aramis
Joined: 02 Jun 2005 Posts: 150 Location: Cyberjaya / Old Klang Road
Posted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 1:24 pm Post subject: Comments about mutual funds. |
Anyone invested in MF? Care to share their exprerience?
Well, for me, I have quite a number of MF, 6 in total. I used cost-averaging method as I am lazy to monitor the price. So far, not making much money. But then again, MF is for mid to long term, so, I guess I just have to wait and see. |
Posted: Sat Jun 04, 2005 2:54 pm Post subject: |
...i onli put in all my extra EPF...............not with cash.....
...all in, over the last 3 yrs or so since i have put in, outperformed the EPF rate by average of only 1-2%, nothing spectacular.......
....u could say i am oso doing a form of dollar averaging.......every 3 mths, my EPF agent shows up like clockwork......
Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 2:23 pm Post subject: |
| Quote: | ...i onli put in all my extra EPF...............not with cash.....
| From which account? 2 or 3?
| Quote: | | ...all in, over the last 3 yrs or so since i have put in, outperformed the EPF rate by average of only 1-2%, nothing spectacular....... |
does it means we can withdraw anytime we want?
Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 3:51 pm Post subject: |
..forgot which one......its the one that has the largest balance in your EPF....the 2nd largest can take out for housing and the 3rd largest (or smallest) can take out for medical.....
..every 3 months i think....... |
aramis
Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 5:15 pm Post subject: |
yup. from account 1, every 3 months. Your agent will remind you when the time has come  |
Posted: Mon Jun 06, 2005 5:46 pm Post subject: |
Thanks, just wondering if it's "safe"? Any mutual trust that u guys can recommend?  |
aramis
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2005 12:37 am Post subject: |
| "safe" in terms of.....??? |
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2005 10:44 am Post subject: |
safe in terms of returns.  |
aramis
Posted: Tue Jun 07, 2005 1:21 pm Post subject: |
i would say "it depends"...since the withdrawal of EPF can only be done after every 3 months, it is not really a true cost-averaging. you might wanna time the market right before withdrawing and investing the $$.
For monthly investment, I would say this is a safer type of cost-averaging as the possibility of investing at a lower price is higher, ie. there are 12months=12 chances. Whereas via EPF, there is only 4 chances.
just my 2 cents worht...  |
Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 5:17 pm Post subject: |
| So is the funds invested safe? |
aramis
Posted: Wed Jun 15, 2005 5:23 pm Post subject: |
safe ah?? well, Mutual funds/unit trust are for mid to long term, i.e. 10-15years. I guess for long run, it is safe as cost-averaging will almost ensure you to have good returns......i.e. at least more than the current 4.75% from EPF..
cdbox

Posted: Thu Aug 11, 2005 3:35 am Post subject: |
hi, first time here. Yes mutual fund similar to share market concept, lower the risk with greater return rather than banks interest rate.
try Public Mutual berhad, the Public Bank subsidiary company dealing in Public Mutual Fund.
Straight forward info can be found here
..geocities.com/keithlum |
aimtrue
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 12:03 am Post subject: |
You have to remember: generally, no risk, no return.
mutual funds should have less risk than buying one or two stocks directly, but also of course the potential returns are lower.
Can you lose money over mutual funds? Yes! Definitely, especially since your unit trust agent in Malaysia gets really fat on the 6-8% sales charge on every ringgit you put into the mutual fund. Imagine, your mutual fund has to appreciate by 6-8% before you manage to make any money from your capital.
But unless there is a market crash, you probably would not lose everything.
(FYI, sales charges in Singapore rarely go over 5%. And if you buy online, it is usually only 2.0-2.5%)
As a savings vehicle that potentially gives you better returns than fixed deposits, you can consider mutual funds. You have to select which fund carefully. But less work than keeping track of stocks. |
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 10:14 am Post subject: |
| aimtrue wrote: | You have to remember: generally, no risk, no return.
mutual funds should have less risk than buying one or two stocks directly, but also of course the potential returns are lower.
Can you lose money over mutual funds? Yes! Definitely, especially since your unit trust agent in Malaysia gets really fat on the 6-8% sales charge on every ringgit you put into the mutual fund. Imagine, your mutual fund has to appreciate by 6-8% before you manage to make any money from your capital.
But unless there is a market crash, you probably would not lose everything.
(FYI, sales charges in Singapore rarely go over 5%. And if you buy online, it is usually only 2.0-2.5%)
As a savings vehicle that potentially gives you better returns than fixed deposits, you can consider mutual funds. You have to select which fund carefully. But less work than keeping track of stocks. |
most of the 'gurus' and 'investment books' usually advocate straightforward no brainer index link funds that just buy the stocks that makes up the index with v small up front charge as well as subsequent management charges......
...but, hey, guess what...........theres NONE in Malaysia.......
hmmmm.........wonder why?..................................could i b theres a CONSPIRACY among mutual fund managers not 2 issue such a fund coz it'll prob wipe out all their biz.....  |
aimtrue
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 11:06 am Post subject: |
nick: I read in the Star they will be starting ETFs soon, now that REITs have caught on. As well as other financial instruments.
You can tell the Malaysian market is finally catching up. I believe this came with the opening of the market to the 5 foreign brokerage houses.
