condos or houses?
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Malaysia Real Estate Forum Index -> Security Issues
realtalk

PostPosted: Wed Aug 10, 2005 11:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm...Parameswaran, care to give us a detailed analysis on the risk, benefit and security ratio of the security measure known as hiding money in your undergarments? Razz

heh honeysha you must be real kinky...I think we have to change the ratings here......kids shouldn't be bothered bout real estate investment anyway! Laughing
honeysha

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2005 7:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

realtalk wrote:
Hmm...Parameswaran, care to give us a detailed analysis on the risk, benefit and security ratio of the security measure known as hiding money in your undergarments? Razz

heh honeysha you must be real kinky...I think we have to change the ratings here......kids shouldn't be bothered bout real estate investment anyway! Laughing

why real... Wink thanks for the assuming I'd be kinky. I've always wanted to be known as kinky. Laughing Laughing
Noor713

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2005 8:12 am    Post subject: Houses or condos? Reply with quote

Reminds me of a joke - `erotic is when you use a feather, kinky is when you use the whole chicken'.

Cant remember where I heard that - emmm ... Rolling Eyes too early in the morning to even think..
honeysha

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2005 8:28 am    Post subject: Re: Houses or condos? Reply with quote

Noor713 wrote:
Reminds me of a joke - `erotic is when you use a feather, kinky is when you use the whole chicken'.

Cant remember where I heard that - emmm ... Rolling Eyes too early in the morning to even think..

Noor...I'm appalled ! Shocked Shocked For goodness sake, this site is rated "U". Very Happy ...and so early in the mornin..tsk..tsk..tsk..

Talk about security issues! Laughing Laughing
Parameswaran

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2005 9:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

[quote="realtalk"]Hmm...Parameswaran, care to give us a detailed analysis on the risk, benefit and security ratio of the security measure known as hiding money in your undergarments? Razz

Okay.. undergarments? LOL.. only that much of money ah? Actually, the next poor person to take the money kena satu macam punya Suweh!

Another reminder, when you are doing any banking in crowded town, just be very careful that you are being watched from every angle possible. Crooks adopt to many kind of monkey tricks nowdays. Instead of coming out happy from the bank, you just might end up being very sorry about it.

Isnt it strange if your tyre runs out of air 5 kilometeres from the bank? if you feel so.. dont stop driving until you reach a familiar destination.

Call anyone. And dont get down from the car until help arrives.

(F) - 603-90757504
(M)- 6012-3666069

Noor713

PostPosted: Thu Aug 11, 2005 10:14 am    Post subject: Houses or condos? Reply with quote

Honeysha..

Told ya..it was too early morning to put on my thinking cap.. Cool

..or was it my morning blues..?? Wink
realtalk

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 10:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

honeysha wrote:
realtalk wrote:

why real... Wink thanks for the assuming I'd be kinky. I've always wanted to be known as kinky. Laughing Laughing

yeah, but I'm only assuming...need to confirm! What do you say? Laughing
honeysha

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 10:37 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

realtalk wrote:
honeysha wrote:
realtalk wrote:

yeah, but I'm only assuming...need to confirm! What do you say? Laughing

you can check with my boyfriend but if he doesn't confirm it, let me know.. Evil or Very Mad .... Laughing Laughing
realtalk

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 11:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ooh...haha...ok! hmm...if you haven't been getting any lately you can use it as an excuse. Just ask him if you're kinky or not and if he says no, you threaten to be unfaithful. Instant sex! Plus he'll thank you for it...oh dear this is a thread under security issues. Talk until this kinda thing. I guess the term "security" here has been interpreted differently huh? If ya know what I mean...

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

coming to the topic that is supposed to be discussed here, I think the guards station at the entry and exit part of the condo basically serve more as a deterrent than actually a form of security. I think upon seeing some human activities in the entry points, more would be perpetrators would thinktwice before commiting any crime.

