chongkg
Posted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 1:07 pm Post subject: |
Hi Kokwei, I think the 100sqft does make a difference especially with the last bed room which is a bit crammed in my opinion. I don't mind actually cause I was planning to make that a study room. Ha ha I have the opposite concept from you in terms of the kitchen. Probably gonna knock the wall down for an open concept cause I don't do much cooking.
I think they did install shower screens in the showroom at Faber Towers...but you are right on that....can cross out the jacuzzi then.
About the S&P, it's mostly standard stuff, it's only the supplementary documents that has some discrepancy about the number of carparks and the monthly service payment. They promised the developer would re-issue those documents later....I was in a hurry and didn't have time to argue. Wonder whether anyone of you noticed it. |
Clive316
Posted: Mon Feb 12, 2007 5:13 pm Post subject: |
Hi KokWei, u are right ur unit is right below mine. I picked corner unit bcoz i think it has better view and an extra window if not mistaken.
Regarding the S&P, the developer will issue another letter correcting the maintenence fee which is 20 sen/sf instead of 25 sen/sf stated on the S&P. |
paulwks
Posted: Thu Feb 15, 2007 5:36 pm Post subject: |
| Well, the 3rd carpark is mainly for guests i guess, to ensure that they will get a space if they come and visit. I read from an earlier post that the visitors car park are among the residents, is this correct? This will mean that anyone can come in right? |
alankkt
Posted: Tue Feb 20, 2007 9:59 pm Post subject: |
I just got a unit in Casa Desa. I am now shopping for a home loan that come with zero/ free moving cost. Any good package in town ? Please advise.
Many Thanks,
Alan |
kokwei
Posted: Tue May 29, 2007 4:53 pm Post subject: |
Hey peeps, its been a while since someone posted something onto this thread.
Let's refresh! I recently paid RM500 for the TNB thingie ... other than that been keeping a close sight on the development of the property itself (since I'm currently at Faber Heights) ... my toilet window lookout directly faces casa desa. Will post some pictures soon!
Say ... how much would I need to allocate for renovation if my unit is type-2 (3 bedroom?) Want some cosy knockdown kitchen wall, re-tile the toilet with nice basins, plus furniture blah blah blah need 70K or not?
Let's discuss! |
l00n3y
Posted: Tue Jun 05, 2007 11:06 am Post subject: Re: Casa Desa in Taman Desa |
| skh333 wrote: | Just my 2 cents worth on Casa Desa in Taman Desa:
Cons:
LOOKS - not appealing unless Faber Union, the developer can do some magic with choice of colour and design.
SECURITY FEATURES - with their current price tag, is it very difficult to follow the many other condo developers in implementing added security features like access cards to lifts and floors and adequate CCTVs? For security sake, i don't think many would mind carrying around the access card eg to the pool etc or pay about RM50 for each additional card.
Bear in mind that the visitors' parking bays are also in the 5 level car park area i.e. sharing same area as the residents' parking areas. Without added security like access cards and CCTVs everywhere would mean the security guards must do very thorough screening of visitors (and we all now how thorough that's going to be).
FACILITIES - no tennis and squash court which seem to be a standard in most condos. Then again, are these facilities really fully utilised? Swimming pool is usually only packed in the initial stage of moving in. after that, it will be packed during the weekends on certain hours only. Doesn't look like the condo will be having fantastic landscaping and so forth.
MANAGEMENT - can the management company under the Faber umbrella live up to be a good management company eg. being TRANSPARENT about the amount of service charges and SINKING FUNDS collected and USED by them? will the residents be presented with true and detailed annual or 1/2 yearly financial reports on how they r UTILISING owners' money to run the condo? If the management company is hoping to be a long-term player in this industry, they must know that they have to deliver the goods well and win the hearts of owners.
DIRECTION - is there no other way to design the 7 blocks so that less units (in blocks A, B & C) are totally facing West? these units may still sell but it's not going to be fast, it's more likely to be last.