Hopefully, sales charges will come down, and more transparency, and data to help Malaysian investors. |
Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2005 12:50 pm Post subject: |
| aimtrue wrote: | nick: I read in the Star they will be starting ETFs soon, now that REITs have caught on. As well as other financial instruments.
You can tell the Malaysian market is finally catching up. I believe this came with the opening of the market to the 5 foreign brokerage houses.
Hopefully, sales charges will come down, and more transparency, and data to help Malaysian investors. |
well, lets see..........in theory, this kinda funds shld have close 2 zero sales charge as well as close 2 zero m'ment charge.....coz no brainer............lets see which mutual fund house will start the ball rolling..........
coz i can very easily see this kinda fund 'eating' into their very 'profitable' other funds... |
bach
Posted: Sun Nov 27, 2005 9:56 pm Post subject: |
Hey, Are you guys satisfy with the return from mutual fund? How much you got every year? is it consistent?
I got an investment program recommend to you guys. THe minium return is 15% per annum....amazing right? listen, is minimum.. meaning that you may earn 20, 30,40 or even 80% per annum!!!
How to make it? Is very simple, no service charge, hassle free!!!
This may be one of the investment tools to help you achieve financial freedom goal. If you interested, call me 012-7151939 to find out how to use your money make more money!!! |
iskandar27etc
Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2005 2:07 am Post subject: Bach's investment? |
sorry to say this but your investment scheme looks like 'skim cepat kaya'... |
bach
Posted: Mon Dec 26, 2005 9:04 am Post subject: |
| Is not cepat kaya la....I didnt say 15% return per month, is per annum ok? Just the return is higher than the common investment tools we having right now. You haven seen it before, that's why you don know about it. IF you really serious in investment, you should work harder to find out what are the investment oppurtunity in the market. You see.....you haven understand about the investment scheme, straightaway saying is scheme ''cepat kaya'', if you keep this attitude again, do you think you will be super rich in one day? probably you already rich, but you still not smart enough to use your money make more money.. |
iskandar27etc
Posted: Wed Dec 28, 2005 2:36 am Post subject: |
| Quote: |
then dont be so 'secretive' about it...why the personal call that has to be made? if it is really good and u want people to be as 'rich' as u r, then spill it out...after all this is a public forum.
your 'pick up' line is somehow too good to be true and some people are rich because they know they have to 'fall' sometimes on their way to 'super rich' status.
and when u said it can even reach 80% per annum...and min 15% per annum, it implies a guarantee of no loss at all!, man u must be better and richer than george soros or robert kiyosaki! or whosoever that is richer than u!
bach
Posted: Thu Dec 29, 2005 11:25 am Post subject: |
Iskandar 27 etc,
I am not as rich as george solos because I don have such huge capial as him. I didnt keep this as secret. In fact, I wanted to share with you guys.Frankly tell you, there is ''no loss guarantee'' in this investment. Is stated in the agreement. Your mind is full of negative stuff, I suggest you to change your mindset in order to make more money. Some people are poor because they never mix up with rich people and don know how they make it. Why? Because the never accept changes and they lazy to find out how to be there.
We must have few financial goals in our life. IF we don have the goals, is quite impossible for us to survie once we got children, and retire later on.
Acutally I would like to share with you guys how you can make it also. There will be seminar on 5th january , 7th january 2006. Kindly left message to me @ 012-7151939 to book the place as the seat is very limited. |
iskandar27etc
Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 12:26 am Post subject: |
| bach, i suggest u find another forum for your landbanking...or u create your own landbanking or your own blog...i already know about your landbanking in canada in fd interest forum..and you told everybody after being pressured...be a gentleman next time and straight to the point. dont be like direct selling cum multi level marketing person anymore la...or even agen skim cepat kaya! |
bach
Posted: Wed Jan 04, 2006 9:19 pm Post subject: |
iskandar27etc ,
I am not like pasar malam style doing direct selling. Land banking is professional stuff. There is rules and regulation so that I couldnt simply disclose anything at internet. well, there is a lot of investment tools which can generate higher return. Just the matter whether you have the capital or not. Not only land banking, hedge fund, and international bank provide a lot of this kind of oppurtunity. SO don look too narrow, once you look wider , you will find the gold mines very soon. |
gavinykw
Posted: Sun Jul 23, 2006 11:17 am Post subject: |
Anyone here seriously into Mutual Funds? Planning to put a big sum and regular savings into Public Bank MF for the next 14 years. They perceive a return of 8%.
Perhaps I should join as an agent too. To get some commission back and monitor my own savings??? What do you think? _________________ thank you |
yowchuan
Posted: Fri Jul 28, 2006 3:11 am Post subject: |
Gavin,
What's your risk appetite like?
Do you have any emergency fund allocated? If you are going to invest your money for the next 14 years, I presume you already allocated a hefty sum into your emergency fund to cater for rainy days.
Do you prefer higher capital gain with higher risk or you prefer regular income with small level of capital growth? Or are you just seeking higher returns from existing fixed deposit rates?
There are many other factors that can help you determine which is the best mix of fund that will be most suitable for you.
Last but not least, what is the purpose of your investment? _________________ .://..meshio.com |