it! That guy imprisoned quite a lot of opponents back in the day man...till they old somemore. |
Hmm, I think u need to be a bit mor diplomatic mate. Politicians in SG is very "sue" friendly.  |
over a post by an anonymous person on a message board not really widely viewed enough? I think they got better things to do than waste time on me.
It's only when it gets out of hand and gets spread all over the place that they will bother doing anything.
Talk about freedom of speech eh? Malaysia and Singapore...pfft... |
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:25 am Post subject: |
| nick1994 wrote: | if i'm not mistaken, he still says at the same place....a bungalow in a road just off Orchard Road....very modest place.....
can see 2 Gurkhas at the front.......
...but of course........bet his family owns tons or property everywhere... |
The place is between River Valley and Orchard. And i'm pretty sure, he doesn't stay there. Oxley or something |
Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2005 10:48 am Post subject: |
..yup...thats the road name.....Oxley......
...mayb...that place looks v modest .............thats the legend & storey anyway.....that he & the missus is there..............................mayb once in a blue moon... |
dzzz
Posted: Wed Sep 14, 2005 7:11 pm Post subject: |
Think Condo is more secure due to the fact:
-Thieves normally enter thru roofs - condo's "roof" is normally concrete
- Too many eyes around plus more likelihood of being taped on CCTV
- Resident parking normally secured by Touch Card, difficult to steal big items
- Difficult to climb into higher units as oppose to fencing |
preacher
Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 7:01 pm Post subject: condos or houses? |
I think most people in landed properties install their own security system as a deterent. But that has 2 sides to it.
(1) Potential theif sees it and gets scared and picks another house; or
(2) Potential theif sees it and thinks that the owner is rich and breaks in. _________________ practise what you preach |
preacher
Posted: Thu Oct 20, 2005 7:06 pm Post subject: Condos or houses |
Agree that most break-ins in landed are through the roof. Heard that security systems nowadays will put motion sensers above the celling but under the roof and go off if it detects movement.
Most break-ins in Condos are during the day when owners are not in. Guards are always the first suspect as they know you're gone. Houses are normally broken into at night, when owner is in the house and asleep.
Am I correct to say that? _________________ practise what you preach |
aimtrue
Posted: Tue Dec 13, 2005 7:13 pm Post subject: |
Interesting discussion. Well, it must have been, to stretch for so many pages, with interspersed discussions of Gurkha soldiers!
I used to stay in a prison.. I mean hostel... near Goh Chok Tong's place.
Preacher: good generalization I think, from news reports and personal experience. Guards usually don't know which unit you are in. Unless they secretly use ninja skills to follow you back to your unit. Also, don't go and tell them.
Anyway, if I would let my mom stay in a place by herself, I would feel safer with her staying in a higher-cost condo than a landed property, even if the landed property is outfitted with retina scanners and anti-personnel land mines.
1) The resident density in a shared living space like a condo is several times greater. ie, more people. More respectable people, that is.
2) For houses, they can use a getaway car/van/lorry to cart away your stuff at night. Less chances of this at a condo where you need an access card, or be in full view of the CCTV, to even get inside the compound.
3) Pro thiefs check out properties several days before to determine your movements, number of people in the household and your level of stealable wealth. This is not possible for condos. For condos, they won't know which units to target, they probably won't know which unit you are in even if you drive a Pagani Zonda V12 roadster unless you put gold trimmings on your door and balcony. For houses, it's obvious what kind of cars you have. They will know if there is a maid. They can notice your wife wearing that gold chain on the way back from the dinner party.
That being said,
Higher-cost condo > House w autogate and alarm > Middle or lower cost condo |
Y2K
Posted: Wed Dec 14, 2005 3:30 am Post subject: |
I agree with you aimtrue. I find high-class condos where security is most stringent. Not like the condos where all you need is a wave to drive in. Gated community for houses sounds good though.
I'm staying in condo now coz i'm worried for my wife when I travel (I'm out of the country quite often) To make things worse, my father in-law has been telling us lotsa horror stories about break-ins in landed property, even at bungalows with fantastic alarms and auto-gate.
| Quote: | | Anyway, if I would let my mom stay in a place by herself, I would feel safer with her staying in a higher-cost condo than a landed property, even if the landed property is outfitted with retina scanners and anti-personnel land mines. |
aimtrue, I'll be more worried about the land mines rather than thieves for my mom!
My preference => Higher-cost condo/Higher Cost Gated Community -> Middle class condo -> House w autogate and alarm > lower cost condo /apartments |
bloogreen
Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2005 4:14 pm Post subject: |
Related question (dunno whether needs to go to different thread).....Big apologies upfront cos Im a newbie.
If buying for older people to stay (eg parents), for between RM200k to 400k would u buy
a) medium cost Condo , near your house or
b) single storey house, near your house or
c) double storey house, further away
Any constructive feedback is appreciated as will be looking at buying within now to 1 years time?
Or Dont buy now cos Prop market going cheaper ? kekekeke. |
bloogreen
Posted: Sun Dec 18, 2005 10:29 pm Post subject: |
dun und....  |