Now to be fair, the PROS:
LOCATION - One can almost find no fault in Taman Desa or Taman Danau Desa in terms of it's location. To me, they are among the best, if not the best location in Klang Valley. Elevated and centrally located between KL and PJ means that even if one were to shift job locations between KL or PJ (the two busiest and most happening cities where most are working), there is really no need to relocate to a new home. There are Bomba, Hospital, Police station and abundance of shops for everything. Pubs are of course in no short supply. The neighbourhood is also mostly middle to upper class, and being a mature township, pleasantly quiet and not much more room for unexpected and unwanted developments, something like What U See is What U Get, unlike many 'Hot' areas which is still growing and growing and growing until it's growing painful with traffic congestion and blocked views from new developments. What more, residents here are pampered by the nearby and ever popular Mid Valley Megamall.
ACCESSIBILITY - Imagine a neighbourhood which is connected by an interchange to a MAXIMUM of highways and byways (Federal, Old Klang Road, Kerinchi link to Sprint & LDP, NPE, North-South to KESAS) with MINIMAL jam, and where u have some choice between toll-paying roads or free roads?
FREEHOLD LAND - Casa Desa is Faber Union's last freehold land. Ultimately, freehold is always better than leasehold in terms of value, time factor and convenience.
CARPARK BAYS - Casa Desa offers 2 parking bays, which is really important as it means minimal congestion in and around the condo. Forget the discount of RM10K unless u really think that u will be needing only 1 parking bay your whole life. And a carpark bay cost RM15K to RM20K. so it's a no-brainer anyway.
DENSITY - 7 blocks seems like a lot, but look closer and u see that only block A and E is of higher density with 8 units/block. Anyway, they occupy slightly more than 10 floors only. The rest are ok. Two blocks are only dedicated for duplexes - one medium and one low rise. all in all, only 410 units. is that really of high density? think about it, sometimes low density means less residents leading to less participation and help in condo affairs not to mention higher cost of management, and possibly less bargaining power with developer and management.
DESIGN - units layouts are generally good and most important of all, there is allocation of A/C compressor areas outside. very important point. keeps the place looking good and the A/C working well.
SPECIFICATION - When u think about the extra car park bay and the finishing promised (beautiful 2' x 2' porcelain tiles for living/dining and laminated wood flooring for rooms), plus decorative basins for bathrooms, do u still need to plunge a whole lot more money into your unit in terms of renovation? think about it, how much do all the above cost? Of course, that's provided the developer delivers what's promised.
Conclusion: We often get swept off our feet (and pay a premium) by condos offering great this, great that, extra this, extra that. Of course those things are always nice to have but end of the day, one comes back home, watches TV, spends some time with loved ones and b4 u know it, there is no time for utilisation of all the above extras. What's important is a decent place to stay where one can travel back & forth from workplace and other landmarks with ease, instead of raising our stress levels when stuck in traffic jams which lead to bad temper on and off the road, poor health (air in car is no fresh air) and higher cost of travel (petrol & toll).
Is that real quality of life?
All in all, we are missing out on the simplest things in life - peace of mind, good health and time with friends and loved ones.
And when it comes to property, it's always LOCATION, LOCATION, LOCATION! WITH A GOOD NEIGHBOURHOOD, OF COURSE!
HAPPY HOME HUNTING! |
Hi skh. Very informative. Thanks for the PROs & CONs. I am actually looking into Casa Desa. As I already am staying in Taman Desa with my parents, would like to have a place of my own which would not be too far away from my parents house. Purpose of my purchase is of investment or own use. I have not visited their showroom yet, hence am not sure how the inside looks like. Would appreciate if someone could let me know who I could look for to view the show units. Plus I would appreciate if current owners can give a more detailed feedback on the units that they purchase.
Do advise please!