Btw there are some talk about Gurkhas being security guards in MK, where did they employ them from eh? Wink
Noor713

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 3:08 pm    Post subject: houses or condos Reply with quote

Emm...kinky and gurkhas...sounds interesting enough for me Wink
realtalk

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 4:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

mercuri wrote:
coming to the topic that is supposed to be discussed here, I think the guards station at the entry and exit part of the condo basically serve more as a deterrent than actually a form of security. I think upon seeing some human activities in the entry points, more would be perpetrators would thinktwice before commiting any crime.

Btw there are some talk about Gurkhas being security guards in MK, where did they employ them from eh? Wink

From Nepal lah...

gurkha= a Rajput ethnic group predominant in Nepal which have served the British, Nepalese and Indian armies for 200 years and are known for their fierceness in combat. They are now known to be very effective security guards.

Last edited by realtalk on Fri Aug 12, 2005 4:42 pm; edited 1 time in total
realtalk

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 4:42 pm    Post subject: Re: houses or condos Reply with quote

Noor713 wrote:
Emm...kinky and gurkhas...sounds interesting enough for me Wink

hmm...if you like it rough...maybe they're fierce in bed too! But a lot of the times the opposite is true! Rolling Eyes maybe when it comes to that stuff their shy......
realtalk

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 4:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

but honestly though when it comes to these security guards...most of em are pretty irresponsible. Even in the upmarket condominiums, it is not uncommon to see them sleeping in their booths or outside on a plastic chair! Once I went to drop a friend in a condo in Bangsar and I drove past the pondok and was surprised the steel block thing was lifted up so everyone could go in freely! Then I peeked into the guardhouse and guess what I saw? the feller sleeping inside with air-cond on a mattress he brought along himself! CAN YOU BELIEVE THAT? So he just conveniently left the block thing whatever it's called up so he won't be disturbed from his sleep!

Few other notable incidences...Pelangi Damansara in MD. Very dense condo and pretty messy area...once there was a robbery in one of the units and the guards didn't know anything about it...the police when arrived had to actually inform the guards that there was a robbery! Well, either the robbers were very cunning and sneaky or the guards were just not sharp at all. But then again I dun expect those guards to be sharp...just that the system should be a bit better so as to not rely entirely on guards screening the people coming in.
One other incident which happened in a condo in Kenny Hills...an expat's home was broken into and they managed to catch the burglar in the act before he could even take anything and leave but u know what? After handing him over to the guards...they let him go! The expat was stumped and asked them why did they do that they say coz he din steal anything......Malaysia Boleh!
Parameswaran

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 9:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, we cant afford Ghurkha guards here. They demand high salaries and hence the effective guards. What you see here are poor boys from nepal who are recruited to work as security guards here. Mostly are sheperds and batu akek sellers. They have 0 knowledge in security. They have language barriers hence they do not speak too much, which makes them look serious. Actually they are a pretty clueless bunch. Just like our local guards.

Gurkhas work in brunei.uk and singapore. They are veryserious and garang bunch. Loyal and unrelenting in anything. Their features are very much like a mix between a red indian and a chinese. They speak gurkha .

Nepalese guards speak hindi. They look like a crosss between indians from india and chinese.

What you get here are not qualified to be guards.
(F) - 603-90757504
(M)- 6012-3666069

realtalk

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 9:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

indians from india oso got so many kinds...I've met a few Nepalese before...have brown skin and erm...dunno how to describe what they look like. They look Indian though, but not southern Indian look.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 11:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just go across the causeway, you'll see some gurkhas deployed. Their funds repatriated back to Nepal account for quite a % of their GDP. If not mistaken (from some news that i read before), they get paid in US dollars. 4 digit variety.
Parameswaran

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 11:35 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You are right banzai. their contribution towards the gdp of nepal is quite tromendous. Gurkhas are trained by the British forces to carry out special duties from time to time. Thats why they are valued high. Anyway, coming back to those nepalese boys who work as guards are so poorly taken care, for instance in KlCC you can see them almost falling asleep in their duties. When I asked them, they are actually overworked and lack of severe welfare attention is causing their morals to dwindle down. It is sad.Many people do not know this, but yes, this is what happening.

