gavinykw
Posted: Fri Jul 28, 2006 5:46 pm Post subject: |
Hello again, the amount allocated would be for my son's education fund... say in 14 years. I had the opportunity to use the UT calculator, and at 8% per annum, a regular monthly savings of rm2k, i could acheive a fund size of about rm650k.
My risk profile: aggressive at the moment(5 years) and will convert to low risk in the later years. What do you think?
Anyone here from Public Mutual?? _________________ thank you |
skok
Posted: Tue Sep 26, 2006 10:30 am Post subject: |
| Need more info about Public Mutual, would be glad to answer your questions. Do PM/email me. |
junaidia
Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 3:18 pm Post subject: Guide for mutual fund in Malaysia |
Anybody who wants to invest in unit trust should check the performance of the mutual fund company before they invest.
You can check the preservation score, consistent return score from local newspaper or personal money magazine.
Hey, it's your hard earn money that we are talking here. So make sure you do your own reasearch.
Junaidi
Mutual Agent |
ilyashukri
Posted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 3:55 pm Post subject: |
Hi Junaidi,
I'm newbie to this Mutual Fund, just wanna ask is there any hidden cost when engaging with trust funds...? like maintenance fee ke, renewal fee ke, or anything lah...
Because this one time, an agent from Public Mutual did approach me explaining about the usually scheme of initial deposit of rm1,000 and them monthly instalment of rm100 from pay. It sounds good to me, but is it that easy and no hidden cost involved?
Thanks in advance. |
junaidia
Posted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 4:25 pm Post subject: Hi ilyasyukri |
Ok,
When you want to invest in Public Mutual (i can comment on Public Mutual because I am a Public Mutual Agent) your agent need to explain to you that there will be certain fees incurred on the investor. I mean if the agent is honest la
For Equity Fund
1. Service charge -> one time fees 6.5% from the money you put in.
If you invest RM100, then the service charge is RM6.50. So after deduction of service charge, the actual money you use to buy unit is RM93.50 not RM100.
2. Annual Management Fee -> 1.5% per annum
3. Trustee Fee -> 0.06% per annum
For Bond Fund / Money Market Fund
1. Service charge -> There is one time fee 0.25%.
2. Annual Management Fee -> 0.75% per annum
3. Trustee Fee -> 0.035% per annum
But don't worry, the profit that you get from investing with Public Mutual is far more superior than the fees incurred.
Hope this info helps.
Junaidi
013-3507899
Public Mutual Agent |
aiki
Posted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 1:14 pm Post subject: |
Have been approached by an agent from Public Mutual. telling me now is the best time to invest due to lower unit price for the fund.
The agent introduced few of the fund such as PFEDF and the latest islamic asia balanced fund. telling me the same thing to invest a min of RM1K and monthly RM100.
For equity fund how much is the projected return, let's say in 1 year time? He mentioned min 10% for the lower risk one.
Public Mutual is one of the top in Malaysia but it is telling us all the fund are with good return comparing to other company like Hwang DBS and others.
hoepfully can get some feedback here.
thanks. |
junaidia
Posted: Tue Aug 28, 2007 4:38 pm Post subject: |
Yes it's correct, now the fund price can be considered lower than last few months.
If economy is good, for equity fund, the return can range between 8% to 60% in a year. But you need to know that this investment is for medium to long term (3 years above)
In any mutual fund companies, it is a fact that some funds are performing better than others. You cannot have two funds exactly having the same return because of the exposure to equity is different.
But the question here is, will the fund manager manage the fund well in a bad market?
I choose Public Mutual because it has the best fund manager in Asia. I think that is the strength of Public Mutual.
In your case, the agent need to check your tolerance to risk.
If you are an aggressive investor, then he should suggest you to invest in aggressive fund. Not necessarily new funds satisfies the need for everyone. Some people will only be suitable to invest in bond due to their age and other considerations. In my case, I suggest fund suited for my client based on their tolerance to risk and other factor as well.
Junaidi
Public Mutual Agent |
cdbox

Posted: Mon Oct 01, 2007 2:42 am Post subject: diversify your investment in a proper way |
| gavinykw wrote: | Hello again, the amount allocated would be for my son's education fund... say in 14 years. I had the opportunity to use the UT calculator, and at 8% per annum, a regular monthly savings of rm2k, i could acheive a fund size of about rm650k.
My risk profile: aggressive at the moment(5 years) and will convert to low risk in the later years. What do you think?
Anyone here from Public Mutual?? |
Hi, I have read your concern about next 14 years planning. However UT investment has no guarantee due to market volatility. Every thing is good if the market is up.
Follow your intention of your child education, i do recommend you move partially to GUARANTEE INCOME product which is Insurance saving plan.
So, I can see a better investment portfolio is U T + fix income plan 2 in 1 to balance up the risk.
What would you think?
tq cdbox mutual fund supervisor in Klang valley |
cdbox