Thanks! |
chongkg
Posted: Tue Jun 12, 2007 11:55 pm Post subject: |
Hi l00n3y, you could call up the office 03-7628 2888 and make an appointment to see the show rooms. The showrooms are in the actual condo, which is under construction, hence the need to make an appointment before your visit. Their office is actually at Faber Towers, so alternatively you could just drop by and speak to them. The office is on the first floor, take the escalator from the main entrance and you would see the office right off the escalators.
I suggest you go have a look and see what's available before asking for more opinion here cause there are quite a number of designs and sizes.
Cheers. |
l00n3y
Posted: Tue Jun 19, 2007 8:47 pm Post subject: |
| chongkg wrote: | Hi l00n3y, you could call up the office 03-7628 2888 and make an appointment to see the show rooms. The showrooms are in the actual condo, which is under construction, hence the need to make an appointment before your visit. Their office is actually at Faber Towers, so alternatively you could just drop by and speak to them. The office is on the first floor, take the escalator from the main entrance and you would see the office right off the escalators.
I suggest you go have a look and see what's available before asking for more opinion here cause there are quite a number of designs and sizes.
Cheers. |
Hi chongkg. I have visited the office at Faber Towers. Already have an appointment to view the showunits this coming Saturday. Currently am interested in Block E. However, i think only 2 units are left, which are 1 & 8. And they are at the top floor. Price now is at RM289,800 for the 1097sf unit. Seems to me the price is a little steep as it only comes with the standard basics. No fixtures and fittings at all. Any advice? |
chongkg
Posted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 11:37 pm Post subject: |
Hi l00n3y, well just go and check out the place....the thing about top floors are....well there's always a chance of leakage - you never know cause you maybe staying there for the next 20 years, right?
Yes price is a bit steep and the lot may not appreciate that much (from previous discussion of this area), but you have to balance that against location, and the fact that the project is almost complete. You may get a cheaper buy somewhere else but you would have to wait another 2 years for completion.
So look at the two lots and if you don't like the design or location, then don't lose sleep over pricing and other points. Tell us what you find out when you are there OK? Have a nice weekend. |
chongkg
Posted: Wed Jun 20, 2007 11:42 pm Post subject: |
Hi l00n3y, well just go and check out the place....the thing about top floors are....well there's always a chance of leakage - you never know cause you maybe staying there for the next 20 years, right?
Yes price is a bit steep and the lot may not appreciate that much (from previous discussion of this area), but you have to balance that against location, and the fact that the project is almost complete. You may get a cheaper buy somewhere else but you would have to wait another 2 years for completion.
So look at the two lots and if you don't like the design or location, then don't lose sleep over pricing and other points. Tell us what you find out when you are there OK? Have a nice weekend. |
l00n3y
Posted: Thu Jun 21, 2007 5:29 pm Post subject: |
| chongkg wrote: | Hi l00n3y, well just go and check out the place....the thing about top floors are....well there's always a chance of leakage - you never know cause you maybe staying there for the next 20 years, right?
It seems sales tactics are in place. A talk with someone working longer in the company revealed that there are 30% unsold in Block E?
I am actually considering 2 condos, Casa Desa and Bukit Desa condo. In terms of living quality, Bukit Desa condo seems much better, and lower density at about 150-200 units on 2 blocks. However, if I am not mistaken, Bukit Desa condo has been around for about 10 yrs. I saw one unit full furnished, high floor, 1400sf, 3 rooms selling at ~350k. It seems like a good place, but I am worried that there is not much capital gain in this condo. Would anyone have any idea what was the launch price back then, or is this a good buy? I intend to rent it out initially. Thanks in advance! |
skh333
Posted: Thu Sep 06, 2007 5:33 pm Post subject: Casa Desa Family! |
Wow, it is in fact a real good surprise to find 4 future Casa Desarians (Chong, Kok Wei, Paul & Clive) and potentially 100n3y!
I hope u guys get to read this message.
