Warning: array_merge(): Argument #1 is not an array in /home/realestatenet/public_html/forum/archive/index.php on line 76
Malaysia Real Estate :: View topic - Advance Payment for Home Loan

HOME  -    PROPERTY ADS   -   DISCUSSION FORUM   -   REALTORS   -   LINKS    -   CONTACT US

Realtors and Real Estate Agents - Sign Up for Free Account at Property.net.my >>

Malaysia Real Estate
Malaysia Real Estate Portal

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Advance Payment for Home Loan

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Malaysia Real Estate Forum Index -> Property Financing
View previous topic :: View next topic  
chingkang

PostPosted: Mon Aug 06, 2007 5:35 pm    Post subject: Advance Payment for Home Loan Reply with quote

Hi all,

I am actually new to the property industry and am confused about the home loan that I have taken.

I have taken a home loan from Maybank Maxi Home at BLR-1.25%. My monthly payment is RM1500. However, I usually pay more than the required RM1500, let say RM2000.

What will the bank do to the extra RM500? I have chat with friends and they mentioned could be the following 3 ways:

1) extra RM500 as a reserve in the loan account, does not offset the principal and hence, does not have effect on interest calculation. If I forgot to pay the instalment, the bank will automatically withdraw that reserve to pay for missing month.

2) extra RM500 as an additional payment to reduce principal, and hence, reduce the next interest payment. The instalment amount will remain as RM1500 and in the event of forgetting to pay the instalment, the bank will automatically withdraw this cumulative sum to pay for missing month.