Posted: Mon Oct 01, 2007 3:04 am Post subject: 1 time charge during buying process. selling no charge |
[quote="ilyashukri"]Hi Junaidi,
I'm newbie to this Mutual Fund, just wanna ask is there any hidden cost when engaging with trust funds...? like maintenance fee ke, renewal fee ke, or anything lah...
Because this one time, an agent from Public Mutual did approach me explaining about the usually scheme of initial deposit of rm1,000 and them monthly instalment of rm100 from pay. It sounds good to me, but is it that easy and no hidden cost involved?
Thanks in advance.[/quote
Hi simple enough. There is a charge (5% + 1.5% = 6.5%).
Once u buy any public equity funds , you will be pre-charge the service charge (just like ordering kfc which include svr charge).
so your capital said RM1000 - 6.5% = the actual balance that in your fund account.
when u buy, u get involve svr charge. when u sell no svr charge involve, just follow the market price. 1 time only.
thanks. cdbox mutual fund supervisor |
junaidia
Posted: Mon Oct 01, 2007 10:08 am Post subject: Re: diversify your investment in a proper way |
| gavinykw wrote: | Hello again, the amount allocated would be for my son's education fund... say in 14 years. I had the opportunity to use the UT calculator, and at 8% per annum, a regular monthly savings of rm2k, i could acheive a fund size of about rm650k.
Anyone here from Public Mutual?? |
Given 14 years, and due to the fact that it is a regular investment, I would say that Unit Trust is the right investment vehicle for your son's education plan. But if you were seeking to gain profit within less than 1 year, then Unit Trust is definitely not for you.
It is true that market has its up and down. But when you invest regularly, you are said to apply dollar cost averaging (DCA), which is one of the best way of investing in whatever market condition.
If you would like to invest with Public Mutual, I would be more than happy to advice you in this matter further.
Junaidi
Public Mutual Agent
013-3507899
junaidia@yahoo.com |
gavinykw
Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 4:06 pm Post subject: |
Thanks for your reply.I am a new investor with Public mutual. 2 questions.
1. Should I just stick to newly launched funds only because of the low in-rates? How about those funds that had been around the last year eg PFEDF or regular savings fund?
2. I had a fund with public bank , for which I invested several k, then stopped for 1 year. return has surpass 30%. Now this PM agent asked me to cancel this PB fund saying no point to continue, and withdraw the money to put in newly launched funds.
Is it logical? If I cont doing dollar cost averaging, it would not matter very much, would it? _________________ thank you |
junaidia
Posted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 8:17 am Post subject: |
Thanks for your reply.I am a new investor with Public mutual. 2 questions.
1. Should I just stick to newly launched funds only because of the low in-rates? How about those funds that had been around the last year eg PFEDF or regular savings fund?
>> Actually it's up to the investor to choose which fund to invest because >> different investor have different tolerance to risk. You can invest in >> newly launched fund or the one that is already exist.
2. I had a fund with public bank , for which I invested several k, then stopped for 1 year. return has surpass 30%. Now this PM agent asked me to cancel this PB fund saying no point to continue, and withdraw the money to put in newly launched funds.
Is it logical? If I cont doing dollar cost averaging, it would not matter very much, would it?
>> I must honestly tell you that PM agent will not get any commission
>> from selling PB fund. We'll only get commission when selling Public
>> Mutual fund. So I guess, that is the rational behind asking client to
>> switch from PB fund to Public Mutual fund whether it is newly launched
>> fund or the existing ones. If you want to help this agent earning the
>> commission, then you may withdraw and buy PM fund. (with 5.5%
>> service charge of course) Otherwise, you can continue doing dollar
>> cost averaging with PB fund.
Junaidi
013-3507899
junaidia@yahoo.com |
gavinykw
Posted: Sat Feb 16, 2008 4:07 pm Post subject: |
Thank you cdbox.
What do you mean by GUARANTEED INCOME PRODUCT?? Is it a savings plan tie to an insurance product?
I was introduced to the pru-link product for which I could link a savings plan (95% into UT) to it and and prupayor as well. Do you mean that? _________________ thank you |
kevarni2701
Posted: Tue Feb 19, 2008 1:55 pm Post subject: fund |
| gavinykw wrote: | Thank you cdbox.
What do you mean by GUARANTEED INCOME PRODUCT?? Is it a savings plan tie to an insurance product?
I was introduced to the pru-link product for which I could link a savings plan (95% into UT) to it and and prupayor as well. Do you mean that? |
If you looking for investment, better go for investment house who is expert in investment, should have seperate protection and investment in 2 catogeries. |
gavinykw
Posted: Fri Mar 21, 2008 4:02 pm Post subject: Re: Public Mutual New Fund on 20th Nov 2007 |
Do you agents still advise us to invest now? The market is so bearish. Some would advise to hold the cash. _________________ thank you |
cdbox

Posted: Mon May 05, 2008 9:16 pm Post subject: Re: Public Mutual 44K agents in thorough Malaysia |
| gavinykw wrote: | | Do you agents still advise us to invest now? The market is so bearish. Some would advise to hold the cash. |
hi,
As an agent, every moment there is money flow in and out, just 100% similar to the stock market.
Depends what kind of your servicing agent character. Aggressive vs Conservative etc.
If my advise to my customers during bearish market, I do advice them to enter . Y, because its cheap on every fund price and lower price to accumulate.
When bullish market, the fund see profits, then may consider to sell off to gain money. Bear in mind, money in POCKET is your REALISED MONEY. Profits in fund a/c still not your real money because its follow market volatilidy.
Some agents advise to switch becasue its good for agents benefits ...... reason cant tell here due to too many public mutual agents exist in every forum.
cdbox
mutual fund agency supervisor
keithlum@yahoo.com Klang valley branch |
rosdi

Posted: Mon Jun 02, 2008 1:47 pm Post subject: Re: Public Mutual New Fund on 20th Nov 2007 |
| gavinykw wrote: | | Do you agents still advise us to invest now? The market is so bearish. Some would advise to hold the cash. |
It is a good time to invest when the market is bearish.. because the price is low. Some people might argue that we should invest only when the market hit rock bottom, to get the best price possible. However in reality is nobody know where the bottom is.
Mutual fund / unit trust is medium to long term investment (3 - 5 years). Invest your money if you don't need the money in the coming 3 - 5 years. If you suddenly take out the money within 6 months of investing, you may lose money. _________________ Disclaimer: I am a Public Mutual Unit Trust Consultant, so take my opinion with a grain of salt.
Email: rosdikasim gmail |