Surprise! I have also bought a unit in Block E (now u guys know why i spent so much time on my lengthy comment). Being a previous customer of Faber Union (am currently staying in Tiara Faber), i think that it is very important that we can communicate or even meet up to discuss matters pertaining to Casa Desa. We should even try to gather as many Casa Desa owners as possible (People Power) to prepare for future 'interaction' with Faber management.
As u guys may or may not already know, condo living has its Pros and Cons , and be prepared for more cons if the management is not efficient and effective.
That's why, we must gather as many owners as possible to discuss potential problems that may arise in Casa Desa. Don't forget that out of our own unit door is actually ONE community living under ONE roof. if we don't get things running smoothly from the start, it may be too late.
Am not trying to scare any one of u, but just hoping that we can all make Casa Desa a harmonious and enviable address to be in as i believe it has the potential to do so. Humans are such that if a place is dirty, they have no respect for it and make it dirtier and vice versa.
Who knows, with greater people power, we may even get access cards to lifts, which i think is a real necessity in today's Malaysia.
Do hope to receive some reply from u guys soon. |
skh333
Posted: Thu Sep 06, 2007 5:39 pm Post subject: Casa Desa Family! |
| Oops!, forgot to welcome Alan as well. my apologies. |
buy&sell
Posted: Fri Sep 07, 2007 1:35 pm Post subject: Too many units |
Dear friend,
Taman Desa is a good location, about 15 minutes drive to KLCC thru Jalan Tun Razak.
If you decide to stay yourself, it's OK
but if you are gonna rent it out, you may face some difficulty with so many many condo/apartments nearby. The Danau condo series is nearby. _________________ BS |
chongkg
Posted: Sat Sep 08, 2007 1:29 am Post subject: Casa Desa Family! |
Hi skh333! Hei it's a great idea to know one another, exchange ideas and feedback. Let's see if we have any one else around in this forum.
[/img] |
skh333
Posted: Tue Sep 11, 2007 10:36 am Post subject: Casa Desa Family! |
Hey, Chong! Didn't expect to hear from anyone of you so soon, but it certainly is great.
Hope the rest of the guys will reply soon, maybe then we can continue with this forum more vigorously - fingers crossed. |
appview
Posted: Tue Sep 11, 2007 7:27 pm Post subject: |
I am also an owner @ casa desa and one of the earliest purchasers,hence I have more choices
Mine's in blk C type 1 12f and can't wait to move in as the unit where i am staying is tiny by comparison in Abadi indah, a stone's throw away.
Anyone knows approx when's the handover?I agree there's no better place than TD when it comes to location having stayed here for the past 12 yrs. |
valerie chong
Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 12:05 am Post subject: |
HI,
I am a newbie here and wish to know more about casa desa. I like the location very much but not much units left tho. I am now considering Block A type 10 facing south. Can someone assist me in choosing the units? either corner or intermediate units? which floors are the best as floors available from 12 onwards.
many thanks.
val |
skh333
Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 11:55 am Post subject: |
Hello, Appview. good to have located another Casa Desarian. hope we can communicate more.
I wonder if any one of us is knowledgeable and generous enough to set up a Casa Desa website, since it will be useful in future anyway and will certainly be the best avenue of communication for future residents. I am not a techie but won't mind contributing ideas to the website creation.
HI, Valerie, i don't there are any units in blk A facing south unless u mean Type 10 units 1 & 8 where the sides are facing south, in which case unit 8 would be better than 1 coz major portions of unit 1 faces West. Moreover, unit 8 gets full pool view and major portions faces East.
However, am not sure if unit 8s still available. Remember to also check where your parking bays are coz the lower ur unit, the higher your bays i.e. u have to drive by more floors & ramps.
If u choose a higher floor, of course u must be ready to accept the fact that u have more stairs to climb or descend (in an emergency or when both lifts are faulty, very unlikely however) and to accept the shakier feel during an earthquake in Indonesia, like yesterday. Also, a longer wait in the lifts, of course.