What is a good measure to secure a property estate? I can still recomend 2 things, A higher hourly rate and a disciplined working lot.
(F) - 603-90757504
(M)- 6012-3666069

PostPosted: Fri Aug 12, 2005 11:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah i agree with your suggestions in general and i for one, do not mind additional security at an affordable rate. Of course, good security is only one aspect of what is missing from facilities mgt in Malaysia.

You have an interesting qualification, i think some of of my colleagues in facilities mgt have similar.
realtalk

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 12:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

hmm...I noticed that the security guards that are always lapsing and falling asleep are local ones......I think they're the worst sometimes. And then when they get some new colleagues from India, Nepal or whatever they act like they're their boss and sorta look down on them like as though they're so much better.
realtalk

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 12:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

oh now I remember! Gurkhas look like Tibetans as their related...they're both on the himalayas anyway.
Parameswaran

PostPosted: Sat Aug 13, 2005 12:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

banzai, thanks. Actually i have been in the industry for the past 15 years. A long time to learn and adopt things. currently, I am writing the first Physical Security manual from the perspective of the Malaysian Environment here. It will be all a management will ever need in the pretext of securing the parameters. I have always emphasized to my clients, security starts from inside. Not guards or protective animals.

Facilities management is a very interesting area. It is basically what i do to enhance the security aspect of it. I am also working inclose quarters with the goverment to develop security policies. So my time is pretty much full. Seminars and trainings are also conducted, I love to teach and brainstorm. Thats the only way to top and stretch the capabilities of the management and guards.

Anyway, I am sure you have seen many guards , and to be frank, it is not that they cannot perform. they are mostly underguided and lack of security knowloedge hinders their job understanding and execution.

We can train them. We can teach them. We can make them protect our interests. Like how I said earlier.. for how much and how heavy of a load?
(F) - 603-90757504
(M)- 6012-3666069

realtalk

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 1:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah they get paid too little.

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 10:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gurkhas are in a different league, they would actually put their own lifes for u and they are reknowned for their valor, bravery as well as commitment. If I remembered correctly in HK, there was a platoon of soldiers which is made entirely out of Gurkhas. I think their numbers have sort of dwindled nowadays and perhaps many has changed jobs to be mercs?

In all fairness, local security guards aren't all that bad, there are some who are good. Most of the time the guards are sourced from ex military or ex police who is grossly out of shape. I think if I am paid peanuts, I also wouldn't risk my life or work doubly hard. Only and only with appropriate pay would this scenario change. Smile
Parameswaran

PostPosted: Sun Aug 14, 2005 6:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, alot of people I have met in the industry does not the difference between a nepalese and gurkha guards, quite amazingly, many als think that the afghan and pakistani guards are allowed by the KDN.

If you ask me, our local guards can cope well. I have seen many. the problems with condo security is that, "people" can be nasty and rude towards guards.Many would start off well, but as the day progresses, along the way, some tenant will show their colors and put the security in such a situation, it upsets operations. I have ran somany condo security, and tell you what, it is terrible. years ago, I have encountered a gangster who had put his gun of the guards table in the guardroom and demanded me to come to see him. Apparently, my guard didnt let his pimping agent pass thru the gate. I am a very cool person. I could have him in trouble instead, i dealt with him in a psychological manner, he became a close friend later. People management is a god given skill for me.He also told his pimpsters to cool off and let "taiko- which he called me after that later" approve things there.

Pimping, prostution and other vices are almost 40% operations in any condos. Good tenants are always troubled by them. So, when something goes worng, Security guards were wholly to belamed. This is Sad because most of the time, other tenants are the cause of such grievances.

Drunk tenants ... another ball game.
(F) - 603-90757504
(M)- 6012-3666069

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Malaysia Real Estate Forum Index -> Security Issues All times are GMT + 8 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2, 3  Next
Page 2 of 3