However, higher floors mean lower parking bays (don't have to drive up and down so many floors) and of course, the majestic night view of KL or PJ or wherever. Especially when there are fireworks displays. Unit 8 should be able to offer fireworks from Twin Towers (looking out to your left) and bukit jalil stadium and maybe, PJ?
My suggestion is, u book a viewing time with the sales person. go view the exact unit. then u know what u get (at least u can see the workmanship especially the walls). Best of all, u know what view u r getting.
hope u get a good unit. |
valerie chong
Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 3:21 pm Post subject: |
hi Skh333. Thanks for your reply, i am sorry, those available are facing north and west, not south. is hard to make the decision when i received so many opinions as the which direction to choose, either intermediate or corner unit, house number..etc. i would like to take units at 16th floors. but haven't finalize which units to take. i am not superstitious. the most important is comfort. I have seen unit 8, one unit at 20th floor might be available but no confirmation yet.
many thanks.
val |
appview
Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 7:11 pm Post subject: |
skh,
Sorry,me no techie as well.Now, ppl have different ideas as to wat consitutes facing sth,nth etc.I think feng shui ppl more inclined to the idea of the main door direction.But in my context,its more practical to denote the living room/BR direction as we spend a lot of time there .
What gives?
I have my parking bays @ level 1A which is side-by-side and not like the ones in Ken2 front and back.....
Is level 1A good? Can we actually go in to look see now?Want to kepoh a bit. |
Clive316
Posted: Thu Sep 13, 2007 10:21 pm Post subject: |
Hi skh,
It's been a while since my last visit on this website and it's good to know the thread still active. Unfortunately I'm not a techie as well but is keen on participating in any future meeting or community activities. |
valerie chong
Posted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 12:36 am Post subject: |
hi
u can go into the building now, i went the other day, just that i didnt climb up to 16th floor. they are painting and putting tiles on floor. the small little landscaping looks nice, lots of small ponds. probably can put some fish in there if i am staying.
most likely i will choose the less heaty one. dun bother about what others say now, as i am the one staying there. hehe. |
skh333
Posted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 11:38 am Post subject: |
No worries, Appview & Clive. I will try to source for someone to do it but no promises (due to my lazy, procratinative character). Anyway, glad that more of us are communicating.
Appview, as u are at 12th floor, u get parking bays at a lower level i.e. 1A. It means u only have to drive into level G, go up ramp to GA, then up to 1 and lastly up to 1A. that means from ground level, u r going up 3 more levels only. The parking bays are either all either side by side (very good n private coz both are between two pillars: no incidents of sharing with others who might accidentally knock or scratch ur car) or separated on the left and right of the emergency stairway: thank god also separated by pillars). App, u can go in even to ur own unit now. just have to talk to the sales guys.
my unit in on the 10th floor and my bays are at 2A. it means from G, i have to turn up 5 levels. more time and more taxing for the vehicles.
Therefore, those on the lowest level will have their bays on 4A i.e. 9 turns up from G. but hey, during a tremor or emergency, they are the least taxing. only have to walk down one floor of stairs to their cars i.e. quickest to get out of trouble.
That's why there are always pros and cons and preferences.
Therefore, valerie, if u want less parking time, u have to choose a high level unit. the top floors will give u bays on G, if i'm not mistaken.
I'm not much into fengshui, so perhaps i am the one who's misunderstood about the direction. to me, i always take the direction of looking out the living room i.e. the facade of the building as the direction.
Anyway, like u said and i do agree, we are the ones staying in the unit, so most important it must meet our needs and we must be comfortable in it.
That's what counts most! |
skh333
Posted: Fri Sep 14, 2007 2:10 pm Post subject: |
correction: my bays are on 3A. that means driving up 7 floors  |
You cannot post new topics in this forum You cannot reply to topics in this forum You cannot edit your posts in this forum You cannot delete your posts in this forum You cannot vote in polls in this forum